Customer Reviews


5 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of those books you never forget
This book is delightful and surreal. I don't want to give too much away because you should read it yourself. It is a fairytale about a small child's struggle against impossible odds. It has that atmosphere of slightly skew reality that a book like say The Little Prince has, but combines that with real warmth. As you can guess from the title ,the prose is lyrical and...
Published on 14 Dec. 2001

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring.
Hated this book.
Bought it after reading about Sauders but I've never found a writer so pompous.
Can't understand the fuss about Sauders. He has nice ideas but his style is egocentric.
Published 17 months ago by gina


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of those books you never forget, 14 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This book is delightful and surreal. I don't want to give too much away because you should read it yourself. It is a fairytale about a small child's struggle against impossible odds. It has that atmosphere of slightly skew reality that a book like say The Little Prince has, but combines that with real warmth. As you can guess from the title ,the prose is lyrical and descriptive. I have bought a copy for a grown up so that they can share it with their children. This is suitable for any child old enough to follow a traditional fairytale, it is more a short illustrated book than a picture book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I read this in one go. . ., 7 Nov. 2007
By 
ILONACAT (WIRRAL, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip (Paperback)
I think my curiosity about this was piqued by seeing the front cover. And once I'd begun reading, I couldn't stop until the last page. It's a wonderful little fable crackling with gentle satire and it's also strange, definitely strange. The strangeness of the story is brought out and enhanced by Lane Smith's deeply odd illustrations.

This is a book I think anyone with average reading skills could enjoy. I liked it so much I gave a copy to my brother who enjoyed HIS copy with his young son, who also found the whole thing most enjoyable.

Brighten your day with a Frip !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gappers will get your goat. Literally, 29 April 2015
By 
Stephen's Bookshop (3 Church st, Monmouth, South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip (Paperback)
Three families live in the seaside village of Frip — the Romos, the Ronsens, and a little girl named Capable and her widowed father. The townspeople of Frip make their living raising goats, but they must fight off a daily invasion of gappers, bright orange, many-eyed creatures that cover goats and stop them from giving milk. When the gappers target Capable's goats, the Romos and the Ronsens turn their backs on the gapper-ridden Capable. What will Capable do about her gapper plague? An imaginative tale by acclaimed author George Saunders accented with haunting illustrations by award-winning illustrator Lane Smith, The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip is an adult story for children, a children's story for adults, an oceanside fable for the landlocked, and a fable about the true meaning of community.The result is--what else?--an instant classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - just brilliant, 19 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. Nigel JB McFarlane "Nigel McFarlane" (Flitwick, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is highly original and funny. The humour comes from the cuteness of the little gapper creatures and the breathtaking selfishness of the people who are trying not to be infested with them. I think my daughter loved this too but I love it so much myself that who cares?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring., 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip (Paperback)
Hated this book.
Bought it after reading about Sauders but I've never found a writer so pompous.
Can't understand the fuss about Sauders. He has nice ideas but his style is egocentric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip
The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip by George Saunders (Paperback - 7 Mar. 2005)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews