Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A white-knuckle rollercoaster ride of a novel!
For much of the reading of this book I could barely bear to turn thepages, but at the same time, I couldn't put it down. It is quite thesimply the most breathlessly exciting story I've read in ages, as sexy andvivid as it is chilling and disturbing.
The tale begins with a job advertisement in a paper, asking for a coupleto help run an old sheep station in a remote...
Published on 26 April 2004

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great psycho-thriller
This is really well written and I read it in less than a day, just couldn't put it down. I must however say that it had accents of Wolf Creek meet Samson and Delilah (the film about the Aboriginal kids) so I'm not sure which came first but there is certainly some sort of connection there.
the characters were very well described as was the environment. It was a good...
Published on 13 Jan. 2010 by Laurence Baillie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A white-knuckle rollercoaster ride of a novel!, 26 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: As Far as You Can Go (Hardcover)
For much of the reading of this book I could barely bear to turn thepages, but at the same time, I couldn't put it down. It is quite thesimply the most breathlessly exciting story I've read in ages, as sexy andvivid as it is chilling and disturbing.
The tale begins with a job advertisement in a paper, asking for a coupleto help run an old sheep station in a remote part of Australia. Cassie andGraham take the job in a bid to save their troubled relationship, but theyare about to find out what 'trouble' really means. As soon as they arrive,there is the strong sense that things aren't going to run at all smoothly.Larry is too clever, too clean, and his 'meaty' wife Mara seems to spendher days sedated and sweaty in a shed. There is a uneasy feeling ofmalevolence and claustrophobia in their surroundings, despite the beautyand expanse of the outback. And if the interaction between the four maincharacters is awkward to begin with, it quickly escalates to a primalhotbed of desires and hatreds and fears, leading to breathless andshattering consequences.
This book is an erotic and psychological thriller, but there is also ahorror story quality about it. Glaister mixes a good dose of dark humourinto the novel too, alleviating the fright-factor with quaint Englishtouches. She has an amazing insight into what makes people tick, makingher characters more believable, and this, in turn, cranks up the tensioneven more.
This is a thrilling book that I highly recommend to any reader who likes abit more bite to their bedtime stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, intense psychological thriller, 30 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: As Far as You Can Go (Paperback)
A sinister and intense story of voyeurism and manipulation, 'As far as you can go' will keep you awake at night - if not out of fear then out of an unstoppable need to turn the last page.
A young British woman, Cassie, answers an advert asking for a couple to spend a year at a remote farmstead in outback Australia to work as housekeepers and companions to a man and his wife. She persuades artist boyfriend Graham to embark on the adventure in the hope of testing his commitment to her following an infidelity. On arrival, however, their total isolation comes as a shock, they send but never receive any letters, and they find themselves increasingly prone to paranoia and a feeling that they are being 'watched'.
Creepy boss Larry seems to be keeping secrets from them, including the reasons for the departure of their predecessors and the real nature of his wife Mara's alleged mental illness. Meanwhile, Mara is exiled to a converted shed where she lives in virtual darkness - apart from her occasional naked jaunts into the outside world where her tranquillized state becomes obvious.
When Larry quizzes Cassie about her 'test' of Graham's reliability as a boyfriend, and offers her pharmaceuticals to help 'stabilise' his personality, the reader starts to get a sense of quite how disturbing Larry's character is. And Graham is being 'tested' enough as it is - Mara has demanded painting lessons from him, and he has discovered that she doesn't want to paint, she wants to be painted - and not on canvas, on her body.
Things get increasingly strange and tense as the story unfolds and the reader races to find out what's really going on in Larry's head and behind his locked doors.
The languid state of some of the characters at times in the story contrasts sharply with the pace at which the tale unfolds, and the reader's own urge to turn the pages and find out what happens next.
The characters are all equally plausible, and the novel's oppresively hot setting provides the perfect backdrop to this steamy, claustrophobic tale. You feel like you are there with them, and that you'd rather be just about anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Claustrophobic, intense thriller, 8 July 2007
By 
K. S. Davey "Kathryn Davey" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: As Far as You Can Go (Paperback)
I absolutely loved this book. The slowly building sense of menace is extraordinarily effective and that, combined with the oppressive dusty heat of the situation this couple find themselves in, make for a very intense and claustrophobic read. And when you think you've got to the climax of the book; you haven't. You know when you read one of those books that is so hypnotic you even forget about your own surroundings? This is one of those. Terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Oppressive and Tense Thriller, 15 Dec. 2009
By 
Alison "Kindle Allie" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Far as You Can Go (Paperback)
This was an unusual book with a slow forming tension. Things don't seem quite right and the feelings of unease and dread build throughout the book. The pace quickens towards the end as you're desperately trying to discover what happens next.

I did think that the main protagonists were rather naïve to go in the first place and felt little distracted by the lack of clarity on the time setting. Somehow the period felt old fashioned (even the early part in the UK, before they even get to the outback) and it could have been the 50s. A mobile phone is mentioned and the lack of e-mail later on, so this is a modern day setting.

The story feels very sinister throughout and between reads I often found my thoughts pondering the strange scenarios in the book. Glaister conveys the oppressiveness of the environment and the situation very well and it is quite a vivid book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alarm bells ring, 18 Sept. 2009
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: As Far as You Can Go (Paperback)
Cassie wants her boyfriend Graham to show some commitment before they settle down together and have a baby. Graham's not sure he wants to settle down at all, but he is madly in love with Cassie. In the past this hasn't stopped him having casual flings with other women, but can he give it all up for her?

As a way of testing him Cassie gets them jobs in the Australian outback, she as cook, cleaner and nurse to Mara, the mentally disturbed wife of Larry, Graham as a general handyman. The place is in the middle of nowhere and gradually Cassie and Graham's misgivings turn into a creeping unease. Is Mara really mentally disturbed? And what happened to their predecessors? Why does Larry keep most of the house locked up while she and Graham live in a converted sheep-shearer's bungalow? Why does there seem to be no radio, and is Larry really a doctor? The questions mount up and there don't seem to be any answers, until Larry goes too far.

This is a gothic tale but told with refreshing down-to-earth believability. Cassie and Graham are especially credible and there are bit-part players too that ring true in their setting. Larry is, in the end, much more dangerous than he seems, though alarm bells do ring about Larry before they are even in Australia. Could Cassie be quite that naïve?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and scary Outback adventure, 16 April 2010
By 
Ripple (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: As Far as You Can Go (Paperback)
If you are planning a trip to the Australian outback, you might want to give this book a wide berth! For everyone else, it's highly recommended.

Cassie and Graham's relationship is not really going anywhere. Then Cassie sees an advert for a job on an Australian farm and they decide to go for it. This might not have been such a great plan! You can feel the isolation and heat of the outback in this gripping and tense book - they are cut off from the outside world and modern communications (handy, that - but a believable scenario) so when their employer Larry and his mentally disturbed wife, Mara turn out to be not quite what Cassie and Graham are expecting, they are trapped. When Larry suggests that Cassie apply some personality altering medication to achieve what she wants from Graham you know it's gone too far.

Glaister's plotting is superb and she's particularly strong on relationships (as evidenced in her other books) and this is a frightening and gripping ride. It's one of my favourite Glaister books - and that's high praise as she is always reliably thrilling as a writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't have gone any further myself!!, 21 Dec. 2008
This review is from: As Far as You Can Go (Paperback)
Phew! Fantastic novel, have to recommend this to all who enjoy a good thriller.

Cassie is just desperate to 'do' something else, and replies to an advert in the newspaper for a couple to join a remote outback sheep station in Western Australia. Her partner is a bit of a no hoper who can't seem to concentrate on a one woman relationship or one thing she knows he's good at, his painting. She needs to see if Graham is really for her as she wants to settle down and start a family. What better way to find out than to get him away from all the distractions in England and spend some quality time in OZ? Cassie hates to leave her family behind but feels the pull of adventure and a different, more simple taste of life. After all it's no problem to pull out and come home to the UK if they don't like it - isn't it?

The story really worked for me as the Austrailian outback is not something many people are familiar with. The story could and did develop into a tight, gripping thriller with a sexy undertone. As it wasn't based in middle England the 'unknown' variety of creepy crawlies and unexpected problems they came across made it more interesting. Their employer was well developed and made MY skin crawl! Glaister used the outback and it's pitfalls to pour forth an excellent thriller that unexpectedly pulls you in and makes you turn the pages with ever more fervour and wide eyed excitement!

I am now looking for more of the same from this Author although I believe she doesn't always write thrillers, if the writing is as high a standard as As Far As You Can Go; I would be willing to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great psycho-thriller, 13 Jan. 2010
By 
Laurence Baillie (Australie) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: As Far as You Can Go (Paperback)
This is really well written and I read it in less than a day, just couldn't put it down. I must however say that it had accents of Wolf Creek meet Samson and Delilah (the film about the Aboriginal kids) so I'm not sure which came first but there is certainly some sort of connection there.
the characters were very well described as was the environment. It was a good story although I had wished for more of a twist at the end. Well worth the read nevertheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As Far As You Can Go, 20 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Far as You Can Go (Paperback)
Reading this on a cold winters day was very surreal, as the book is set in the hot, dry climate of outback Australia.

I really enjoyed the writing style of this book, and the story itself was really great. However, there were a couple of issues that prevented my from upping my rating to a 4:

1) The whole idea of the story was for you to feel for the main characters, Cassie and Graham, and for you to fear for them, and wish them to safety. However, I didn't really like the characters, Graham in particular. It may sound inhuman of me, but I thought he deserved alot of what happened to him. This spoilt the story somewhat, as I wanted to be rooting for them to leave.

2) There was no sense of time passing. Cassie and Graham were meant to be out there for 12 months but it seemed like days! The only sense of time passing was from the dates written on the letters Cassie was writing, and they were few and far between. You needed to feel a sense of monotony and isolation, but it felt like they'd only been there a week.

The second point in particular spoilt the suspense of the book for me. But, I did enjoy the story overall and would like to read more of Glaister's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb psychological literary thriller, 2 Nov. 2012
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Far as You Can Go (Hardcover)
This is a very enjoyable psychological thriller. The story revolves around Cassie and Graham, a youngish couple who take up an unusual job offer to work in the Australian outback cooking and looking after a woman (who they are told has some mental health difficulties) and her husband. They take up the challenge in order to have time and space to work on their own relationship - miles from anywhere and most importantly far from the distractions of their lives at home in England.

As the book unfolds it becomes clearer and clearer that things in the outback are not always what they seem...and the story becomes gradually ever more filled with menace. Just what was happening is revealed near the end - but so well written is this book that I hadn't seen the outcome coming at all.

This is a really great literary thriller where the pages just fly by and time disappears while you're reading - it would make a great film i think. It was my first read of Lesley Glaister, but it certainly won't be the last.

Very good indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

As Far as You Can Go
As Far as You Can Go by Lesley Glaister (Paperback - 7 Mar. 2005)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews