Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
Stories about the Afterlife have always appealed to me. There are thousands upon thousands of interpretations out there about what, exactly, happens to a person after they die. ELSEWHERE is a new spin on an old topic, but it manages to bring emotion, realism, and entertainment to something that is, in most circumstances, a very depressing situation. To me, ELSEWHERE is a...
Published on 14 Oct 2006 by TeensReadToo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin
My very first thoughts on the book were about the cover. It intrigued me with the girl sitting on a beach with her back to me. Why was she alone? With her hunched shoulders, I got the feeling she was pretty sad. I realised as I got into the story that this cover fits really well.

Elsewhere is the story of what happened to Elizabeth Marie Hall (Liz) after...
Published on 16 May 2011 by The Slowest Bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 14 Oct 2006
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elsewhere (Paperback)
Stories about the Afterlife have always appealed to me. There are thousands upon thousands of interpretations out there about what, exactly, happens to a person after they die. ELSEWHERE is a new spin on an old topic, but it manages to bring emotion, realism, and entertainment to something that is, in most circumstances, a very depressing situation. To me, ELSEWHERE is a combination of Mitch Ablom's THE FIVE PEOPLE YOU MEET IN HEAVEN and Alice Sebold's THE LOVELY BONES, two other wonderful books dealing with death and the Afterlife. ELSEWHERE goes beyond those two books, however, taking readers on a journey into a land so much like Earth, and yet so very, very different.

Fifteen-year old Elizabeth "Liz" "Lizzie" Marie Hall has found herself in ELSEWHERE after dying in a bicycle-meets-taxi accident. After taking a long ride on the SS Nile, Liz has finally realized that she's not in a dream after all, but really, truly dead. When she arrives on Elsewhere, she meets her maternal grandmother, Betty, for the very first time. A woman who died at fifty from breast cancer, Betty is now a woman in her thirties--one of the first surprises Liz is in for is the fact that, on Elsewhere, lives are lived backward from the age of a person's death. Needless to say, this thought depresses Liz. She'll never be sixteen, never have a Massachusetts driver's license, never go to the prom or graduate from high school or go to college or get married. The only thing
she has to look forward to is growing younger, until she returns to being an infant and is sent back to Earth to be born again.

Liz spends her first month on Elsewhere spending all of her time--and her grandmother's eternims, the currency used there--to watch her family, friends, and classmates back on Earth. She's soon a regular at the OD's, or Observation Decks, watching life on Earth pass her by. She's upset that her best friend, Zooey, didn't attend her funeral. Her parents are inconsolable, her younger brother, Alvy, tells jokes to get through the day, and her dog, Lucy, refuses to accept that Liz isn't coming back.

It takes awhile, but Liz finally realizes that spending hours upon hours at the OD's is not helping her adjust to life on Elsewhere. She finds a new friend in Owen, one of the detectives in charge of keeping the inhabitants of Elsewhere away from the Well, where contact with people on Earth is possible, but illegal. She once again befriends Thandi, a young girl killed on Earth by a stray bullet, who was her bunkmate on the SS Nile. She gets closer to grandmother Betty, finally takes a job in the Division of Domestic Animals helping recently departed pets find new owners, and seems to be finding a place on Elsewhere.

I really loved this story. One of the most delightful things in ELSEWHERE is the animals, especially the dogs. Liz, a natural at the language of Canine, is able to interpret for her four-legged friends, and finally understand everything they have to say. I can't truly imagine aging backwards, but Gabrielle Zevin has managed to make a truly believable story that is realistic, entertaining, and emotional, all at the same time. This is definitely a recommended read, and in all honesty, I would love to visit the land of Elsewhere again in the future.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely take on Heaven, 27 July 2006
By 
Surf Dreamer (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elsewhere (Paperback)
This is a lovely book, but then I love books about Heaven and what it could be like. If you liked Lovely Bones or The Five People You Meet in Heaven this is in the same vein. There is always a moral or some lesson to be learnt.

The story is about 15 year old Liz who is killed before her time and ends up in Elsewhere (heaven?) where she is taken in by her grandmother and educated in the ways of Elsewhere. She is fluent in 'Dog' and gets a dream job. She starts getting younger and younger, to eventually be reborn.

Gabrielle Zevin has produced a great picture of where one might go after death, it makes one feel somewhat comforted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elsewhere, 28 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Elsewhere (Paperback)
fantastic

i thought this book was absouloutly amazing it was really sad funny and happy at the same time i nearly cried. my favourite bit was whene liz and owen are young and liz cant read it is hillarious. There are a lot of exciting sad funny happy moments.

I would recomend this book to 10 to 14.

Amazing book

Amy (13)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've read this year!, 4 Oct 2005
This review is from: Elsewhere (Hardcover)
'Elsewhere' is a stunning book and I can honestly say it's one of the best I've read this year. It is poignant, sad at times and touching but also uplifting, inspiring, clever, beautifully written and funny.
It is about coming to terms with loss, learning to forgive and to love and making a new start. 'Elsewhere' is one of those books that stays with you long after you've finished it. A book that you know you will go back to again and again and still enjoy. I gave it to my mum to read and now she can't stop talking about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elsewhere paperback, 5 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elsewhere (Paperback)
bought this for my daughter,but i read it and thought it was FANTASTIC!!!! I have incurable and inoperarable brain cancer and was finding things tough to accept,this book however gave me another outlook to death and was very,very comforting,and very funny at the same time...LOVED IT!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Elsewhere, a place where life runs backwards, 26 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Elsewhere (Paperback)
This is amazing book that will appeal to teenagers and adults alike. It touches that taboo subject of what possibly could happen after you die and does it in such a way that you aren't afraid to close your eyes at night when you go to bed.

The plot revolves around Liz is a 15 year old girl who is tragically killed in a hit and run accident on her way to her friend's house. She wakes to find herself on a ship the SS Nile with thousands of other people heading for an unknown destination, but realisation that she is actually dead is a long time in coming and only when she finally arrives at Elsewhere does she realise the truth, not only is she is dead, she is destined to get younger and younger until finally she is sent back to earth to live another life.

However Liz is not happy to find herself in Elsewhere even though she gets to meet her maternal Grandmother who died before she was born, and she finds herself drawn to the Observatory where she can look in on her "old" family to see what they are doing now that she is gone.

Liz finds it hard to acclimatise to Elsewhere even with the help of a friendly Councillor, a Rock Star who died from an overdose and a young Black girl killed in a random shooting and whom she shared a cabin with on the ship that bought them all to Elsewhere.

Only when she takes up a "job" looking after animals who come to Elsewhere (some humans in Elsewhere can speak Canine) and makes a friendship with Owen who with many others make sure that no one tries to leave Elsewhere to contact their families back on earth dose Liz start to accept her life/death in this new place where time runs backwards and memory is more in the heart that in the mind and from then on we watch as Liz learns to "live" and accept that there is no going back until it is time to be reborn again.

There are some real tear jerker moments, like when Liz watches a dog she has grown to love become a puppy and is sent back to earth to be reborn, and when her old pug Lucy arrives at Elsewhere, the little dog looks at her former mistress and says, "Where have you been, I've missed you," or when Liza meets the man who "killed" her in the life and forgives him in the simple way that children can forgive and of course the ultimate hanky job when she had to leave the tender platonic relationship she has with Owen, a man older than her right now but who will return to earth after her because of that very fact.

A poignant story of family, friendship, love, loss, sorrow, and the knowledge that life is a circle of renewal and the one constant is that you will inevitably end up in Elsewhere, in one guise or another.

This is quite simply a stunning novel that surely should be made into a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book :), 14 Mar 2008
This review is from: Elsewhere (Paperback)
This book is a good one! With a strong story line about re-birth. A heart warming story about a girl of 15 who tragically lost her life in a hit and run acident. She realizes that she may never have kids, she'll never get married or even fall in love. But things are dramatically changed when she starts to live her life agian- with a small, but very important twist!
I'm not a reader, but i couldn't put this book down! x

Holly Hollister. 13. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review by Faith age 14, 10 Jan 2007
This review is from: Elsewhere (Paperback)
I am not usually one to read to be honest! I don't pick up many books, and rarely do i finish them. But this book, was incredible. i loved every page of it, right from the beginning when the author looks through Lucy (the dog)'s eyes. From then on, i was positively hooked. THe story is so different to anything else i have ever read, and is modern, quirky, and has little twists here and there. I love the style that Gabrielle Zevin has written in - i could really understand her characters - they were all very vivid - especially Betty, Liz's grandmother. THe ending is just completely fantastic!! It is such a warm, lovely way to end the story - not cheesy like 'happily ever after', and not too poignant. Just perfect altogether, I think. I think you should DEFINITELY read this everyone! Even though it seems to appear a teenage book, i think that adults would love it just as much - the simplicity of it does not make it a childish read in any way at all, it makes the story even better, as it is as though it is actually being written down by Lizzie, the main character. Amazing book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I adored this book!, 28 Jun 2006
By 
S. Mulleri "stefania_m" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elsewhere (Paperback)
Elsewhere is one of that rare breed of books, a story so engaging that you literally cannot bear to put it down. This beautifully written tale about the life, death and all that lies between is fresh and completely absorbing. Zevin's intriguing and completely original vision of the afterlife is poetic and bittersweet, and the emotions of the characters living in it are portrayed with such accuracy that we cannot help but empathise with them. There is pain and sadness yes, but also happiness, self-discovery and the exploration of new relationships. This is a story about life and death, but not as a beginning and an end. Instead, Elsewhere presents us with a cycle where death, just as with life, can be the beginning of a new story, or indeed, a new "life". This is a beautiful, moving story that I would recommend to anyone. If you are looking for something original and thought-provoking, then Elsewhere is definitely for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Elsewhere (Paperback)
My very first thoughts on the book were about the cover. It intrigued me with the girl sitting on a beach with her back to me. Why was she alone? With her hunched shoulders, I got the feeling she was pretty sad. I realised as I got into the story that this cover fits really well.

Elsewhere is the story of what happened to Elizabeth Marie Hall (Liz) after she was killed whilst riding her bike to the mall to meet a friend. The plot idea is great and it would be so lovely to know that something like that awaited you after your death, but so much more could have been made of it. Things were mentioned - like when Liz's beloved Pug arrived at Elsewhere, but nothing really happened and I was left wondering why it was even mentioned. This kind of thing happened a few times through the story and it did lessen my enjoyment slightly.

Liz was a funny character. She was quite likeable and sweet, but also very moody. Mind you, I think I'd be a bit moody too if I'd just died! She met some very interesting people ... and animals and I think that is what made it for me. I really loved the animals and their role in the story.

Elsewhere is a light, quick and cute read, but it's not going to get your heart racing. I was a little disappointed that there wasn't more to it, especially later in the book where there were big leaps in time when I would have liked to have known more at these stages about how Liz was feeling and thinking and acting. There were times when I was expecting more of a storyline about a particular event that was mentioned, like when Liz's beloved Pug arrived at Elsewhere, but it didn't happen and the ending seemed a little too rushed.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, if you're looking for some nice, light summer reading then I think you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elsewhere
Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin (Hardcover - 9 Sep 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews