Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A history of Catalonia as much as of FC Barcelona
Jimmy Burns explains just how FC Barcelona has become the symbol of the Catalan nation. Burns takes the reader on a crash course through twentieth-century Spanish history and leaves the reader in no doubt that FC Barcelona enjoys a local status far removed from most clubs. This book is well worth a read, and will appeal to general football lovers as well as people...
Published on 31 Dec 2000

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Burns's book is excellently researched but fails to fascinat
Barca: A people's passion
With a motto like "Mes que un club"("more than a club" in Catalan) it was always going to be a difficult task for Jimmy Burns when he undertook the project to charter the history of F.C Barcelona, one of, if not the biggest football club in the world. Burns previous work, the critically acclaimed Hand of God: The life...
Published on 9 Mar 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. Neil Horner "Northern Muse" (Cheshire,UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not a lot to add, just to echo that this is as much a history of 20th century Spain as one of Barca, especially with reference to the civil war and its aftermath, and the political differences behind the bitter Barca-Real rivalry. Very interesting, particularly for someone with personal connections to the still ongoing Francoist/Republican struggle - more subtle now but still there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 23 Aug 2010
By 
M. Stewart "mamie" (aberdeen scotland uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a well written and easy to read account of all I ever wanted to know about Barcelona Football Club. Made all the information about the recent election of President fall into place. I love the football they play, want to go back to that lovely city and its people, and am happy that I know a little more about the club and its history than when I went the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a classic, 29 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Barca: A People's Passion (Hardcover)
As a football fan with a keen interest in Spain and its different Communities, I bought this book in great anticipation.
The book really comes into its own when it begins to cover the chronology of the club. From the explanation of its beginnings, to the political wranglings of the Francoist state, the football is intertwined with society, giving a profound explanation of why Barcelona - club and city - feels itself as different; what it is to be Catalan; and what it is to neither be from Barcelona, nor from Catalonia, but nevertheless a "blugranita" in the heart.
The only point which stops this book from being a classic, is the terrible editing. Mis-spellings are rife, the incorrect name of a German football club is a prime example. The inexplicable switching of references to the stadium as "Camp Nou" and "Nou Camp" (the former being the correct Catalan word order) are annoying. What really disappointed me though was a misrepresentation of a basic point in George Orwell's "Hommage to Catalonia". This may seem pedantic, but it is a crucial point in Orwell's autobiographical account, and thus harms the credibility of Burns's otherwise exceptional research.
Overall, a very readable book, which answered many of my questions on the club and the community it represents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The peoples passion, 9 July 2009
By 
Patrick Burke "Irish Gem" (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great read.I visited the stadium nearly 8 years ago.I read this book nearly 4 years ago.It explains it historic importance and its commercial success without a club sponsor.Very rare for such a big club.
It has a fascinating chapter about an irish manager before the civil war
During the franco period it was the only place you were allowed to show catalan nationalism.It has chapters on there famous players and managers.
Barca: A People's Passion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Homage to Poor Prose, 7 May 2005
By 
mcsmall "mcsmall" (Larbert, Stirlingshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was expecting to read a book which was comparable to David Winner's excellent study of Dutch football, Brilliant Orange.
Instead of taking the opportunity to analyse the relationship between football and society in Catalonia, Burns resorts to anecdotes and over-long interviews.
A huge disapointment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barca, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a good book if you like Barcelona and you like to now about the history of Barcelona a good book to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but like Barca at present, not quite top of the league, 2 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am about to visit the Camp Nou for the first time and wanted to read up on the background to what is obviously a very rich history. This book was recommended by several guide books and it did not fail to tell me all that I needed to know. The full history is clearly laid out and in a digestible format. I am now sure why people are giving this such bad reviews on Amazon - the only explanation is that they are Real Madrid fans - so do read between the lines of these and have a bit of common sense. This is a non-fiction text, so why people are giving it bad reviews saying that it is 'too detailed' says more about the reader than the book, I fancy. If I had one gripe it would be regarding sentence structure - on occasions Burns uses a rather bizarre object/verb/subject sentence structure which can come across as a little tedious - however, I presume that this is down to him speaking Catalan as well as English so if anything it just adds to the feel of the place! This book was perfect for me - a first-time visitor to this beautiful place - and I feel suitably swotted up now for the stadium tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb- the best footballing book I have ever read., 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Barca: A People's Passion (Hardcover)
I have read dozens of football "books" from dozens of authors, but this surpasses them all. I could write about how well researched it is, how wonderful the photos are, etc... Instead, just buy it. This is simply perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hagiographic, 17 Jan 2010
Lame and biassed, and I'm a Barcelona fan. The only interesting part was regarding how poor Terry Venables' signings were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stylised froth, 4 Dec 2002
By A Customer
If you like your books written in the format of Sunday magazine supplements, all stylised froth...then this is the book for you. I pesonally found this style irritating and did no service to the subject matter. A disappointment. The author should just tell the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barca: A People's Passion
Barca: A People's Passion by Jimmy Burns (Hardcover - 17 Jun 1999)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews