Customer Reviews


1,214 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,009)
4 star:
 (133)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fry shoots, he scores!
I have read all three books and was astounded by the amazing storyline! I have listened to the tapes and in doing so have come to the conclusion that Stephen Fry should be the narrator for all the books. His use of voices for all the different characters alone is enough to keep anyone interested, but combined with J.K Rowling's amazing suspense filled storyline, it is...
Published on 4 Jun. 2000

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better than the first
In this second movie we find quite the same flaws and assets of the first one: direction and screenplay are rather weaker than the rest, they would have needed better editing, but still they are somewhat better than in the first.

Probably because of the fact that characters and settings have already been introduced before, the movie concentrates more on the...
Published on 1 Feb. 2007 by Furio


‹ Previous | 1 2122 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fry shoots, he scores!, 4 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
I have read all three books and was astounded by the amazing storyline! I have listened to the tapes and in doing so have come to the conclusion that Stephen Fry should be the narrator for all the books. His use of voices for all the different characters alone is enough to keep anyone interested, but combined with J.K Rowling's amazing suspense filled storyline, it is a tape to die for. I just can't wait till the next book comes out on tape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun!, 14 Nov. 2005
By 
Nadia "Fleet UK" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I fell in love with this series and I’ve listened to the audio books more times than I could possibly count. I wore out the tapes and moved on to CDs.
Stephen Fry is with out a doubt the best narrator I have ever heard, and has won awards for more than one of his Harry Potter readings. He distinguishes between the character’s voices so well, that it really could be an entire cast performance. I find myself smiling in recognition of a character’s voice even before he says whose speaking.
The first two books were the most light-hearted of the series, and there are some truly classic moments in this book. The flying car sequence is excellent, Harry’s valentine had me laughing so much I had to stop the book, and Lockheart is just fantastic. It was equally gripping as Philosopher’s stone. I think the scene in the chamber of secrets is one of the best written sequences in the series. But this book also has a darker side too. I remember the shiver down my spine as I first heard the chilling voice of the Basilisk. I thought the series got better with every book, though I adore them all, but from here onwards, the series becomes a much more complex, deeper and many layered story, so enjoy the fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable for all ages, 22 May 2001
I love Stephen Fry's reading of this book. Although it is typically recommended for 9 years and up, my daughter, who is just five, is already hooked. Fry's clear reading makes the story easy to follow even for younger listeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am I alone In thinking this Is the best In the lot?, 21 July 2000
By A Customer
I read this book in 4 days, which I realise Is quite a long time compared to readers (I just can't scan books like most people) When you read this book you realise the the first book In the series "The Phillosophers Stone" was just an introduction and nothing more. "The Chamber of Secrets" develops the characters more and the story has more twists and turns than the first, I also felt this even more of a page turner, It still has the same mysterious type of plot, but the ending Is such a novelty because Harry actually comes face to face with "You know who" I know that most people recognise the third installment as the best (not yet counting the 4th) but I felt In the "Prisoner of Azkaban" the characters just didn't bite as much biscuit. But this certainly didn't put me off and I'm just starting to read the fourth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Potter cassette, 29 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is the most atmospheric of the books, and so it's the story which transfers best onto cassette. The creepy whisperings of the monster of Slytherin are quite effective but not overdone. It's ideal for listening to in a darkened room. It's a little bit spooky, but only if you let it be. It's not terrifying, and it's not going to scare the kiddies, but with a little imagination from the listener it captures the atmosphere of cold, lonely castle, haunted by an unseen evil, as student by student is picked off. If you only want to buy one Potter cassette, this is the one to go for. Goblet is the better story but it's really too long when transferred unabridged to tape. Stephen Fry reads very well, unpretentiously and without any signs of fatigue despite the length - at 6 cassettes it's hardly short, but it is worth it if you or your kids have time on your hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enemies of the Heir Beware, 2 Nov. 2006
By 
David P. "A Reviewer" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second book to J K Rowling's classic Harry Potter series is even better than the first book. Harry returns to Hogwarts, where everything is okay untill Halloween night when Filch's cat Mrs Norris is found petrified. On the wall is a message saying that the chamber of secrets has been opened.

Harry, Ron and Hermoine learn the legend of Salazar Slytherin who apparently built a secret chamber within Hogwarts and hid a monster inside. His heir would some day come to Hogwarts, open the chamber and set the monster loose and kill as much muggle borns as possible.

People begin to suspect that Harry is the heir of Slytherin when they learn he has the ability to talk to snakes, which Slytherin was famous for. But Harry, Ron and Hermoine suspects it's Malfoy. With their help, Harry attempts to uncover the truth to who Slytherin's heir is, where the chamber of secrets is and what the monster is. It's a really good book, feauturing some new characters such as the annoying first year Colin Creevy, the iritating house elf Dobby, Draco Malfoy's Father Lucius, Arthur Weasley (Ron's dad) and the new Defence Against the Dark Arts teacher, the famous Gilderoy Lockhart, who fancies himself (not literally, but you know what I mean).

Harry spends the summer holidays with the Weasleys. Despite how poor they are and how poor their house is compared to most wizardring houses, harry is still amazed by it. The Dursleys return also and still treat Harry like dirt; even on his own birthday. Like the first book, the second book is an addictive book to read and this is where Harry's adventures really begins. He has a better way of getting into Hogwarts this year, he returns to the forbidden forest, this time seeking a giant spider and faces a really deadly basilisk and for the third time in his life he comes face to face Voldemort. If you loved the first book, then you'll love this book even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without doubt, the best book I've ever read!, 26 May 1999
By A Customer
With 'Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets', J.K.Rowling has grabbed attention from other, more classical-type authors. In this, the 2nd in a series of books which is rapidly expanding in popularity, Harry Potter once again returns to Hogwarts.
At a dinner party of Uncle Vernon's, Harry supposedly throws a huge cake over the kitchen. Harry is then locked in his room, until one night, he and his faithful companion Hedwig are rescued by Ron Weasley and his flying car.
Back in Ron's house(The Burrow), Harry has the best four weeks of his life. He practices Quidditch, spends time with the Weasley family, and although a disasterous journey by Floo powder takes him anywhere but Diagon Alley, enjoys himself more than ever.
In Hogwarts, things run normally. Snape is his nasty self, McGonagall her strict self, and Hermione Granger, best friend of Harry and Ron, her cheerful and caring self(most of the time, anyway).
But then things become very different. Harry begins to hear the voice. The voice from nowhere that nobody can explain. That even Professor Lockhart, famous as much for his smile as for his magic, finds mysterious.
And then it happens. Colin Creevey, a first year escapes with his life, but he is turned to stone. As is Mrs Norris, a third year girl, and... Hermione.
Who is this turning people to stone? Why? How? Could it be Malfoy? Snape? Crabbe or Goyle? No-one has a clue. And the real question is-who will be next on the list...
This book is full of laughs, and also full of surprises. I strongly recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading, and enjoys a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical Edition, 22 Dec. 2011
By 
Quinn (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This is the 2nd HP Ultimate Edition boxset. This edition is red (UE 1 was blue) with a cardboard sleeve. The box inside is solid and and very well-presented with lovely detailing. Inside there is a hardback 'Creating The Characters of Harry Potter' photo album featuring lots of pictures of the cast and some interesting concept drawings. There is also a paper folder which contains two artcards - Hagrid and Harry Potter - and a digital film code leaflet.
The discs themselves are housed in a separate fold-out dvd set:
Disc 1: Blu-Ray Movie (Theatrical Version)
Disc 2: DVD Movie (Theatrical Version)
Disc 3: DVD Movie (Extended Version)
Disc 4: DVD Special Features (Conversation With J.K.Rowling and Screenwriter Steve Kloves, 16 Mins of Additional Scenes, Sketch Gallery, Build A Scene, Tour of Chamber of Secrets, Diagon Alley, Dumbledores Office, Character Q&As, Character Snapshots
Disc 5: DVD 'Creating The Characters of Harry Potter' Documentary with Screen Tests, Trailers & TV Spots (1. The Magic Begins 2. Characters 3. Magical Creatures 4. Sound & Music 5. The Evolution of Harry Potter 6. Special Effects 7. Growing Up Potter 8. The Harry Potter Phenomenon)
Although this edition is marketed as a Blu-Ray set, please be aware that only one disc is a Blu-Ray which is my only complaint. Unfortunately the UK version does not contain a Blu-Ray extended version of the film which is really disappointing, especially when the US version of this boxset has one. However, the DVD extended version of the film is still great to watch with some worthwhile scene additions. Some of the extras here have been featured before on other Potter discs but the documentary on Disc 5 is new and interesting, offering a fantastic behind-the-scenes look with the cast. There's some lovely sections of the cast reading extracts of the books which is great to watch. Overall I think this set is magical and a wonderful edition for any fan... it's just a shame there's not an extra Blu-Ray extended version of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A more focused and enjoyable film than the first one, 22 Aug. 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets struck me as a significantly better movie than the first Harry Potter film. The first movie was thrilling, giving us the first look with the naked eye of the setting already firmly lodged in the imaginative minds of Rowling's readers, but the fact that audiences are now quite familiar with both Hogwarts and the colorful characters who reside there allows for the plot to exert greater control over everything that happens. Surely, there are little sidetracks along the way, but the tension builds continually toward the almost inevitable conclusion of the film. I will admit that one can find a few weak spots if not holes in the plot, but this fact does little to diminish the overall effectiveness of the film. Just as Rowling's writing draws you in to Harry Potter's world, so does this movie. It's rather amazing to see just how much the heroic triumvirate of Harry, Ron, and Hermione have matured, but they are still the same friends we left behind at the end of Year One. The late Richard Harris is once again the perfect Dumbledore, Professor Snape is even more Snape-ish that before, and Draco Malfoy is somehow even more unbearable. Along with all of the beloved characters we already know and love (or hate), a new set of important personages now enters Harry's world. The conceited egomaniac Professor Lockhart is a fascinating, albeit increasingly annoying, wizard, while Dobby the house elf is a well-animated, exceedingly sympathetic little guy who never fails to liven up the action around him. No one looms larger, however, than Lucius Malfoy, whose dark and looming presence comes through immediately on first sight and lingers until the very end. Important storylines for both now and the future begin to emerge, helping to pave the way for successive films. The special effects are really well done indeed, the music works perfectly, and the movie succeeds admirably in following the storyline of the book on which it is based. I would imagine that young readers are particularly fond of this film, as its variety of special effects, from the flying car to the increasingly exciting action above the Quidditch field to the amazing effects of drinking Polyjuice Potion, offers a lot of delightfully memorable moments.
The DVD features are excellent, much better than those found on the DVD of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. You don't have to jump through hoops to see all of the deleted scenes, there is a fun and informative look at the making of the movie; the tour of Dumbledore's office comes off nicely, and a number of interviews with Rowling, Chris Columbus, the actors and actresses, as well as some of the individuals in charge of creating the incredible look and feel of the movie are quite interesting to watch. A number of other activities, particularly among the DVD-ROM features, offer both adults and children a fun and easy way to linger in Harry's world for some time rather than leave immediately upon viewing the movie.
I haven't gone into detail here about the film because there's really no need to. Quite simply, this is just a great film. No longer are we and Harry oohing and aahing around every corner of the school corridors; the days of innocence and play are over as Hogwarts faces the prospect of closing. The darkness that will continually work its way into the Harry Potter storyline, greatly increasing the depth of even the most familiar of characters, begins in the Chamber of Secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy them all!, 7 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Book 2): Celebratory Edition (Mass Market Paperback)
Theres not much you can say about the Chamber of Secrets or indeed any of the Harry Potter series that hasn't been said already!
I'm 26 and was very weary of all the outstanding reviews these books have got, and after all they are childrens books. Surely I thought it must be too good to be true. However I bought the first book and WOW! I couldn't put it down, I finished it that day!
My advice would be to buy these books right now! They really are compulsive reading. Whether you are an avid reader or have never read a book before in your life, you'll be totally taken in with this books.
I think we owe J K Rowling a lot for these truly magical books (no pun intended)!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2122 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Book 2): Celebratory Edition
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Book 2): Celebratory Edition by J. K. Rowling (Mass Market Paperback - 7 Oct. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews