Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's A Ride To The Sun, And A Ride To Zen
It's A Ride To The Sun, And A Ride To Zen, August 6, 2005

Tim Krabbe, from Holland, is a much beloved writer by his country men and women. His books "The Vanishing" and "The Cave" have become known world wide, and made into very successful movies. He started out in life knowing he had to be a winner. His first love was that of chess. He played chess, he wrote...
Published on 14 Aug. 2005 by prisrob

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok cycling book.
I'll admit to being a mental drifter when I'm out cycling, all sorts of nonsense drifts in & out of my head during long 200km rides, I've always wondered if I was odd or whether others spoke at length to them selves in this way..
It's a decent enough little book about the inner thoughts of a road racing cyclist during a continental bike race. Ok for a wet weekend...
Published 17 months ago by terry2wheelz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good but was expecting a bit more, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
As a cyclist, I enjoyed the book. Perhaps I felt a little let down as others had said it was incredible etc, but I just thought it was good. I liked the histroical references and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Felt like i had just riden 150km, 4 April 2009
By 
Scully Bloke (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
I have not read a book like this before. Tim Krabbe relates the story of 1 race, a 150 kilometer race over Mont Aigoual in France. The strategy and the pain of every km is told in this book. You feel like you have ridden it yourself.

Interspersed in the book is highlights and lowlights of Tim Krabbes cycling career to date, where he recalls incidents of other races he has been in and other famous riders from his era.

Very passionate, very enjoyable. Now I need to go and lie down for a rest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read at all., 6 Sept. 2010
By 
Michael W. Cleveland "wunnspeed" (München, Deutschland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
It's been awhile since I read this book but I remember it to be good, not great. However, it made me laugh in many parts and it reminded me just how much I love living in Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 7 May 2014
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
Fantastic. Just buy it. No thought required. Excellent for cycling enthusiasts and fans of literature. Treat yourself. Thankfully I have reached the required word limit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy read, and a must read for any cyclist., 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
Fantastic read for any cyclist. As a cyclist, I relate to this story written by Krabbe and feel the agonies he describes during races. Excellent humour; excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it is so good - your legs will hurt by the end of this book., 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
i read my copy in one sitting, it took about the same time to read as the epic race it depicted - it was so good - i got cramp in my legs.

five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the very best, 11 Dec. 2009
By 
M. Paul Fournel (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
One of the very best book on cycling. A race seen from inside by a great amateur rider. A must read for racers and cyclotourists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and Pacy as you ride in the mind of Krabbe, 25 July 2002
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
A good time to release this book in it's English translation,
shortly before the Tour de France. For anyone who enjoys
cycling but has always fancied themselves as a bit of racer
then this is a great read and for those who've just turned
30 (like myself) shows that it's not too late to start, it's
certainly whetted my appetite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, but excellent., 9 Aug. 2008
By 
Tricky (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
The book is relatively short at about 148 pages so doesn't take very long to read, but it's still a great book. There's no chapters as such, it's just one big chapter split up into paragraphs.

I'm fairly new to cycling so some of the terms and phrases mentioned in the book are a bit alien to me, but anyone with more cycling experience won't have a problem with it. Although it didn't detract from the book at all.

I've never raced before, so if you have then you may identify with it a bit more, as the author describes his feelings whilst racing, the thoughts going through his head etc.

All in all a great book and definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
Great book really captures the essence of riding a long distance race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rider
The Rider by Tim Krabbe (Paperback - 3 Jun. 2002)
Used & New from: £7.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews