Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weirdly addictive
Sport lends itself to collections of trivia, so I'm surprised Ben Schott didn't publish this collection earlier. The good news is that it's up to the same standard as his previous books with lots of nuggets of information you didn't know you didn't know but which are strangely fascinating.
I love the mix of modern up-to-date information (such as details of David...
Published on 5 Nov 2004 by T. Bently

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I bought this hoping that it would be as good as his Miscellany but it was full of stuff that was very 'so what'. Pity really as I was looking forward to it so much.
Published on 29 Oct 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weirdly addictive, 5 Nov 2004
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Schott's Sporting, Gaming and Idling Miscellany (Hardcover)
Sport lends itself to collections of trivia, so I'm surprised Ben Schott didn't publish this collection earlier. The good news is that it's up to the same standard as his previous books with lots of nuggets of information you didn't know you didn't know but which are strangely fascinating.
I love the mix of modern up-to-date information (such as details of David Beckham's tattoo collection) with the Victorian-style presentation and quaint illustrations. There is so much possible material on sports facts that hopefully there may even be a second edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Schott's book so far, 5 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Schott's Sporting, Gaming and Idling Miscellany (Hardcover)
Ignore all the cheap imitations there is only one master of Miscellany - Schott.
Having dipped in and out of this book for the past week I now feel that I am armed with enough knowledge to take part in a question of sport, be an official spokesperson for the pooh sticks society and generally be the bore of the party who knows more about sports, games and being idle than anyone else. The must have book this winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bundle of fun, 4 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Schott's Sporting, Gaming and Idling Miscellany (Hardcover)
I was initially a bit worried that this book would be too heavy on the sport, but actually so many of the items raised a smile! There is plenty to interest everyone from the best racing line for your pooh stick, to a record of Rocky's fights.
I loved the other two miscellanies and this lived up to expectations and even exceeded them in places.
Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pointless yet inforative and interesting., 17 May 2006
By 
David Lovie (Aberdeen, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Schott's Sporting, Gaming and Idling Miscellany (Hardcover)
Following on from the tome of useless trivia that was Scotts origonal miscellany, this is a slightly more topical book based on the pursuits of sporting, gaming & idling.
Like the other version of Scotts miscellanys this is basically a book full of irrelevant yet interesting facts and bits of information, from notes on curious sporting events such as bog snorkelling and cheese rolling, descriptions of the offside rule for all to finally understand, descriptions of how waves are designated in surfing and how a formula one pit crew are tasked and set out or quotes on idling by various people. All seemingly pointless as a whole, but chock full of interesting tidbits to learn about.

It may not be the definative tome for all your sporting questions (though it may very well hold the answers to many questions) but it is the perfect book to flick through on a hunt for an interesting new fact or to keep you amused sitting on the loo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awesome, 3 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Schott's Sporting, Gaming and Idling Miscellany (Hardcover)
I was beginning to think that Mr Schott couldn't come up with another bestseller but he has done it again.
Sporting Gaming and Idling is the perfect present for every man, woman and child. With facts such as which exercise burns more calories , winners of the BBC sports personality of the Year and instructions on how to play elephant polo this should prove an irresistible read for all.
Bring on the next book Mr Schott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Good, 30 July 2005
By 
Michael Jacobs - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schott's Sporting, Gaming and Idling Miscellany (Hardcover)
A very entertaining book, but compared to the first two (Original and Food & Drink), this seems slightly less interesting. Maybe it's because the two other subjects are just more interesting, but nevertheless, what can be said about this book?
I feel that it would be ideal for those who have a sporting interest, but it does seem slightly specialised, rather than trivialised. I suppose it can be hard to find a balance between the two, but I havn't found it as interesting as I expected it could be. There lacks an academic element to it (which I hope doesn't sound snobby), which I only find slightly disappointing firstly because the other two contain such an element, and the whole "fun" of these books is the way in which trivial facts and issues can be put into an almost academic presentation.
But the above is probably severe nitpicking, so don't be to discouraged from buying this book. It should still be fun, entertaining and enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain at 1.97, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schott's Sporting, Gaming and Idling Miscellany (Hardcover)
As entertaining as ever! Schott's miscellanies go from one extreme to another, who would know that friction-induced dermatitis with lichenification was simply Jogger's Nipple?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love trivia, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schott's Sporting, Gaming and Idling Miscellany (Hardcover)
can't get enough of these schotts miscellany but avoided the sporting one as I'm not a sporty type but I can't believe I missed out for so long - this book is so much more - love the idling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For any one who likes a compendium., 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schott's Sporting, Gaming and Idling Miscellany (Hardcover)
A good read, no screens needed, pick it up, put it down, it realy awaits your free moments. Let alone for quizes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An eccentric delight - but you'll need your reading glasses., 3 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schott's Sporting, Gaming and Idling Miscellany (Hardcover)
Well, if you ever wanted to know how to play elephant polo, or to understand the rules of Kabaddi; or if you've always wondered at the relative sizes of a quiddich quaffle and an association football, this is your book! This is another nice example of Ben Schott's combination of scholarship, whimsy and dry humour, and provides both entertainment and information in equal measure.
An ideal 'bathroom book' if you know what I mean :)
However ... with some regret, I have had to dock this a star, because the typeface is absolutely tiny and if you are of that certain age or more, you will need your reading glasses to tackle this volume. Time for that extra pair for the bathroom then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac9f5b7c)

This product

Schott's Sporting, Gaming and Idling Miscellany
Schott's Sporting, Gaming and Idling Miscellany by Ben Schott (Hardcover - 18 Oct 2004)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews