Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous
A Fantastic book which kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through.Once again there is a new stravaganti named Sky who lived up to the great standards that georgia and lucien set in the country Talia!Sky is transported to the city of flowers (florence) by ways of a blue perfume bottle and is needed to help keep peace in Talia with the help of the other...
Published on 11 April 2005 by beltane87

versus
4 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment
This is a disappointing end to the Stravaganza trilogy. Hoffman throws too many elements into the mix and ends up with an unsatisfying whole; there are so many characters at the beginning that the book is really confusing! The plot is also muddled, with random twists that make little or no sense. I think she's gone for something really ambitious and just not brought it...
Published on 15 April 2005 by S. P. Worsley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 11 April 2005
A Fantastic book which kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through.Once again there is a new stravaganti named Sky who lived up to the great standards that georgia and lucien set in the country Talia!Sky is transported to the city of flowers (florence) by ways of a blue perfume bottle and is needed to help keep peace in Talia with the help of the other stravaganti because the infamous Di Cimichi are planning a wedding more grand then anyone in the history of Talia have ever known and their enemy the nucci family have a plan up their sleeve to bring the blissful celebrations to a dramatic halt.We see new faces aswell as old ones in this story e.g Sky, Alice, luciano, Arrianna, rodolfo and falco (nicholas). A great ending to a very masterful trilogy with adventure, suspense, love, tragedy and mystery. (just an ordinary day in Talia)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third Part of the Stravaganza Trilogy, 5 April 2005
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
City of Flowers is the third book in the Stravaganza Trilogy by Mary Hoffman. It is set in Giglia, an alternate centuries-old Florence. If you've read and enjoyed part 1 (City of Masks) and part 2 (City of Stars) then this is a 'must-read.' Part 3 is longer than parts 1 and 2 put together - and in it we continue the adventures of Arianna, Luciano and Georgia, we find out what happened to Prince Falco (A.K.A. Nicholas), and meet new Stravagante, (traveller through time/space), Sky Meadows.
This is a wonderful conclusion to the series - and draws all the many plot strands of the trilogy together perfectly. It has to be said, that if you haven't read the earlier parts of this series, you might struggle to keep track of the multitudinous characters and there alternating Anglian/Talian names, (although a handy 'Dramatis Personae' is included at the back for easy reference). I'd recommend reading the first two books first. This is a wonderful series, brimful of drama, rich in colourful detail, and gives such a flavour of Old Italy that you can almost taste the wine and smell the flowers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good story for young adult readers, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another in the series and as usual is a cracking story wound around the original idea of moving between different times and worlds in order to make a difference. If you enjoyed City of Stars you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stravaganza series - City of Flowers, 2 Mar 2005
By 
Michael G. Torbe "Gustave" (Coventry, W. Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed the first two books in the series, and wondered if the third would keep up the quality. It does, and the very appearance whets the appetite - the cover is excellent, with deliciously exquisite marbling and a clever cut out, and the volume feels like a real book. Bloomsbury is so good at that.
The book itself does a fine job of blending together the characters and events of the first two books, and manages the complex business of dealing with two complete societies convincingly and with reassuring ease. Well, more than two - if you don't know about the series, it deals with young people of today who manage to time-travel (quite convincingly, for once)and slip in and out of sixteenth century Italian city-states - the city of flowers is Florence, and the other two cities are Venice and Siena. Each city is a state in its own right, with its own traditions and politics, and so there are three quite different societies in sixteenth century Italy, not just one.
The books maintain the essential stance of the young people in both centuries, and although we also meet parents and other adults, the focus is firmly on the very real issues that young people then and now have to meet and deal with. There are big themes here - death, grieving and loss, betrayal, very real danger, not all of it predictable; and the characters weave in and out of each others' lives in a very engaging and finally satisfying way. Magic, horses, love, friendship, adventure, humour, even internationally famous rock stars - yes, all of the above, and more. Begin with the first volume - Stravaganze City of Masks - and enjoy reading your way through all of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love the books glad i found the last one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic story, well written, full of suspense and twists. You'll fall in love with all the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The last in a trilogy that is not, 18 Nov 2013
Since reading this book I have discovered that there are more than three books in the series. And I guess that there is scope for the story to continue beyond this third conclusion. This book continues almost straight away from the previous and the quick pace continues throughout.

I enjoyed reading this book but once again found the large number of characters confusing. This book introduces another new Stravagante and it is clear by this point that they are, in some ways, a social outcast in the present world. Again, this is set in a different part of Talia, but the plot still links back to the characters from the previous stories.

It was difficult to predict how the story would conclude because there were so many different aspects of the plot that needed to be tied up. I found this made the story all the more enjoyable and how it did eventually finish was completely unexpected. Knowing that there are more books in this series makes me curious to find out what happens to the characters and I look forward to getting my hands on them.

If, like me, you were slightly disappointed in `City of Stars', this will restore your faith in the Stravaganza series. It is fast paced and with all the familiar characters from the previous novels, I found myself desperate to know how this adventure would conclude. It is great to know that the story has not finished and there are more adventures to follow in Talia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am loving the whole series!, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful series for people who love history - young and old. Don't be put off by the fact that it has teenage protagonists. Hoffman transports the reader just as magically as she transports her Stravaganti and finishing a book leaves you as bereft as if your talisman had been broken. Talia is just as wonderful as Italy and its alternative history is so well researched and factually correct that, just like Sky and Georgia and Lucien, you feel like you're really there. Can't wait to start the next one. But what am I going to do when I've finished the series....???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Service, 18 Jan 2010
By 
Ray Duffey "Ray" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Book arrived very quickly, especially as it was Xmas time,
Thank you for great service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - totally unique!, 27 April 2009
By 
I've adored all of the Stravaganza series so far. I'd recommend you reading from the first in the series, rather than starting in the middle because it's in the first book where you get all the background behind the characters, Talia and stavagation. After the second book, City of Stars, [which I didn't like as much as the first, even though I adore horses!] I was wondering how this one would turn out but it's amazing. The books are set in a completely unique location, and Mary Hoffman manages to create an engaging and entirely believable world, with exquisite detail. My favourite characters (and pairing) in the series is Arianna/Luciano - I don't particularly like the Georgia/Falco pairing, so prefer the Talian scenes and City of Masks as well as this volume. My only negative comment would be that I don't like the new covers! The old cover was beautiful, and gave the books a much more fitting style for the writing.

I think teens and adults alike will enjoy the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City of Flowers (Stravaganza)
City of Flowers (Stravaganza) by Mary Hoffman (Paperback - 6 Mar 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews