Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Miscellaneous Triumph
If you liked Schott's Original Miscellany, and I loved it, then you are sure to like the sequel.
I was a little sceptical as to how Schott would write a Miscellany on a narrow subject like food and drink - but on opening the book I realised that it was not that narrow after all! He has everything from how to sharpen a carving knife to a list of slaves at a Roman...
Published on 4 Nov 2003 by Jane Masterson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but a bit of samey to the other one
There is a lot of stuff in here which is also in the original miscellany, and there are a lot of "oh,OK" snippets and not so many "wow" ones. Worth a read though just for the wow bits.
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Miscellaneous Triumph, 4 Nov 2003
This review is from: Schott's Food and Drink Miscellany (Hardcover)
If you liked Schott's Original Miscellany, and I loved it, then you are sure to like the sequel.
I was a little sceptical as to how Schott would write a Miscellany on a narrow subject like food and drink - but on opening the book I realised that it was not that narrow after all! He has everything from how to sharpen a carving knife to a list of slaves at a Roman feast (there was even a slave to fan the guests with peacock feathers....). In between are famous lasts meals, poisonous mushrooms, how to mix the perfect Martini (and a host of other cocktails) - and, of course, how to cure a hangover. He's got some useful stuff (cooking times, freezer temperatures) - but he doesn't get carried away with making the book to useful... there are wonderful pages on absinthe, gout, vitamins in beer, curry types, cigar measurement... and on and on!
Moreover, the whole book has the same lovely, elegant feel as the first - and it looks just wonderful on my shelf next to the Original. Don't think, however, it will transform you into a chef overnight... I spend far too much time flicking through the book to actually go and cook anything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have your cake and eat it., 3 Nov 2003
By 
gjb (scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Schott's Food and Drink Miscellany (Hardcover)
Buy, borrow, or steal a copy. This little gem of a book is packed full of information relating to all things edible.From Absinthe to Zoo Eating, by way of Dining Times for Monks, it is all here.
Neatly packaged with a useful index, this book is designed for the itinerant reader and will appeal to anyone with an enquiring mind or love of the abstract.
A great deal of genuinely useful information is presented together with an entertaining mix of irreverent and sometimes bizarre material, which is guaranteed to provoke and comfort.
Much delightful detail is provided on the demon drink and the book is probably best enjoyed with a strengthening tincture.
I cannot recommend the book too highly {it would prove an excellent Christmas gift} nor find fault except that now hooked I will be compelled to buy the others in the series.
P.S. Should it all prove too much the Heimlich manoeuvre can be found on page 92.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great idea for a book & he does it so well, 15 Nov 2005
This review is from: Schott's Food and Drink Miscellany (Hardcover)
All the facts you never thought you wanted to know about food and drink. Not only do you now want to know them but you crave to know more. Ben Schott fills the books in this series with fantastic facts that lets face it you're never going to need to know, unless you just love pub quizes and if you do, get this book and next time there's a food and drink round, amaze others with your knowledge.
From this book you can learn how to wash decanters, how to make cocktails and how to make a baked alaska.
It really is a fantastic book that will amaze and keep you occupied until you've finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Obscure trivia at it's best, 9 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Schott's Food and Drink Miscellany (Hardcover)
This is one of the most facinating books on food I have read in a long while. It is full of interesting pieces of information from one end to the other. It's great for just dipping in and out of or reading from one end to the other, whatever you fancy. If you are a lover of food then this book really is compulsive reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful little pocket food and drink bible!, 22 Dec 2003
By 
Jason Barber "jasonpar" (Dunfermline) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Schott's Food and Drink Miscellany (Hardcover)
Bought as a present, this book will have something for everyone, no matter how much food and drink knowledge they possess!
Packed full of facts/figures and trivia, you can amuse/bore family members and friends with information stuffed into this little gem.
Excellent price for a well presented book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional trivia, 2 Jan 2004
By 
A. S. Garton "age garton" (milton keynes, england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Schott's Food and Drink Miscellany (Hardcover)
I own a copy of Schott's Original Miscellany and love it so much I bought a copy of the the Food and Drink version - truly exceptional trivia. The book contains all manner of wonderful information that you simply will not find in the most comprehensive of modern encyclopedia.
This book contains everything from a servants wages during the 1800's, to the correct formulation of the worlds most popular cocktails (inlcuding the Long Island Ice Tea, my personal favourite!!). It has a breakdown of all E-numbers, a height-to-weight ratio table and any number of interesting quotes and endless trivia.
If you enjoy trivia of any kind, or if you have any interest in food and drink, Schott's book is certainly for your bookshelf. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Marvellous!, 24 Nov 2004
This review is from: Schott's Food and Drink Miscellany (Hardcover)
I was given a copy of Schott's Food & Drink Miscellany last year. Even though the book contains a large wad of useless trivia, it is far more useful than any of my other cookery books. I'm an ex chef, so recipies aren't the be all & end all. all you really need is this book & some imagination. Buy it now. The best stocking filler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing!!!, 22 Jan 2005
By 
David Scott (Gloucester, Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is such a good book that every foodie on this planet should buy!! i had it for last christmas and the only word to describe it would be random! recipes for monsters eggs( 24 eggs boiled in a pig bladder to get one huge one!) every time you open it you read another werid fact that you didn't read before. i've bought copies for our friends it's that good! really good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly pointless, yet very interesting, 17 May 2006
By 
David Lovie (Aberdeen, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Schott's Food and Drink Miscellany (Hardcover)
Following on from Scotts miscellany (a book full of a huge variety of irrelevant information) this is the slightly more topical and restricted version based on food and drink.

As the origonal its an eclectic mix of information from useful facts like a small diagram showing roughly how much spaghetti to boil for x amount of people, the flavours of Ben & Jerrys ice cream, quotes on smoking, Burns full address to the haggis and much more, both obscure and informative and more usefull and known.

The book is classily done in a hardback cover (I haven't seen any paperback version yet at least) with very nicely presented information that is enjoyable to read, its interesting just flicking through odd pages to see what tidbits you can learn about.

Maybe not particularly a useful book for the household cook, but to someone with an interest in food and drink or just any normal person looking for some interesting facts and a nice read on the loo it is a fantastic book to flick through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous reference book, and also fun to drip or read trough!, 4 May 2007
By 
Mr. DAVID Geer "Korngold Fan" (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Schott's Food and Drink Miscellany (Hardcover)
Bought this as a gift then got my own. Love Schott's Miscellanies and have his Sporting, as well as Original. All fabulous, quirky but more than encompassing! I love that he does the layout and specifies the fonts, you feel he is a real creator as well as a collector of useful (usually) or amusing facts, like a miniature Pears encyclopedia on steroids?! Get one get them all! Then subscribe for the annual Almanac! So this has everything you've wanted to know about food & drink and can be read cover to cover or simply dipped into. Essential information, about bottle sizes, seasons to eat things you can't get (here in Australia anyway) as well as, no doubt obscure answers to crossword puzzles are all there! A treasure trove for all eaters and drinkers on all levels! (oh and yes it does explain the odd beer glass sizes we have here in Australia between the States (midi, schooners etc) just in case you are visiting any time soon!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Schott's Food and Drink Miscellany
Schott's Food and Drink Miscellany by Ben Schott (Hardcover - 3 Nov 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews