Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's A Ride To The Sun, And A Ride To Zen
It's A Ride To The Sun, And A Ride To Zen, August 6, 2005

Tim Krabbe, from Holland, is a much beloved writer by his country men and women. His books "The Vanishing" and "The Cave" have become known world wide, and made into very successful movies. He started out in life knowing he had to be a winner. His first love was that of chess. He played chess, he wrote...
Published on 14 Aug 2005 by prisrob

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok cycling book.
I'll admit to being a mental drifter when I'm out cycling, all sorts of nonsense drifts in & out of my head during long 200km rides, I've always wondered if I was odd or whether others spoke at length to them selves in this way..
It's a decent enough little book about the inner thoughts of a road racing cyclist during a continental bike race. Ok for a wet weekend...
Published 10 months ago by terry2wheelz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars With Kr. on the Saddle, 6 Aug 2009
By 
Scribbler (Ashford, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
A magical book that makes you feel as if you have ridden the whole race yourself. I cycle a bit and I loved the insights into a racer's mind, as well as all the eccentricities. This will never be mass market, but it has become one of my favourite books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you have to read just one book about cycling, make it this one, 14 Jun 2009
By 
Simon Brooke (Auchencairn, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
This is one of the finest works of fiction I know. Intense, complete, powerful, satisfying. It describes one bike race on one day from the point of view of one rider, and it tells everything there is to know about what it is to be a cyclist. The narrative is almost exclusively in the head of the rider; there's virtually no dialogue. The rider, the bicycle, the road, the hills, the opponents; the race that cannot be won by strength and which must be won through endurance and guile. It's an intensely solitary, obsessive, subtle, wonderful evocation of riding and racing, a jewel like work of exquisite beauty.

If you've ever ridden a bike, read this book. If you've never ridden a bike, read it anyway - you won't be disappointed (but you may be hooked).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cycle race book for non cycle racers, 5 Jun 2009
By 
M. Hillmann "miles" (leicester, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
My heart dropped when a friend lent me a book about cycle racing as many descriptions of sporting glory rather bore me.

This is a book with a difference - all the action is encompassed in one race, the Tour de Mont Aigoual. The sentiments in the story would appeal to any cyclist who has got caught up in the Cyclosportive boom currently underway. But it is not just about bike racing; it paints vivid characters of the 5 contestants in his group; it conjures incidents and personalities from the ages of bike racing earlier in the century when the riders depended on their own resources in tackling really tough conditions; it intersperses the narrative with flashbacks to his own childhood.

This is not an epic book nor a trendsetter, but like some of the best it takes you by surprise and refreshes you.

The pretentious back cover is perhaps worth quoting: "To say that the race is the metaphyor for life is to miss the point. The race is everything. It obliterates whatever isn't racing. Life is a metaphor for the race.

And Tim Krabbe was a chess grandmaster before he took up cycle racing at the age of 30!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Felt like i had just riden 150km, 4 April 2009
By 
Scully Bloke (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
I have not read a book like this before. Tim Krabbe relates the story of 1 race, a 150 kilometer race over Mont Aigoual in France. The strategy and the pain of every km is told in this book. You feel like you have ridden it yourself.

Interspersed in the book is highlights and lowlights of Tim Krabbes cycling career to date, where he recalls incidents of other races he has been in and other famous riders from his era.

Very passionate, very enjoyable. Now I need to go and lie down for a rest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and Pacy as you ride in the mind of Krabbe, 25 July 2002
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
A good time to release this book in it's English translation,
shortly before the Tour de France. For anyone who enjoys
cycling but has always fancied themselves as a bit of racer
then this is a great read and for those who've just turned
30 (like myself) shows that it's not too late to start, it's
certainly whetted my appetite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply brilliant, 16 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
One of the best books I have ever read. Certainly the most evocative sports book. I can't recommend it enough. Short enough to read in one or two sessions you really sense the thoughts and feelings of the rider. Interspersed are some great anecdotes. If you ride a bike or have ever just watched the Tour on the TV you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells it like it is, 12 Sep 2008
By 
Peter Richardson (Newbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
Tim Krabbé superbly captures the very essence of road racing. The language is spare, almost lean and lends a hard, almost bleak edge to the narrative. And as road cycle racing is a lot like a microcosm of life, one can be forgiven for seeing allegories in the book. Krabbé, though, flatly denies that he was doing anything other than relating what it feels like to ride in a bike race. I don't often read books twice, but I very nearly started re-reading this the moment I finished it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, but excellent., 9 Aug 2008
By 
Tricky (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
The book is relatively short at about 148 pages so doesn't take very long to read, but it's still a great book. There's no chapters as such, it's just one big chapter split up into paragraphs.

I'm fairly new to cycling so some of the terms and phrases mentioned in the book are a bit alien to me, but anyone with more cycling experience won't have a problem with it. Although it didn't detract from the book at all.

I've never raced before, so if you have then you may identify with it a bit more, as the author describes his feelings whilst racing, the thoughts going through his head etc.

All in all a great book and definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LACKING IN SOMETHING., 8 Jan 2013
By 
Jeremy Newby (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rider (Paperback)
I'm not sure if quite a bit was lost in translation. I thought the book a bit weird and it didn't meet my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly formatted for the Kindle, 25 Oct 2010
By 
G. Anderson (Kelso, Scottish Borders) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rider (Kindle Edition)
I bought this for my new Kindle and started to read it last night.
It is very poorly formatted. It obviously hasn't even been proof read.
It is so bad in fact that I had to give up reading it. It starts off okay then the mistakes start to appear, then the font sizing starts to go all over the place !!!
Very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rider
The Rider by Tim Krabbe (Paperback - 3 Jun 2002)
Used & New from: 59.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews