Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm amazed he can remember them!
Lou Reed has spent much of his time since the 60's in various drug induced states, which in most people would have had an adverse effect on their brain, and particularly their memory.
Not so Lou Reed. In this volume he presents the complete set of his lyrics (starting with the VU and Nico - no Pickwick material), and ending with Ecstacy. How on earth he can remember...
Published on 30 April 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Lyrics book but....
Had hoped that this book would give a little more insight into the origins of each of the songs by VU & LR but unfortunately it is just lyrics from all there songs but still worth while addition to my collection;-)
Published 8 months ago by Brendan magan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm amazed he can remember them!, 30 April 2001
By A Customer
Lou Reed has spent much of his time since the 60's in various drug induced states, which in most people would have had an adverse effect on their brain, and particularly their memory.
Not so Lou Reed. In this volume he presents the complete set of his lyrics (starting with the VU and Nico - no Pickwick material), and ending with Ecstacy. How on earth he can remember them all is beyond me.
Now at last we can all know what Marsha would never touch again. What really happened to Lady Godiva on the operating table. Who was there with Sister Ray. And finally we can unravel the secrets of The Murder Mystery.
The presentation tries to be clever, but the real clever stuff is in the words. Lou plays well with prose, and his puns range from the celever to the just plain silly. "Shaving my head's made me bolder"... Oh Lou!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure poetry, 5 Jan 2003
This review is from: Pass Thru Fire: The Collected Lyrics (Hardcover)
If you're a fan of Lou Reed like I am then this is a must-have. The collection features every lyric Reed has ever written including his work with Nico and The Velvet Underground besides his solo material and although you may previously have been a fan of these songs it is only when you see the words written down and bound together in front of you that you can begin to appreciate them. The sheer ugliness, beauty and life expressed is astonishing and the lyrics flow like pure poetry.
As if the content of this edition wasn't enough, the book itself is lovingly put together. Each page has little quirks such as Reed's own handwriting annotating the texts or the 'teardrops' which cover the pages containing the lyrics to The Velvet Underground's 'Loaded.'
A house is not a home without a copy of this on the coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Lyrics book but...., 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had hoped that this book would give a little more insight into the origins of each of the songs by VU & LR but unfortunately it is just lyrics from all there songs but still worth while addition to my collection;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Errrrm? Its a book of Lou Reeds song lyrics..... If you are looking for a book full of Lou Reed song lyrics, buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CANNOT READ PRINT, 25 July 2013
By 
J. E. Ashe (OLD COLWYN NORTH WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No problem with the lyrics and concept the problem is the download more than 70% of it cannot be read, lines and words are both faint, upside down, the font on these particular pages cannot be adjusted.

Also looks like a photocopy of words that are not flat on the screen.

I want my money back. Please beware
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pass Thru Fire: The Collected Lyrics
Pass Thru Fire: The Collected Lyrics by Lou Reed (Hardcover - 3 April 2000)
Used & New from: 15.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews