Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review on Holly by Mary Hooper
Holly is about a teenage girl who's life is typical of an adolescence life. She has a best friend (Ella), a boyfriend (Adam), loving, caring parents and a well paying job at Ye Olde Tea Shoppe. Infact, Holly is content in her life, that is until the first package arrives. It was wrapped in brown paper, and sent to the tea shop with a brief note enclosed as well as an...
Published on 25 Oct 2002 by Kim

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
I have read almost all of Mary Hooper's novels as they are easy reads. Having just finished one that I found particularly good, I was slightly disappointed with 'Holly'. It doesn't take a lot of time and is good for younger teens but the story was predictable and lacked depth. It did pass the time though and was good, but I wouldn't recommend it. Hooper's other novels are...
Published on 18 Jun 2012 by Ava Vangelo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review on Holly by Mary Hooper, 25 Oct 2002
This review is from: Holly (Paperback)
Holly is about a teenage girl who's life is typical of an adolescence life. She has a best friend (Ella), a boyfriend (Adam), loving, caring parents and a well paying job at Ye Olde Tea Shoppe. Infact, Holly is content in her life, that is until the first package arrives. It was wrapped in brown paper, and sent to the tea shop with a brief note enclosed as well as an expensive Pashmina scarf. However, the giver of this fantastic gift remained anonymus. Initially, Holly believed that the presents were being sent by a secret admirer However, the mystery gift giver does not stop here. Presents continue to be sent to her at the tea shop, and one fateful day she meets this person, and he tells her something that will change her life forever.
I think that Holly is a great book. The author writes so that you are able to emphasise with the characters. The plot is highly adventurous with a twisting plot. I really liked it. It had a accurate view on teenage life. If you like this book, you will also like other books by Mary Hooper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for teens!, 2 Oct 2004
This review is from: Holly (Paperback)
I have read Megan 1,2 and 3 which were all so good, so I decided to give Holly a try and this book was amazing. Its a book about this girl who lives a pretty normal life, her parents are fine, she has a great best friend, a boyfriend and a pretty OK job. But then a package arrives, hopefully from a secret admirer, but soon everything changes and what started out as a few gifts ended up changing her life forever. I think Mary Hooper has once again outdane herself. I started this book on Friday and finished it only two hours later. I just couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holly: Rejacketed (Kindle Edition)
prompt delivery, good seller, would buy again thank you. a ++++++
a++++ a+++++ a+++++ a+++++ a+++++ a+++ a++++ a+++ seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holly (Paperback)
I have read almost all of Mary Hooper's novels as they are easy reads. Having just finished one that I found particularly good, I was slightly disappointed with 'Holly'. It doesn't take a lot of time and is good for younger teens but the story was predictable and lacked depth. It did pass the time though and was good, but I wouldn't recommend it. Hooper's other novels are worth a read though 100%!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: Holly (Paperback)
I love this author for teen readers as she always shows the darker side of the world and what CAN happen. Great education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Just not unique., 24 Aug 2011
This review is from: Holly (Paperback)
Good thing is that its short and an easy read. I read it easily in one evening.

However, the story is unoriginal, and I feel that I have read plots like this many times, and also very predictable.

I do like the style though, very simple and not pretentious at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and emotional read, 4 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Holly (Paperback)
Holly starts to recive gifts to the place where she worked,she had no idea who these gifts were from so when the person who had send them asked her to meet them she was well up for it but who is this mystery person and what do they want with Holly. Read and find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book i ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!, 17 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Holly (Paperback)
I love this book and I would of never of thought that her sectet admirer was her reaL dad this was the best book i have ever read and i loved megan 1 and 2 and i really really cant wait until megan 3 comes out because if its any thing like the other books you have wrote i am dying to read it !!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holly
Holly by Mary Hooper (Paperback - 16 Oct 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews