Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peyton Amberg - Tama Janowitz
Peyton Amberg comes from a very troubled background, her brother has been in jail, her sister has two kids and a husband who left her, and her mum is destroyed from years of severe depression treated with electric shock treatment. In her mid twenties she goes into a bar with her best friend Victoria and meets Barry a Jewish dentist from a good rich Long Island background...
Published on 27 July 2009 by Future_Perfect

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sad, sad, sad
i've loved most of tama janowitz's books, even those trashed by the critics. "a certain age" and "the male crossdresser suppport group" are my favourites. "peyton" is a total disappointment. maybe janowitz felt like projecting the darkness and bitternes of the criticism she received for her former work into a novel. well, she succeeded. fay weldon considers this book...
Published on 21 Sep 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peyton Amberg - Tama Janowitz, 27 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Peyton Amberg (Paperback)
Peyton Amberg comes from a very troubled background, her brother has been in jail, her sister has two kids and a husband who left her, and her mum is destroyed from years of severe depression treated with electric shock treatment. In her mid twenties she goes into a bar with her best friend Victoria and meets Barry a Jewish dentist from a good rich Long Island background. She marries him and settles to a life in the Upper East side of Manhattan in a nice apartment with a part time job as a travel agent, but soon she realizes Barry isn't the person she thought he was, he is always complaining and not very adventurous.
Peyton gets offered a free vacation to Rio and leaves dressed as her mother in law thinks she should and nervous, on the plane her wallet gets stolen by a Brazilian family sat next to her, in a panic she gets help from a very rich older man Germano, from that meeting onwards she sleeps with strangers where ever she goes as her relationship with Barry becomes strained. The story chops and changes between 3 different times, her time in Brazil with Germano, from meeting Barry through to her wedding and birth of her son Cash, and in Hong Kong with Xian Rong a chinese wannabe gangster. Over all the constant feeling is of a woman who can not accept what she has and believes it will be ruined so has mindless one night stands to get away from her life and her low self esteem.

Overall i thought it was a great novel, and i think everyone can relate to Peyton, the feeling of never being good enough and struggling to deal with what life has to throw at you on a daily basis. It is thought-provoking and funny in places, and dark and intense in others. The story and all the people in it will stay with me for a long time. I will be researching more titles by Tama and hopefully they will live up to this great novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, Dark & Funny!, 5 Sep 2003
This review is from: Peyton Amberg (Paperback)
Amberg Peyton's heart is shaped liked a thorn! All the while its tearing up her inside... Tama Janowitz's latest offering is in many ways dark, sad and funny but ultimately a very bleak outlook on one person's very real pirsuit of happiness through love and relationships.
The book careers from one episode to the next, chopping and changing back and forth, almost as if each little sub-story is jostling for position. The book style is hard to follow, but in many ways this only added to the general sentiment left by the book. No detail is left unturned and you very much get the sense that we are delving into the persona of Peyton Amberg and looking outside on the world from within her.
Compared to any of the other books I have read by Janowitz, this leaves them all in the dust! This is an extremely intense book, one that left me with a lump in throat, mostly because it was soaked with such realism and emotion. Needless to say It was also easy to draw parallels between people in my own life and that of the characters in the book.
This is a very strong book and is very well written. I have read it several times and would recommend it to anyone. Each time it only gets better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, Dark & Funny!, 5 Sep 2003
This review is from: Peyton Amberg (Paperback)
Amberg Peyton's heart is shaped liked a thorn! All the while its tearing up her inside... Tama Janowitz's latest offering is in many ways dark, sad and funny but ultimately a very bleak outlook on one person's very real pirsuit of happiness through love and relationships.
The book careers from one episode to the next, chopping and changing back and forth, almost as if each little sub-story is jostling for position. The book style is hard to follow, but in many ways this only added to the general sentiment left by the book. No detail is left unturned and you very much get the sense that we are delving into the persona of Peyton Amberg and looking outside on the world from within her.
Compared to any of the other books I have read by Janowitz, this leaves them all in the dust! This is an extremely intense book, one that left me with a lump in throat, mostly because it was soaked with such realism and emotion. Needless to say It was also easy to draw parallels between people in my own life and that of the characters in the book.
This is a very strong book and is very well written. I have read it several times and would recommend it to anyone. Each time it only gets better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sad, sad, sad, 21 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Peyton Amberg (Paperback)
i've loved most of tama janowitz's books, even those trashed by the critics. "a certain age" and "the male crossdresser suppport group" are my favourites. "peyton" is a total disappointment. maybe janowitz felt like projecting the darkness and bitternes of the criticism she received for her former work into a novel. well, she succeeded. fay weldon considers this book funny and i really wonder about her sense of humour. the story is tragic, the heroine unsympathetic and what i miss most is what janowitz managed in all her other books: that though life may be more like hell than heaven, people find their way and triumph (in their own way)over it.
peyton just goes down down down and - opposed to a character like victor in easton ellis' "glamorama", who goes the same way, peyton's downward spiral left me cold.
it's sad that janowitz thinks that adding graphic (and extremely dull unerotic) sex-scenes and the mention of excrements on every second page will add a shock-element to the book's reception. that's repulsing withpout being intelligent. the single star is to express my hope that she will concentrate more on stories and less on boring shock-elements in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what has happened Tama?!, 14 Dec 2004
This review is from: Peyton Amberg (Paperback)
I was very shallow - when I first saw this book I was appalled by its cover. So although I considered Tama my favourite author, I didn't buy it. When I saw the US hardback cover I fell in love - how stylish, elegant, nostalgic! So I bought that...
I have to agree with the Berlin review and not the other one - I have loved loved loved Tama's books, but this is god awful depressing and doesn't have the lift, heart, wit of her past works. The decline starts with 'A Certain Age' for me - I ended that book thinking 'what the hell was that?' and this is so much worse. It is just nasty.
So the moral here - I should have gone with my first instincts and judged the UK version of the book by its heinous goth cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peyton Amberg
Peyton Amberg by Tama Janowitz (Paperback - 20 Sep 2004)
7.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews