Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for children.
I've only read 8 of the 18 stories so far but felt it worth a word of warning. These are not stories abut magic in a JKR vein but modern, serious, literary, short stories some of which contain strong language. O.K. one was about witches, and one's about a bra fitter which is quite touching, and the one about the man who disappears starts out funny in a Terry Pratchett...
Published on 29 Sep 2009 by Mike the Mason

versus
31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Magic Moments"
Tilly has wild aspirations of becoming a famous opera diva.
Sandra dreams of creating the perfect bra to revolutionize womens' lives and what has become of Professor Martin Presley whose scientific discovery has the worst repercussions ever?
These are just some of the topics explored in "Magic", which is an interesting anthology produced for The...
Published on 28 Jun 2002 by cburtle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for children., 29 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic: New Stories (Paperback)
I've only read 8 of the 18 stories so far but felt it worth a word of warning. These are not stories abut magic in a JKR vein but modern, serious, literary, short stories some of which contain strong language. O.K. one was about witches, and one's about a bra fitter which is quite touching, and the one about the man who disappears starts out funny in a Terry Pratchett kind of way but ends up in socio-political moralising. But Flamenco is purely style over content and the first story is about a child who can't read who kills his new born sister. Then there's the one about a woman who gives birth to a fox which is about a mother's love. Plus there's a lot of effin' swearing.

Why this is for sale alongside Fantastic Beasts and The Tales of Beedle The Bard is a mystery and totally inappropriate.

However, if you like this sort of thing the stories aren't bad. But don't get it as a stocking filler for a ten year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT by J K Rowling! But a great book for older teenagers nonetheless, 4 April 2009
This review is from: Magic: New Stories (Paperback)
I got this for my daughter because it had J K Rowling listed as first author and she'd bookmarked it. Don't be fooled. JK only wrote the foreword.

However, this is a fantastic collection of modern British stories, suitable for adults or older teenagers (not my 11 year old!). I'm glad we got it but find the listing of JKR as first named author to be more than a little strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you could ask for from a collection of short stories., 11 Jan 2005
This review is from: Magic: New Stories (Paperback)
I'll be honest, I only bought this book because I'm a J.K.Rowling fan and I have to have everything she's ever had published (even if it's only a foreward). I wasn't expecting too much from the actual stories themselves. But I was more than merely pleasantly suprised. The stories are wonderful. Each one is somehow very different from the others but they all share an element of 'sparkle' which makes the collection jell rather well. This 'sparkle' is not just magic, though there is some magic (of sorts) in some of the stories, but is rather a property of the characters. Though the stories are all about different people the main characters have, in their behaviour, something which makes them stand out, something which makes them just a little bit special. Perhaps it's this which makes the stories so enchanting; the fact that the characters are close to being average and normal, but have some small quality which anyone might possess, but which almost no-one actually does possess. I hope that makes some sense. If not, let me simply say that the stories are not only very original but are also very well written and very enjoyable to read. I highly recommend this collection of short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Magic Moments", 28 Jun 2002
This review is from: Magic: New Stories (Paperback)
Tilly has wild aspirations of becoming a famous opera diva.
Sandra dreams of creating the perfect bra to revolutionize womens' lives and what has become of Professor Martin Presley whose scientific discovery has the worst repercussions ever?
These are just some of the topics explored in "Magic", which is an interesting anthology produced for The National Council For One-Parent Families. It aims to raise money to support the millions of single parents, like myself, facing financial hardship in bringing up a child single-handedly.
Its forward is by J.K Rowling, Ambassador of this charity and herself a lone parent once caught in the poverty trap.
The stories are kindly donated by well-accomplished authors including Fay Weldon, Sue Townsend and John O' Farrell.
Oozing originality, its tales stretch the imagination and provide its reader with escapism in abundance whilst also supporting a worthwhile cause.
Hocus Pocus this is not. This is British Fiction at its finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splendid book, filled with sparkling stories, 21 Jun 2002
By 
This review is from: Magic: New Stories (Paperback)
I rarely read collections of short stories, but this one attracted me - it contans stories written by today's modern (mostly women) writers, and all of them tempted me to read other works by them.
Each story has magic as its theme - that is not to say the rabbit out of the hat magic, but more often the magic of an emotion or a feeling. My personal favourite is indeed the rabbit from a hat story by Meera Syal!
I can imagine that these stories will not appeal to everyone, but most of them will appeal to most women!
Read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a child's book!, 7 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic: New Stories (Paperback)
Just a word of warning. Great book, but not appropriate for children under the age of 15. Amanda de Chassart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Magic is NOT, 28 April 2009
By 
Risa Scranton "Risabee" (Albany NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic: New Stories (Paperback)
This book is NOT by JK Rowling, she merely wrote a brief introduction. This book IS a fundraising book to support a charity for single parents. Know what you buy before you buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 20 July 2005
This review is from: Magic: New Stories (Paperback)
A collection of short stories by some of today's most popular authors... and a good cause thrown in for good measure. This collection is extremely varied, in terms of both writing styles and subject matter, so there's bound to be a few stories in there you'll absolutely love.
Buy this book - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic: New Stories (Paperback)
Not a bad book so I was told by the daughter of my freind
for whom I bought this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars J.K Rowling's name misleading!, 27 Jan 2011
This review is from: Magic: New Stories (Paperback)
I bought this book only because I though it was Rowlings' and I was completely dissapointed when I figured out what was all about. The stories are so depresing! The only good thing is the charity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic: New Stories
Magic: New Stories by J.K. Rowling (Paperback - 3 Jun 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews