Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curley creates pure magic.
When i first picked up Old Magic, a gift from a friend, I was a little skeptical about reading it. All too many times have I read fiction books about Wicca or Witchcraft and often the lack of realism and accuracy annoys me greatly. Fiction books have long given witchcraft a bad name, so I was somewhat apprehensive.
Once I started to read it, however, I didn't put it...
Published on 18 May 2003 by etherealthrenody

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old Magic
Kate is 15 and a trainee witch. Raised by her grandmother, Jillian, who is a true user of 'Old Magic', she can do small things like sensing peoples moods and moving objects, but not a lot else.

Jarrod is also 15 and is new at school, and Kate immediately knows that there is something different about him when she tries to look inside his head and he feels her...
Published on 15 Aug. 2010 by Sarah


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book that will be loved by all!, 2 Sept. 2002
By 
"rhibee" (Rutland, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Old Magic (Bloomsbury Paperback) (Paperback)
I got the book old magic for my birthday and read all 600 and sumthing pages the same day! It is a brilliant novel with a good mix of magic and romance without being too unbelievable! The story is written in chapters either through Kate or Jarrods eyes which gives us the feelings from both people! Kate is a learner witch who notices Jarrod as diffrent the first day he walks into her school and learns alot about him and the difficult things his family have been through! She discovers that he is under a curse and takes him to the past to change this! It is in the past that there relationship blosoms and danger accures! This is a brilliant book that i would recommend to anyone between 13 and 20!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars woahh didnt expect thatt!, 17 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Old Magic (Mass Market Paperback)
Sooo good had me captivated from the start definately a page turner. The plot is soo unque and loving historical set books this was amazing really best of both worlds. Modern reality that we can relate to and a magical world created by marianne. the i thought i from the I fell in love the with character jarrod not your typical hero. definateley recommend reading it if you like books with romance, magic, adventure and historical feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Magic...New Experience..., 10 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Old Magic (Mass Market Paperback)
I was in manchester when i purchased the book...At first i wasn't sure whether i would like it but i gave it a shot...When i started to read it, i thought it was just going to be a teen lovey dovey story...but it turned out to be so powerful, moving & apparent that i just couldn't put it down...however, if i did have to put it down to do the washing up for instance, i just HAD to read to the end of the chapter. All in all i'm glad that i purchased this book...& i am VERY anxious to buy the sequel... Marianne Curley...Well Done...that comes from the heart...truely..Love your books...Love your style, (of writing) KEEP IT UP...! K*th...! =) peace (=
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual story, well told - a winner, 4 Aug. 2002
By 
K. Newman "krazykmcd" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Magic (Bloomsbury Paperback) (Paperback)
Kate knows she has power, after all her grandmother Jillian is one of power and Kate has learned all she knows from her. Jarrod has just arrived at Kate's school and is eager to fit in with the crowd. Kate knows her place as an outsider, but she cannot ignore Jarrod's evidence that he is just like her, while his powers are far stronger than her own.
Jarrod's family have been through some tough times since forever, and this continues after the story opens. Jarrod feels drawn to Kate too, but cannot believe what she has to say about her, him and the crazy things that go on around him. Here is someone who does not believe in the reality of magic. Kate finds herself repelled by what she sees as his cowardice, perhaps because she has always been different she cannot understand how much Jarrod wants to be popular.
Things could have continued like this forever if Jarrod's family were not hurt again. Then his father tries to kill himself, and Jarrod cannot ignore the possibility that they are indeed cursed. And if there is anything he can do to stop the curse, he will. Jillian tells him the only way to stop the curse is at the root of it, the sorcerer who first cast it hundreds of years ago. They must go back in time, and Jillian can help them with that...
Marianne Curley is an Australian author and the setting is also an Austrailian town. The book as a definate flavour of Aus, mostly from the launguage of the two central characters, each of whom take turns in telling the story.
I liked that Kate knew herself well, even if she wasn't exactly perfect (who is) and was often impatient with Jarrod and where he was in his life. The supernatural aspects were well told and seemed entirely natural, and yet the non-magical parts were equally as well described and completely authentic. Going back in time and the events there were also developed well. The entire text compells the reader to read on. Curley has come up with a unique tale, and told it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wanted the kindle edition, 9 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Magic (Kindle Edition)
Loved her books for years and requested it on kindle ages ago, I downloaded a copy as soon as I was notified it was online, a great book that really does draw you into the story, one of my all time favourite books that first got me into reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Would try this author again, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Magic (Kindle Edition)
Good story line but definitely aimed more at teenagers. Still an enjoyable read and I would try something from this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant,the best book i've ever read!!!!, 31 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Old Magic (Hardcover)
From the minute i opened the book i knew i would soon be finished as its a book you can't put down.Marianne Curley lets you know the characters thoughts and feelings throughout the book.The book contains most elements of writting in one book history,fantasy,romance and life.
It is amust read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Magic, 15 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Old Magic (Bloomsbury Paperback) (Paperback)
I totally loved this book, but I think Curley could have made it a bit longer perhaps? More emphasis on the magic bit, maybe. The title and cover makes readers very expectant, but the text differs from the cover and title. I'm not saying it's a bad read, just an unsuitable title and cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very satisfied, 8 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Magic (Paperback)
I purchased this book for one of my grandchildren for Christmas. After reading through the book I am sure it will be enjoyed time after time by all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 21 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Old Magic (Bloomsbury Paperback) (Paperback)
This book was really good. I got it out of the library because of the amazing cover, but i was not expecting much - I was very much surprised. The style is really good, how she changes between characters so she shows each persons view, the story line is very exciting and not at all predictable. I really reccommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old Magic (Bloomsbury Paperback)
Old Magic (Bloomsbury Paperback) by Marianne Curley (Paperback - 23 April 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews