Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
35
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2007
Written by an autistic woman - Temple Grandin - and subtitled 'The Woman Who Thinks Like A Cow', this book is an exploration and explanation of how animals view the world and the ways in which the animal view is similar to the autistic view. What's so fascinating is how these animal and autistic views are different from those of what Temple calls 'normal people'.

You can approach the book from any number of angles and interest points. For animal lovers it's hugely informative in helping you to understand animal fears and motivators, behaviours and methods of communication. For those who'd like to know more about autism, it gives examples and stories of what it's like to live life as an autistic person. If you're interested in how we as humans operate in, and impact on, the world of other beings around us, this is a real eye-opener too.

Fascinating, informative, educational, enlightening, downright interesting. This book had me hooked from start to finish.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2006
Being animal lovers, both my wife and myself have been fascinated by their behaviour patterns, many of which were easy to understand but many more which were inexplicable. After reading this seminal work it was as if a great fog had been lifted. Thank you Temple Grandin. We have been recommending this book to all our friends and discovered that the author has also written extensively on Autism. A friends family has successfully dealt with an autistic child with the help of Temples books!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
I was motivated by the BBC "Horizon" programme devoted to her and more recently "The Interview" with her on the World Service, to buy a book by Temple Grandin. "Animals in Translation" had eighteen reviews, seventeen of which were very positive, on Amazon.co.uk, so I ordered it and started to read full of admiration for all she had achieved.

The first chapter offers moving glimpses into her very difficult childhood and adolescence and the start of her involvement with horses. It also divides humans into two clear-cut groups, autistic and normal, and has Temple Grandin making the astounding claim that "she is starting to be able to accurately predict animal talents nobody can see" based on what she knows about autistic talent. "This is a little like astronomers predicting the existence of a planet nobody can see based on their understanding of gravity." Words like these raise very high expectations.

So what is so very different in the ways animals and autistic people think? They see details to which the rest of us are oblivious, claims Grandin, and they think in pictures. Her work with cattle does indeed demonstrate that these animals react to reflections on smooth metal and puddles, slow fan blade movement, differences in light intensity and other stimuli which people working in abattoirs do not perceive until it is drawn to their attention. When Temple Grandin's book draws on her own experiences it is at its most convincing. I also found the common sense audits she devised very impressive. She has worked with horses, pigs and chickens as well as cattle. The problem is that she assumes what she has discovered about a few animals can be applied to all, and it is not even clear what she means by "animal." Perhaps she means "vertebrates" because mammals, birds and occasionally reptiles and fish are included.

Several of the 324 pages are devoted to dogs and are peppered with anecdotes, as is the rest of the book. She gives what sounds like very authoritative advice on the training of dogs, but more than one person reviewing this book elsewhere has pointed out that her theories depend on old, outdated and discredited research.

In a book where the style is slang-spiced, occasionally toddler-speak, conversational, it is often hard to disentangle what is evidence-based from the matrix of opinion, over generalisation and highly imaginative speculation in which it is embedded. Here is a sample of the writing:
"...most of what animals do in life they learn from other animals. Adults teach their young where to eat, what to eat, whom to socialise with, and whom to have sex with. The adults teach the young ones social rules and respect for their own kind."
Cats are the animals I know best. Our two cats were litter mates and arrived as kittens too small to have reached the stage where they would receive hunting lessons from their mother; yet these autodidacts progressed from learning to catch insects to catching mice once their deciduous canine teeth were replaced by permanent ones. Cats are also well known for regulating their social interactions and sex lives independently of their elders.

To write this review I read the entire book although I was tempted more than once to give up. I remain far from convinced that animals are autistic savants, that music is the language of many animals, or that Temple Grandin has no Unconscious. The book itself seems to contradict the idea that normal people are lumpers who generalise while animals and autistic people are splitters who see the differences between things more than the similarities. It also seems strange that, nowhere in this long book, is there any mention of the specialisation of right and left hemispheres of the brain. If we, normal people, seriously underestimate the intelligence of animals and of people diagnosed autistic, then this book underestimates our ability to train ourselves to see detail.
55 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Some of her research or anecdotes are flawed or misleading,especially in regards to dogs. I was disappointed because I had seen her on a docu and been impressed. She may know a lot about cows but that's it,really.Her ideas are not that revolutionary and her harping on implying that autistic people are superior to ordinary people is irritating.The book is made worse by her abrasive personality,which is very evident between the pages. It's not a terrible book but I wouldn't recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2007
a must read for animal lovers or any pet owner, or anyone really. this book is fantastic gives you an insight to autism and into the animal mind. i couldnt put this book down and gives you an insite into the minds of animals big and small. is bothe light hearted with story examples and has in depth descriptions. fantastic a must read wor anyone who is interested in animals or autism
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2007
I initially borrowed this book from someone who had only read the fist 50 pages or so and another reviewer has completely misunderstood the book by describing it as merely a manual for abattoir owners. This is specifically addressed towards the end of the book, which is about a great deal more. Arguably, however, in this regard the writer has not put her best foot forward when it comes to the organisation of content. Make sure you read deeper into the book.

Notwithstanding this, the book has a light touch and is very easy to follow and digest. There are times when the flow of ideas seems a trifle simplistic or even repetitive but the virtues of this approach are apparent as the reader progresses. Temple gives it to you straight and does not beat about the bush. The reader grows in respect as the text progresses and appreciates the workmanlike compassion the author has for animals and autistic people in general.

I spent 3 months teaching an autistic man for the greater part of each day and found this to be of the greatest assistance in understanding both his savant qualities and limitations. I recommended the book to him and hope he reads it. It is clear to me that the talents of autistic people are being wasted and held in little regard. There should be a special employment agency (there is in the US) to help develop their usefulness to society and the sense of self-worth that flows from that.

Those familiar with the excellent TV program `The Dog Whisperer' will already be acquainted with the general tone of Temple's attitude towards dog handling although there are differences these are from the same stable. Temple extends our understanding to horses, cows, and pigs. As a cat lover I am sorry she didn't say much about cats specifically but her general points covered all sentient animals, I think.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2010
Fascinating insight from the perspective of an extraordinary autistic woman, into the minds and emotions of animals. Dr. Grandin shows empathy for animals that is almost unheard of. Her understanding of cattle led to her single-handedly transforming the meat packing business in the US and Canada.

At the heart of the book is her firm assertion that her condition means she thinks like an animal, not as 'normal' people do as she puts it, this enables her to communicate to and empathise with animals on their level.

Her erudition is vast with citations from hundreds of research papers and experiments that have been carried out in the last century. She rejects Behaviourism for approaches that allow us to study the animal from the inside out.

Full of amazing stories and documented case studies, this book is a must for anyone wishing to deepen their understanding of autism or indeed their understanding of the animal mind.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
I couldn't put this book down, what a fantastic insight into her life, it is beautifully written and is so inspiring for people who may work with or live with people who are on the autistic spectrum, not to forget dealing with animals on a regular basis. Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
fast delivery and book was in great condition.
this is an extremely interesting read, has made me look at the world and animals in a very different light, has defiantly changed the way I see things. was also a very light enjoyable read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2008
Very interesting reading - I loved this book. I read it because of a personal family interest in Aspergers - as well as in my cat! :) - and highly enjoyed it. Well worth reading, and I will most likely be reading it again.

Brava, Temple Grandin!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)