Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars East of the Mountains is a fine read!
It is harvest time in the Columbia Basin of central Washington State where orchards droop with ripened fruit & Ben Givens, recently retired, widowered & diagnosed with cancer, heads east, over the Cascade Mountains into the still wild sage deserts for one last bird hunt with his Brittanies & his memories. A rain-slicked highway & a headlong skid into a...
Published on 29 Mar 2001 by Rebecca Brown

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but no surprises
'Snow Falling on Cedars' had a wonderful sense of place, a tight and intriguing plot, and moments of gentle romantic eroticism. It also presented a fascinating insight into a unique community and its problems. 'East of the Mountains' is a much less ambitious novel. The evocative description is still there, so is the romance, and Guterson still writes genuine detail...
Published on 1 Sep 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but no surprises, 1 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: East of the Mountains (Paperback)
'Snow Falling on Cedars' had a wonderful sense of place, a tight and intriguing plot, and moments of gentle romantic eroticism. It also presented a fascinating insight into a unique community and its problems. 'East of the Mountains' is a much less ambitious novel. The evocative description is still there, so is the romance, and Guterson still writes genuine detail without it ever becoming pedantic. But there is plenty missing.
This is a story of a journey and the plot is inevitably looser, but what makes this novel ultimately unsatisfying is its predictability. For example, we are reminded of the fact that Ben Givens is a heart surgeon at the outset, and repeatedly throughout the book, so when we get to the point where his comrade is shot in battle and he watches the doctor's fight to save him, we know exactly what the outcome will be and why.
The characters too are rather one-dimensional, Givens himself, his wife, the young couple, the girl he meets on the bus and the woman who takes him under her wing, are all consistently good and flawless people. Only the owner of the wolfhound pack is a 'bad guy' and he is bad consistently, even to his own family.
I found certain similarities to Proulx's 'The Shipping News' - the work contains beautiful prose, but overall there are very few surprises and little that could be considered genuine plot. At least Proulx created entertaining and original characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A "pleasant little" book, but a disappointment for fans!, 5 July 2000
By 
cgent@mdiuk.com (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: East of the Mountains (Paperback)
Anyone who is expecting a book similar in quality to Guterson's "Snow falling on Cedars" will be disappointed by this one. Barely more than a novella, this book follows Ben Givens, retired heart surgeon,hunter and terminally ill cancer patient, on his journey back to his East Washington roots to commit suicide.
The book is hugely readable, Guterson's writing flows elegantly (in fact it is hard to put down) and his descriptions of the Washington countryside are hugely evocative. And yet nothing happens! An old man sets out to commit suicide ... and fails; in the process of which he meets some nice and some not so nice people, a few nasty things happen to him and he delivers a baby. Then he goes home.
Perhaps I was expecting too much of this book: his first book dealt with so many different themes after all, and was as impressive as the landscape it was set it in. This one promised a lot, was easy to read but left me thinking "and so..?".
The book has to have three stars if only for its wonderful descriptions: it does not pick up any extra stars for content! I remain a Guterson fan, but hope that the wait for his next book will be more rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars East of the Mountains is a fine read!, 29 Mar 2001
By 
Rebecca Brown "rebeccasreads" (Clallam Bay, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: East of the Mountains (Paperback)
It is harvest time in the Columbia Basin of central Washington State where orchards droop with ripened fruit & Ben Givens, recently retired, widowered & diagnosed with cancer, heads east, over the Cascade Mountains into the still wild sage deserts for one last bird hunt with his Brittanies & his memories. A rain-slicked highway & a headlong skid into a tree changes his plans.
I thoroughly enjoyed David Guterson's writing which flows like windswept wild grasses, because I've roamed those same sagelands & I've known the same sort of world of hurt into which Ben Givens is headed.
David Guterson narrowly avoids sentimentality by allowing Ben's adventures to draw some blood, be scary enough to rouse a hero's lethargy & full enough with unexpressed loneliness, orneryness, dashes of dumb luck & mean spiritedness that kept me walking at Ben's side.
I wanted to hear more of those adventures. Having taken care of our Poppa during his last years of life, I had a very good idea just how valuable Ben's life & death will be to his daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The imagery is almost hypnotic - a very peaceful read, 7 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: East of the Mountains (Paperback)
The plot starts off looking deceptively simple. When confronted with his mortality, Ben Givens decides to take his life in a last ditch effort to take control of his existence. The sequence of events that follow, however, force Ben to re-evaluate his future in the light of past experience which, only at this point in his life, become significant. The experiences Ben goes through in his efforts to get to the point of committing suicide are almost surreal. The sharpness of Guterson's description of his imagery make one wonder whether reality does appear this way when one is fully aware that he is dying. The beauty of this novel lies in the use of external images to enable the reader to come to an understanding of the internal terrain of Ben Givens' heart. An altogether rewarding read with pictures that continue to stay in the mind long after one has put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful, sensitive read - not challenging, 5 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: East of the Mountains (Hardcover)
Completely different from the brilliant, but sometimes stagnant Snow Falling on Cedars. I found this book a pleasure to read. It is also a very quick read, perhaps not challenging enough but nevertheless, thoroughly enjoyable. Ben Givens, surgeon, is dying of cancer - and his focus is on the quality rather than quantity of life when faced with a terminal illness. The book concentrates on the past and present, unfortunately Gutterson's reminising of Ben's past is less strong than the detail and observations he paid to the 'present' - creating a gulf in the standard of the writing. I felt a little disappointed when the book finished - but it is, after all, a inevitable conclusion. Ever since I been addicted to roasted pumpkin seeds - the description makes your mouth water!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gentle, evocative and painfully sad., 1 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: East of the Mountains (Paperback)
I, like many, came to this book through Snow Falling on Cedars, but found East of the Mountains a far more satisfying and compelling read. I find myself, several days on from completing the novel, re-calling, with a slow smile, the sweetness of the love Jack had known in his life, the smell of the apples and his dogged, but by no means cheesily heroic, attempts to complete his final hunting trip. On reflection, I did feel the birth scene in the pickers hut was clumsily handled and a little obvious and i never really felt the emotional connection between Ben and his grandson was as strong as it would have to have been to precipitate Ben's eventual change of plan. However, these critisms do not detract from the simplicity and beauty of this novel. Call me a nostalgic old fool, but it certainly made me cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very human, 13 May 2001
This review is from: East of the Mountains (Paperback)
This book is not about rock climbing but about one's relationship to oneself, about serious illness and the effect the knowledge of such has on one's mind and perception of the world. It is a book about love and care, about loneliness and despair, and about hope and desire. It follows Guterson's previous books and shows, with them, his great insight into the human mind and how one deals with important and painful questions and he does this against the background of the Pacific Northwest, one of the most beautiful parts of North America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another gripping novel from a great author., 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book and would have awarded the maximum 5 stars had I not read Snow Falling on Cedars first! Guterson's first
novel was so good it's proved a hard act to follow. However East of the Mountains takes the reader on a dark but enlightening
journey which I found hard to put down. I thoroughly recommend it to all Guterson fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Less tense than Cedars but deeper exploration of the soul, 19 Jun 2012
This review is from: East of the Mountains (Paperback)
Hard to know how Guterson could match, let alone better, the novel for which he will always be known and admired - Snow Falling on Cedars. This sensibly does not try. This is no multi-layered thriller turning over the pages so fast that the prose and the setting almost flash by before you can absorb their richness. The journey of 70-something Ben Givens, retired cardiologist and widower and now terminal cancer patient, back to his rural roots where he intends to depart unobtrusively from life, is set out with crystal clear precision from the outset. There will be no breakthrough twist to a mind-stretching plot in a tense final quarter. Ben's preparations may be too meticulous to succeed - indeed they are initially too meticulous to convince as this neat, intelligent man plans a journey whose end can only intensify the pain which he is so anxious to spare his beloved daughter and grandson. We know that the plans must go awry but we (rightly) do not anticipate another roller-coaster sweep in the style of Snow Falling on Cedars.
Which leads in its gentler, less bravura way to a deeper and more moving outcome whose lessons sink in slowly and long after an altogether simpler and less dramatic closure. Things - utterly unintended - do indeed happen to Ben and his dogs on this last journey. But nothing really happens. Except that Ben's life story spills naturally and seamlessly into our consciousness and the landscape that has shaped it comes vividly to life with Guterson's trademark command of detail. The craft may appear over-wrought at times - the pin point precision of a Second World War field surgeon's last invasive resort to revive a soldier's dead heart comes to mind - but it never feels superfluous to the human tale or an irrelevant feat of pyrotechnics. The intensity of his love affair with the north-west American forests, rivers and mountains can also overwhelm. But they are the rock of Ben's life and values so that the endless descriptions play their part in revealing the man.
It took me at least fifty pages to connect with the self-absorption of this man (and who would not be self-absorbed in the aftershock of losing his lifetime's love and now close to losing his own life?) and it never compelled me onwards in the manner of its more illustrious predecessor. But it will stay longer and deeper with me - perhaps reflecting that I am almost fifteen years older than when I read Snow Falling on Cedars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 25 April 2010
By 
J. Pedgrift - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: East of the Mountains (Paperback)
Very good book - Easy to read but well written. I think a second reading will reveal even more of the authors feelings. Bit like Grapes of Wrath meets Call of the Wild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5344534)

This product

East of the Mountains
East of the Mountains by David Guterson (Paperback - 8 May 2000)
5.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews