Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This tale will AROUSE your curiosity and delight all!
The Curious Sofa is a sparkling example of Gorey's ability to combine dark humor with an adamantly sexual storyline to create a tale that will cause readers to gasp in shock, yet laugh out loud. A self-procaimed "pornographic work", the story itself is surprisingly subtle. However, the events which take place are so incredible that one wonders if the amusing...
Published on 15 Nov 2000 by tres406@excite.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Laaaaadies porn
If Florence and Emily from Little Britain were to write a pornography, this would be it.

"But we are laaaaaaaadies and we must read laaaaadies pornography you see"

Finally, an Edward Gorey tale that is not wrist slittingly depressing!
The men are all extraordinarily something or other and the women free from all inhibitions.
This is a...
Published 14 months ago by Go Book Yourself


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This tale will AROUSE your curiosity and delight all!, 15 Nov 2000
This review is from: The Curious Sofa (Hardcover)
The Curious Sofa is a sparkling example of Gorey's ability to combine dark humor with an adamantly sexual storyline to create a tale that will cause readers to gasp in shock, yet laugh out loud. A self-procaimed "pornographic work", the story itself is surprisingly subtle. However, the events which take place are so incredible that one wonders if the amusing drawings shouldn't include more. Compromising situations include threesomes, a romp with a sheepdog, and an interesting encounter with two men with wooden legs. Second only to Gorey's classic Gashlycrumb Tinies, The Curious Sofa is not just a sexual tale; it is a true work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Understated decadent horror, 10 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Curious Sofa (Hardcover)
A wryly funny cartoon book: an erotic horror story set among upper-crust decadents, with shades of Hilaire Belloc, Harry Graham, Aubrey Beardsley, and Charles Adams. The Curious Sofa is billed by its author as "a pornographic work" but is told in a deliberately prudish and naive style, with everything happening off-camera. Good introduction to the dark whimsy of Edward Gorey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pornography, Gorey-style!, 18 April 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Curious Sofa (Hardcover)
Although the cover states that this is a pornographic tale, the pornography is left to the mind of the reader, just as his famous tots in the Gashlycrumb Tinies are depicted just prior to their gory (pardon the pun!) deaths. Anyone who appreciates the artist's sophisticated satire of the Victorian gothic will love this volume poking fun of Victorian sexual repression. Even Victorian furniture needs an outlet sometimes, as Gorey well knows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curious Sofa (Hardcover)
I found it rather tedious and repetitive. I bought the Naughty Nineties pop up book at the same time and it was much more fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Laaaaadies porn, 13 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Curious Sofa (Hardcover)
If Florence and Emily from Little Britain were to write a pornography, this would be it.

"But we are laaaaaaaadies and we must read laaaaadies pornography you see"

Finally, an Edward Gorey tale that is not wrist slittingly depressing!
The men are all extraordinarily something or other and the women free from all inhibitions.
This is a deliciously demented read. However nothing is revealed or shown in the illustrations. It is up the reader to see between the lines and outside the frames of the illustrations.
Of course it wouldn't be Gorey if the characters didn't meet a grisly confusing end..

For more reviews visit: www.xgobookyourselfx.blogspot.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I was expecting a bit more, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curious Sofa (Hardcover)
Maybe I am just a bit more sick in the head than I thought, but I was expecting a bit more from this title. I loved the idea of the sofa but have to say this wasn't one of his best books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I tittered, 8 April 2012
This review is from: The Curious Sofa (Hardcover)
You're never quite sure what it is your reading or seeing. Deviant sex or a chaste Victorian getaway?

Both will do me.

Adorably cute yet at the same time adorably filthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorey's ususal stroke of genius, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Curious Sofa (Hardcover)
Not only the drawings are beautiful (which won't come as a surprise to anybody who knows Edward Gorey's work), and not only his anagrammed name is hilarious, but the subject of this book is incredibly clever. All the sexy details are hidden and only alluded to, leaving the readers wondering if the author actually meant "that" or if it's all in their twisted imagination.
Genius. And incredibly funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WEIRD!!!, 16 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Curious Sofa (Hardcover)
This book is a"pornographic work", but nothing is explicit. For example: "On the floor of the taxi, Alice and Edward did something she'd never done before." The drawings show the edge of a couch here, elbows above a screen there, nothing more. Everything is implied, but the meaning cannot be mistaken. Definitely creepy but witty and humorous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sedative sofa, 20 Sep 2007
By 
C. Johnston (newcastle/ UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Curious Sofa (Hardcover)
Unfortunately I bought this book as a present based upon amazon reviews and now i need to find a new gift, there is no way I can inflict this upon a friend. searching through recommendation from stephen fry, Roman Dirge and Johnen Vasquez comics this book kept appearing, and as the reviews claimed it was weird and arousing i thought it might be worth a giggle.... the only "weird" thing about this book is how it was published in the first place. as for arousing, i'd love to know where, the many allusions to sex are more disturbing and repulsive than intriguing. i get that its supposed to be subtle, but as a coffee table book this would not only bore the reader senseless, but frustrate them too. it comes across as an inane book of very bad scribbles, loosely tied together in a very flimsy plot with no real point or reason. as the pages are only illustrated on one side the book is a bit of a rip off (though i was quite glad that i didnt have to read double the amount) i kept hoping it would go somewhere, that something would make me smile, but it was a little hard to with contents and pointless pictures such as "As they drove up to the house, Lucy,the Gilbert's daughter, and Gerald, her fiancee, an uncommonly well shaped older man, emerged from an ornamental urn"
the book leaves you with questions such as "WHY?" running through your head. why the twee writing, why the pointless (not weird in the slightest) pictures, why would you spend money AND time reading this waste of paper?

its fair to say, im not a fan. if you have a developed sense of humour or appreciate wit with your weird; try something else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Curious Sofa
The Curious Sofa by Edward Gorey (Hardcover - 20 Oct 1999)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews