Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real bible for any fish lover
My family does not eat meat, but we do eat fish, and quite a lot of it. The techniques are explained really well, and the recipes always work well. Together with the Leith's Vegetarian Bible, this book has now become my main source of recipes and ideas. I highly recommend both to fish lovers and semi-vegetarians (like me).
Published on 10 Nov 2007 by Laural

versus
28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but Rather Unexciting
If you don't have the basics of fish cookery I think you'd be better off with a smaller book which focuses on basic techniques and offers tried and tested regulars. If you can cook fish then you'd probably be happier with a cookbook which shares your enthusiasm for new ways with fish and shows appetising pictures of the possible results. If you want to read...
Published on 8 Mar 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real bible for any fish lover, 10 Nov 2007
By 
Laural (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leith's Fish Bible (Hardcover)
My family does not eat meat, but we do eat fish, and quite a lot of it. The techniques are explained really well, and the recipes always work well. Together with the Leith's Vegetarian Bible, this book has now become my main source of recipes and ideas. I highly recommend both to fish lovers and semi-vegetarians (like me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but Rather Unexciting, 8 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Leith's Fish Bible (Hardcover)
If you don't have the basics of fish cookery I think you'd be better off with a smaller book which focuses on basic techniques and offers tried and tested regulars. If you can cook fish then you'd probably be happier with a cookbook which shares your enthusiasm for new ways with fish and shows appetising pictures of the possible results. If you want to read about fish buy a book by Alan Davidson. This great unwieldy thing is okay but I'd have said that it's true place is in a hotel where there's the requirement for a fish choice each day; you can go to the market, buy what's going and when you get back just look up the index. I can see why the previous reviewer approves but as an adequately informed amateur I'm happier to weave between Alan Davidson and Mitchell Tonks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Leiths Fish Bible is the only fish cookbook you will ever need", 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: Leith's Fish Bible (Hardcover)
"Fish enthusiasts of all skill levels are certain to find at least a handful of recipes worth trying in this mammoth compilation billed as "the only fish cookbook you will ever need"
Here are many of the classics - dishes such as Sole Meuniere, Risotto Nero, Lobster Thermidor and Deep-fried Cod in Beer Batter - alongside the contemporary - Mackerel, Rice Noodle and Peanut Salad, Noisettes of Salmon with Cucumber and Fennel Salsa - and the exotic - Braised Octopus in Rioja, Seafood Laksa and Sushi Nigiri. Chapters are divided by fish groups (with alternative fish given for every recipe) with an extensive chapter on Shellfish as well as Preserved Fish. There is also detailed information on methods of preparation and cooking techniques such as filleting and boning, alongside preparing shellfish and home-smoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Leith's Fish Bible, 2 April 2014
By 
W. K. Long (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leith's Fish Bible (Hardcover)
brilliant book, clear instructions & good pictures, used several of the receipes already. several I have not seen before. Recommended for any fish lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fish bible, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leith's Fish Bible (Hardcover)
Does what it says it is one of the ultimate books on fish cooking set out for serious chef not laid out like the everyday cook book but aimed at the trade of a chef .
Very good and well worth buying if you are serious about cooking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Leith - the bible for the best, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leith's Fish Bible (Hardcover)
This is a classic Leith. You know what to expect from these books - high quality descriptions, thoughtful menus, intriguing short cuts but above all quality. These are great as reference books as well as work a day cook books for the kitchen. I like the way that it assumes that you know something about a kitchen and food - so it doesn;t talk down to you but takes you through key steps and they work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leith's Fish Bible (Hardcover)
This book tells you all you need to know about preparing and cooking fish. It has many, many quick and easy tasty recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better condition then the one I already own, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leith's Fish Bible (Hardcover)
This one is for my daughter but may keep it for my self in such good condition and I dont think used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A compendium on food fish and their cooking, 29 Jan 2013
By 
A Reader (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leith's Fish Bible (Hardcover)
This is a superb book, full of information about selecting, preparing and cooking fish and shellfish. An excellent book for all fish-lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent fish dishes, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leith's Fish Bible (Hardcover)
I love fish and the variety of dishes and the extra information make this a must have book for all serious cooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leith's Fish Bible
Leith's Fish Bible by Caroline Waldegrave (Hardcover - 17 Oct 2005)
22.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews