Customer Reviews


769 Reviews
5 star:
 (627)
4 star:
 (110)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING !
This isn't my usual sort of book at all but I was far from disappointed. This is an extraordinary story from start to finish with not a boring page or even sentence to struggle through. Without being repetitive (Amazon reviews and the Synopsis tell it all) this is a teenager/adult book starting with a curse on a family which reaches its climax over a hundred years later...
Published on 24 July 2007 by A. Rose

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but no different from the normal version
I got the sample after reading Holes: 21st Anniversary Edition, and saw no difference between the versions. Either way, a good book but kind of lacked character description.
Published 1 month ago by Trish Watkins


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING !, 24 July 2007
By 
A. Rose (Devon & Menorca) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holes (Paperback)
This isn't my usual sort of book at all but I was far from disappointed. This is an extraordinary story from start to finish with not a boring page or even sentence to struggle through. Without being repetitive (Amazon reviews and the Synopsis tell it all) this is a teenager/adult book starting with a curse on a family which reaches its climax over a hundred years later with the two "stars" of the story, Stanley and Zero. After saying this is a teenagers book, I have passed it to my husband, mum and other friends, all of who agree that it is a captivating story for adults as well as teens. I'm sure most readers (of any style of book) can't help but love this one for the very clever story that it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story., 7 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Holes (Paperback)
I love this book! It's style is very simple, but somehow it holds you from beginning to end. It's basically three stories taking place in three different times all in one book. All three are beautifully intertwined.
The main story is about a very unlucky boy called Stanley Yelnats (notice the palindrome?) who is sent to a detention camp for a crime he didn't commit. Every day he has to dig a large hole, under the blazing Texas sun, without much water. He is told that it is character-building, but he soon realises that the camp owner is searching for something hidden in the dried-up lake-bed. Stanley finds tiny clues along the way and eventually works out why he and the other boys are being made to dig every day, and how this ties in with his own family's past, and future.
This is a fantastic story and very well-written book. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holes, 15 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Holes (Cascades) (Hardcover)
I think Holes is a brilliant book. We did it for a reading book in school- I didn't think it would be very good but once I started it I couldn't put it down the flashbacks are brilliant. I love the way it kept reflecting back to the past and the main story line was brillian too.
I love the way the story has lots of different characters and I especially liked Zero. It's a brilliant book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 16 Nov 2006
This review is from: Holes (Paperback)
I read this as an adult and really enjoyed it, I would say its a fast and fun read and if you're an adult looking to get a present for anyone from 10 - 14/15 y/o depending on level of maturity and literacy I'd recommend it. The story is set in a secure youth offenders unit in the US with sadistic jailors - covers issues of literacy/lack of education, justice and injustice, bullying, friendship, loyalty and abuse of power. All sounds a bit serious when put like that, but its very funny and moving and clearly a bit of a fantasy as well as including the above issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and intriguing; a perfect story., 5 Jan 2001
This review is from: Holes (Paperback)
I read this book on the recommendation of my 13 year old daughter and was enthralled by it, as was my husband who read it after me. Stanley is an instantly sympathetic character, and the reader is pulled into his unfortunate situation from the outset. The plot is intriguing and unfolds carefully, whilst the threads of the past are casually thrown in and then unexpectedly drawn together at the end. I found this a delightful tale, told with humour and pathos, suitable for all ages and not just children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holes- a reveiw, 6 Dec 2006
By 
book worm "Deborah" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Holes (Paperback)
Holes

Louis Sachar

When Stanley Yelnats is accused of stealing a pair of trainers from a famous Basketball player and asked to chose between the punishment of going to jail or going to camp green lake he responds by saying "I've never been to camp before." When he arrived at camp green lake he meet Armpit, Z-ray, zero and the rest of the gang. Camp green lake is positioned in what used to be a lovely thriving town that had a lake and everything else a town could want. Now it is a desert where it never rains, the lake is all dried up and boys who have broken the law are sent to dig holes all day to build character, or so the warden says. One day Zero runs away and later Stanley goes after him. They get stranded without food or water and are both convinced it's the end of them both, but then something miraculas happens...

Louis Sachar does a great job introducing his characters and building on their personalities and relationships throughout the book. Also he leaves you with more and more questions every page of the book. This story is well thought out and a great read for anyone. I would highly recomend it to everyone.

Read the book to find out the answers to these questions

Is there really a curse on the Yelnat family?

Is it really to build character that the boys are foced to dig holes every day?

What is on top of god's thumb if anything?

Will Stanley and Zero make it through the desert and survive with the deadly yellow spotted lizards?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holes (Great book), 26 Oct 2003
This review is from: Holes: Unabridged (Audio Cassette)
I have read holes many times and have also seen the film i love the book and would reccomend it to anyone.
Louis Sachar has done a great job on this book and many others i have read such as:
Dogs don't tell jokes,
The boy who lost his face and
there's a boy in the girls bathroom.
I would like to see Louis Sachar and more books in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read It!, 5 Nov 2002
This review is from: Holes (Paperback)
Holes by Louis Sachar is, without a doubt, an absolutely superb text and I could not put it down. The last fifty pages are fantastically crafted and you really engage with the characters. The ending is unexpected and thrilling. Buy it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the very best!, 1 July 2002
This review is from: Holes (Paperback)
Stanley Yelnats is quite a fat boy, who doesn't have an easy life. His family is rather poor, because of a strange bad luck that runs in the family, which is always blamed on the 'rotten, no-good, pig-stealing great great grandfather'. Stanley is not left out on this streak of bad luck- he is bullied by smaller kids and is wrongly accused of a theft.
So Stanley is sent to Camp Green Lake- which, in fact, does not have a lake- a camp for 'bad boys,' where the kids have to dig a 5 foot deep and wide hole each day under the burning sun. Stanley becomes aquainted to the boys, who are not as bad as people say, and to the mysterious 'Zero.' Digging holes is supposed to make the boys see their mistakes and become 'good.' But is that the real reason for their digging?
We are introduced to other characters from the past, and the curse that was set on the town which preceded Camp Green Lake, and it is up to Stanley to find out the past- his family's past- and to correct the curse that was set upon them.
This is one of the best books i have ever read. I was pleased after the first reading, but that is nothing compared to the 2nd time. this book contains little details that make all the difference, and twists that startle you. I recommend this book to anyone over 12 years of age who knows how to appreciate litterature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holes by Louis Sacher, 27 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Holes (Cascades) (Hardcover)
I bought "Holes" because my 10 year old son is expected to read and write a reveiw of this book at school next year.
I loved it , reading it in less than a day .
It is simply written . The characters are drawn so vividly that you can imagine the pain they are suffering .
The story line is uncomplicated , but there is the element of surprise like a good whodunit. And there is humour in every chapter.
Why wasn't I ever given books like these to read when I was a kid?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holes: Adult Edition
Holes: Adult Edition by Louis Sachar (Paperback - 3 Jun 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews