Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 19 Jun 2006
I bought this book as it's always a personal coup to discover different writers and Anne-Laure Bondoux's novel is a real treat.

This is a story of a princess destined for a marriage of convenience in order to strengthen her home country's alliance with neighbouring states. However, years of dreams and stories told by her faithful Archont feed a desire to escape her gilded cage and seek a new life in a mystical land known only as Elgolia.

It is when a shipwreck lands Malva on unknown territory that the story truly begins for she encounters humanity in it's most evil and most loving forms.

With an unlikely crew of companions whose mission it is to bring her home safely, Malva's many adventures take her beyond the boundaries of the world she knows and all are forced to face up to truths about their characters.

This book is full of adventure, friendships and promises, love, hate, joy and tragedy. It is a wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely fairy-tale that would make a great gift, 27 Jun 2006
By 
S. Mulleri "stefania_m" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Princess and the Captain by Anne-Laure Bondoux is unlike any book I have read for some time, a real old-school fairy-tale with all the right ingredients for a cracking tale: danger, magic, intrigue, love, a dashing hero, a feisty heroine and a dastardly villain. Beautifully written and paced, with delightful detail given to the locations, action and characters, this is a book that will hold your attention from the very first page to the very last - at which point you''ll probably be sorry it's over! With its lovely cover artwork and great value for money given its length, this would make a great gift and I highly recommend it. My only criticism is that there isn't a sequel, because I would love to read more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world, 28 Jun 2010
By 
Angela Heather "Ki Life Coaching" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Princess and the Captain (Paperback)
This book was soooo unlike anything I have ever read. I think the translator did really well converting it from French - when you read it you'll understand why it was not your typical translation job.
The story, the setting and the writing style were all new to me but I loved every minute of it, read it within the week, and have recommended it to friends.
I don't want to say too much about the story as it is lovely to discover it for yourself, but if you like Pirates Of The Caribbean, Fantasy films, adventures or love stories, you should like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most amazing books I have ever read, 4 Jan 2009
This is an amazing book that I was really pleased to read. The cover and the story title give the illusion that it is for little chilren - but this is far from the truth. It is for teenagers and even though the genre may seem to young for them the author manages to entertain fantastically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite ever book!, 21 Nov 2008
I picked this up because after getting into pirates of the caribbean again i felt like a piratey kinda book and when i came across this (hardcover version) with its almighty ship on the cover and nothing but a promise of a swashbuckling action packed magical odyssey on the back i decided i must purchase immediately i was only 15 at the time and i'd been feeding my fiction fettish with harry potter, unfortunate events, spiderwick chronicals etc.. which all seemed to merge under the same basic storyline and i naively thought that all books of this genre were the same untill i came across this little piece of brilliance i took a risk on this as it's quite a large book and i thought i might get bored and never finish it but i astonished myself by wizzing through it in a week it took so many twists and turns that it was impossible to get bored also it's so well translated that you would have thought it was first written in english i'd advise you to buy the hardcover version over the paperback as it has such a beautiful cover on it that really takes you into the story (cover illustration by - david wyatt) i'm keeping hold of this for when i'm older and have kids i'm sure they'll love it as much as i do the book doesn't contain pirates but that doesn't matter it satisfied me completely.

kelly, 17
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most brilliant books I ever read, 28 July 2007
By 
Michael Baker "mike1970" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a really exciting book and the adventures are incredible.This is a story that takes you all over an imaginary world and makes you laugh and cry a lot. This book is a real adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastical pageturner!, 30 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Princess and the Captain (Paperback)
I loved this book! It's a mixture of fantasy, love, friendship and betrayal which keeps you hooked till the very end. A must read for not just fantasy lovers but all those who enjoy the pleasures of a good book.

It is ideally a book for teenagers, but even adults in posession of an adventure streak, can find themselves lost in this mythical world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Princess and the Captain
The Princess and the Captain by Anne-Laure Bondoux (Paperback - 2 April 2007)
6.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews