Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Wiseguys, you gotta read...........
Equally as good as Wiseguys is Nicholas Pileggi's 'Casino' (the book that came before the film) Also, try Bruce Porter's 'Blow - How a small town boy made $100 million with the Medellin Cartel and lost it all' (another book that has recently been made into a film starring Johnny Depp and Penelope Cruz)
Published on 4 Sep 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars You're a funny guy....
You know? When you say a product is new, make sure it is. When my copy arrived there were scratches of the sort all over the cover and the back as well. There was also some discolouring and some staining on pages. I was severely disappointed with the product I could even bare to read it.
Published 1 month ago by Pen Name


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Wiseguys, you gotta read..........., 4 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Goodfellas: Bloomsbury Film Classics (Original Novel Series) (Paperback)
Equally as good as Wiseguys is Nicholas Pileggi's 'Casino' (the book that came before the film) Also, try Bruce Porter's 'Blow - How a small town boy made $100 million with the Medellin Cartel and lost it all' (another book that has recently been made into a film starring Johnny Depp and Penelope Cruz)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic look into the life of an everyday wiseguy, 10 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Goodfellas: Bloomsbury Film Classics (Original Novel Series) (Paperback)
Being a huge fan of the film, I was very excited when I eventually found the book on Amazon. Its a fantastically written book and fills in most of the holes the film leaves out. Right from page one, I couldn't put it down, even though I new most of the events that happen in the book, from watching the film many times. I think in this case it definitely helps if you have seen the film, as I found it easier to imagine the places, faces and situations whilst reading the book, particlarly Jimmy (Robert De Niro) and Tommy (Joe Pesci) and of course Henry ( Ray Liotta). The book, in places is written as if Henry is narrating ( just like the film), and its not long before you find yourself reading just like he talks in the film. Like a real wiseguy !! A definite must have for any fan of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodfellas & Wiseguys, 2 Aug 2000
This review is from: Goodfellas: Bloomsbury Film Classics (Original Novel Series) (Paperback)
Getting into the fictional side of the Mafia is well and good, but this book is something else. After stumbling upon it by chance and not realising that goodfellas was about it, what unfolded was a feat not often acheived by biographical stories a book that was a hundred times better than a multi award winning motion picture, the indepth analysis of prison life, of the basket spread betting. You will enjoy this book if you are truly interested in how the whole machine of smalltime mafia units ran, rather than the top of the families as the godfather, an absolute must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still fantastic, 7 Sep 2001
This review is from: Goodfellas: Bloomsbury Film Classics (Original Novel Series) (Paperback)
Since reading Goodfellas, I decided to read several other true 'wiseguys' stories, finding some equally great books. The best of which are Casino, by Nicholas Pileggi (which as you all know was made into the film starring Robert De Niro and Sharon Stone). That Nicholas Pileggi must have met some real charcters during his book writing career ! The other is Blow - How a small-town boy made $100 million with the Medellin Cartel and lost it all, by Bruce Porter (also made into a film starring Johnny Depp and Penelope Cruz) If you liked Goodfellas, you'll love these 2 books. But I have to say Goodfellas remains the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars You're a funny guy...., 20 Jun 2014
You know? When you say a product is new, make sure it is. When my copy arrived there were scratches of the sort all over the cover and the back as well. There was also some discolouring and some staining on pages. I was severely disappointed with the product I could even bare to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely suberb., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant book and far more detailed than the film. Highly recommended. Would consider reading it again it was that good !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really good read, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gives a great insight into the lifestyles of wise guys and their families in the New York mafia society in their hay day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GoodFellas. This was a brilliant book very well written and much better than the film. Worth reading thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT !!!, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodfellas (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved this book , well written could not put it down wish there was a part 2
seen the film several times but the book is a must have

The author wrote this well , looking to read more of this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best gangster book I've ever read! Absolutely excellent, gripping, brutal and witty. A true gangsters lifestyle. Is a must read everyone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodfellas: Bloomsbury Film Classics (Original Novel Series)
Goodfellas: Bloomsbury Film Classics (Original Novel Series) by Nicholas Pileggi (Paperback - 29 Mar 1999)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews