Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humor serves as effective therapy along with useful tips
I really like Vicki's sense of humor. She lets you know for sure that you are not the only one that has problems with your toddlers. She offers a variety of sensible strategies to choose from. She is not afraid to share in her book some of her embarrassing, angry moments with her own kids; and I find that very comforting. Her book is fun to read with its friendly...
Published on 19 Jan 2003

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Negative & filled with bad advice!
If you're looking for advice on how to make all the mistakes possible with a toddler, then this is for you. None of her kids were potty trained before age 4 (she kept giving up), her daughter got a root canal filling at age 5 because she gave her a comfort bottle of juice so often, she gives out pearls of wisdom like 'if your toddler is screaming for sweets at the...
Published on 17 Dec 2009 by Mrs. G. Longmate


Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humor serves as effective therapy along with useful tips, 19 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Friends' Guide to Toddlers: A Survival Manual to the 'Terrible Twos' (and Ones and Threes) from the First Step, the First Potty and the First Word ('No') to the Last Blanket (Paperback)
I really like Vicki's sense of humor. She lets you know for sure that you are not the only one that has problems with your toddlers. She offers a variety of sensible strategies to choose from. She is not afraid to share in her book some of her embarrassing, angry moments with her own kids; and I find that very comforting. Her book is fun to read with its friendly "girltalk" style that most mums with toddlers can relate to. It feels good to know that other kids say and do things that challenge a mum's sanity and that all of us regret what we say and do from time to time. I also recommend "The Pocket Parent" which has a similar compassionate neighborly tone, as well as personal short anecdotes from the authors... however it has far more "meat" as far as specific bullets of helpful tips arranged in 40 easy reference topics (such as bad words, bedtime, biting, hitting and hurting others, interrupting, mealtime, morning crazies, the gimmes, separation anxiety, and whining). Both books give lots of support, a good dose of humor and sensible advice without being preachy nor condescending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware - humour at large!, 23 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: The Best Friends' Guide to Toddlers: A Survival Manual to the 'Terrible Twos' (and Ones and Threes) from the First Step, the First Potty and the First Word ('No') to the Last Blanket (Paperback)
This book should come with a warning: "Do not read in public!" unless you are prepared to embarrass yourself. The anecdotes are too real and will cause the laughter to bubble from you. If your self-diagnosis has led you to look for a book that would help and you believe that laughter is the best medicine, then I would definitely recommend it.
With a 4 year old and a 2 year old , I have found that it is easy to read, full of anecdotes and useful advice that is sure to put you in the frame of mind to deal with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comfort in times of tantrum and trauma, 4 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Best Friends' Guide to Toddlers: A Survival Manual to the 'Terrible Twos' (and Ones and Threes) from the First Step, the First Potty and the First Word ('No') to the Last Blanket (Paperback)
I really recommend this book to anyone who finds themselves at the end of their tether with a challenging toddler (is there any other sort?!). I don't think there are any startling revelations in terms of childcare strategies, but this is partly what makes her approach so refreshing as she makes you realise you're far from alone and are naturally doing a lot of things right already. She also makes you chortle - a lot, and reminds you of all the things you love about your toddler and their quirks. I also heartily recommend her previous 2 books dealing with pregnancy and the first year of motherhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny, tongue in cheek but, oh so true, 17 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Friends' Guide to Toddlers: A Survival Manual to the 'Terrible Twos' (and Ones and Threes) from the First Step, the First Potty and the First Word ('No') to the Last Blanket (Paperback)
Once again the author has hit the nail on the head of being a parent in the real world not the child psychologists world. With many toddler scenarios, how to deal with them and their outcome explained in detail and with true life examples. For a first time parent it's a brilliant guide and for seasoned parents a good read on what you did and what you didn't do and how to have a laugh about those terrible two's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Negative & filled with bad advice!, 17 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. G. Longmate (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Friends' Guide to Toddlers: A Survival Manual to the 'Terrible Twos' (and Ones and Threes) from the First Step, the First Potty and the First Word ('No') to the Last Blanket (Paperback)
If you're looking for advice on how to make all the mistakes possible with a toddler, then this is for you. None of her kids were potty trained before age 4 (she kept giving up), her daughter got a root canal filling at age 5 because she gave her a comfort bottle of juice so often, she gives out pearls of wisdom like 'if your toddler is screaming for sweets at the checkout - give him some just to avoid embarrassment - once won't hurt', and she lets her toddlers come to sleep in her bed every night because she can't be bothered to put them back in their own beds.

All the advice flies in the face of other toddler advice from people like Supernanny, Baby Whisperer and Gina Ford. The only use this book was to me is to highlight how I don't want to bring up my kids. She even dedicates a whole chapter on how to get your 3 year old into the most academically advanced pre-school. I thought it was extremely negative too - there's almost no positive advice on how to deal with toddlers, only what to expect when things are totally out of control and how to drag yourself back from the edge by taking every shortcut available. A decent toddler book gives advice on how to steer well clear of that edge whilst having a happy loving and secure environment for your child and you. This is not that book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Best Friends' Guide to Toddlers: A Survival Manual to the 'Terrible Twos' (and Ones and Threes) from the First Step, the First Potty and the First Word ('No') to the Last Blanket (Paperback)
As always, she just hits the nail on the head. Smart, sane and funny advice for bewildered parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this woman, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. A. Marshall (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Friends' Guide to Toddlers: A Survival Manual to the 'Terrible Twos' (and Ones and Threes) from the First Step, the First Potty and the First Word ('No') to the Last Blanket (Paperback)
I bought this as I loved Best Friends Guide to Pregnancy. The book does not give advice on how to deal with situations - it tells stories of other peoples experiences & hers. It is good read & has good points that you can take away from it but don't expect it to answer all questions. It is worth reading it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews