Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine romance.
If you love books which transport you to another world (in this case, at least two different worlds in two different time periods), which give you fascinating insights into other cultures, which incorporate a good deal of history into an exciting and completely developed story line, and which introduce you to a main character so charming and intelligent that you hate to...
Published on 22 Sept. 2003 by Mary Whipple

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It never got going
I belong to a Book Club and "The Map of Love" was the latest book we were reading. I started out full of hope, but found it far too wordy - I just couldn't get on with the style of writing. It is not often I give up on a book - I usually persevere until the end. However, on this occasion, by the time I got to about Page 200, I was beginning to give up the will to live,...
Published on 8 Aug. 2011 by Mrs. B. D. Hollidge


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a book for women, 2 May 2012
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Map of Love (Paperback)
Perhaps you shouldn't judge a book by its cover - the one pictured on amazon with this review gives a far fairer view of its contents than the one I started reading, seeming to suggest a love story rather than one of high literary merit garnering all the glowing reviews on the back cover. After a chapter or two, I thought, this is a novel aimed at women, albeit with some well written passages. disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A superb depiction of Egypt from a feminist point of view, 27 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Map of Love (Hardcover)
In this novel the landscape of Egypt is beautifully brought alive when an English lady not only falls in love with her colonial country, but learns so much of its people, she embraces its culture wholeheartedly, and struggles with its politics. Meanwhile we discover this intriguing liaison from a modern perspective, and the reader's subject position regarding Egypt and its colonial past is more keenly challenged. Far more than just a love story, although its narrative is compelling, this is a thoughtful piece of post-colonial writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A love story and an insight into Egyptian society ., 31 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Map of Love (Hardcover)
"The Map of Love" has a freshness in its approach towards Egyptian society and its treatment by Great Britain this century. This is handled with the utmost sensitivity and one feels a compassion towards this noble culture and how it has coped. The very human and romantic storyline that weaves throughout, encourages you to read on. It is refreshing to read of a love relationship between a married couple ,as is one of the themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Map of Love (Paperback)
Best book EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put down, moving and complex, 17 May 2000
By 
V. Emmott "Vee Emm" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Map of Love (Paperback)
I found The Map of Love truly a web of history, emotion and family ties. Very moving. Soueif's descriptions are clear and vivid. The book could've benefited from a map of Egypt perhaps but the genealogical chart and Arabic glossary were both indispensable tools and foundation stones to the reader's understanding of the different intertwined narratives, so cleverly distinguished by fonts and other devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entry into a different world, 21 Oct. 2007
By 
J. Bale "JB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Map of Love (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, which did what the best books do - taught me something and enriched my understanding of the world and other people.
I knew next to nothing about Egypt, but now I feel that I understand the atmosphere in which the characters lived, their syle(s) of life, and above all about the British Empire and its effect on subject peoples. JB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still to be read, 18 Dec. 2012
By 
Heather Oliver (St Albans, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Map of Love (Paperback)
I bought this ages ago, but haven't got round to reading it yet. I'm saving it for our next holiday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favorite novel, 14 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Map of Love (Paperback)
This book is beautifully written and tells a tale interwoven with the theme of love and politics. It is my favorite novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetically beautiful, 25 Dec. 1999
This review is from: The Map of Love (Hardcover)
The Map of Love is a fascinating and beautifully written book, with the ability to send the reader back and forth through history in a painful, exquisite manner.
I long for the peace of the desert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 31 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Map of Love (Paperback)
Why has no one reviewed this amazing book? Beautifully written, utterly absorbing and wholly satisfying. Pick it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Map of Love
The Map of Love by Ahdaf Soueif (Paperback - 23 Mar. 2000)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews