Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disarmingly objective
Thought provoking account of a girls experience as a Viennese jew who survives World War Two as a prisoner of the Nazi Concentration Camps. Marking out her account is her insistent objectivity together with her experiences as told from a female point of view. The war fought, lost or survived was entirely different depending on whether you were male or female, child or...
Published 20 months ago by Mrs. Jill Allen

versus
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This book is not going to tell you much about the Holocaust - it focuses on the thoughts and feelings of the author. This is fine in its place, but it soon gets noticable that these responses are out of context when the details are missing, and they are often passed over or a comment made that enough has been written elsewhere. I am not reading "elsewhere" and would have...
Published on 3 Jun 2007 by klr


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disarmingly objective, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Mrs. Jill Allen (BRIGHTON, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscapes of Memory: A Holocaust Girlhood Remembered (Paperback)
Thought provoking account of a girls experience as a Viennese jew who survives World War Two as a prisoner of the Nazi Concentration Camps. Marking out her account is her insistent objectivity together with her experiences as told from a female point of view. The war fought, lost or survived was entirely different depending on whether you were male or female, child or adult and the author describes her own experiences within these parameters without sentimentality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant critical analysis, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscapes of Memory: A Holocaust Girlhood Remembered (Paperback)
This is an uncoventional memoir which undermines many "popular" perceptions of the Holocaust and that is what makes it such an interesting read. She begins the book honestly and constantly encourages the reader to form their own opinions. If you have the opportunity to read it in German first, do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb writing - not to be missed, 25 Nov 2008
By 
Judi Granit - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Landscapes of Memory: A Holocaust Girlhood Remembered (Paperback)
I wasn't surprised to learn after reading this book that Ruth Kluger is a professor of literature. She has written a brilliant and intelligent piece of literature that is much more than a holocaust diary. Kluger writes about "her" holocaust, the events that she experienced as a child and manages to show us a different perception of the experience. (Beware - those who morbidly read it, looking only for shocking horrific descriptions of nazi attrocities will be disappointed.) Ruth Kluger's book is about herself, about her life and mostly about her complicated relationship with her mother and of this she writes openly and with astounding honesty and intellgence.

I cannot praise this book or its author enough. I picked it up on a whim, and literally could not put it down. I believe it is one of the first books that I have ever read cover to cover without stopping - totally compulsive.

What an amazing lady! You MUST read this book. Her writing is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscapes of Memory: A Holocaust Girlhood Remembered (Paperback)
This ia a brilliantly written book, quite different to most memoirs. It's very honest and thought provoking - the author is a master of written word. Hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 Jun 2007
This review is from: Landscapes of Memory: A Holocaust Girlhood Remembered (Paperback)
This book is not going to tell you much about the Holocaust - it focuses on the thoughts and feelings of the author. This is fine in its place, but it soon gets noticable that these responses are out of context when the details are missing, and they are often passed over or a comment made that enough has been written elsewhere. I am not reading "elsewhere" and would have preferred more details here, in the book that I am reading. I would recommend "I have lived a thousand years" or "Eyewitness Auschwitz: Three Years in the Gas Chamber" for books that will inspire you and teach you about the atrocities of the holocaust.

A large section of this book is not focused during the holocaust - it talks about life afterwards and the rest of the author's life so far. Again this is all fine, but not what I was expecting when I purchased this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Landscapes of Memory - a Holocaust Girlhood Remembered, 31 July 2010
This review is from: Landscapes of Memory: A Holocaust Girlhood Remembered (Paperback)
First of all, the content of this book deals with more than childhood, but I was not able to get more than half way through the book, because, on page 136, Ruth Kluger says "No women were charged in the great postwar trials at Nuremberg or the Auschwitz trials at Frankfurt....." This I think is true, although I think some women were charged at Frankfurt. Ruth Kluger is being economical with the truth. She wants to give the impression that no women were executed. She should have said - "women were executed (e.g. Irma Grese - 1945) but not at Nuremberg or Frankfurt". But, no, Ms Kluger has a feminist agenda. From the very first pages we get the impression that women are good and men are bad, and all evil can be laid at the door of men, including the Holocaust. The problem is this that this approach makes the book not only deeply boring but questionable in its supposed truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh god do i have to carry on reading this book?, 20 April 2010
This review is from: Landscapes of Memory: A Holocaust Girlhood Remembered (Paperback)
I have read alot of literature related to the holocaust and i have to say that aside from "hasidic tales of the holocaust" this is the most awful read ever.
I am about half way through and i just want to bin it.
The author is skipping around terribly and very keen to pass judgement on other peoples experiances of the holocaust, usually to their detrement.
i would not recommend this book to anyone.

try renas promise or 5 chimmneys but dont waste your time or money here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Landscapes of Memory: A Holocaust Girlhood Remembered
Landscapes of Memory: A Holocaust Girlhood Remembered by Ruth Kluger (Paperback - 2 Feb 2004)
7.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews