Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demented, horrific and I loved every page of it.
Edward Gorey's take on the alphabet is truely twisted as children who's name begins with each letter dies in some horrible way. Even though it's probably not a book that will be appearing in the classroom anytime soon, it's still great fun to read. I think my favourite is "T" is for Titus who flew into bits, where you see this young well dressed boy holding a...
Published on 19 July 2000 by Bret M. Herholz

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't take long to read....
I was surprised at the miniatureness of this book. Well illustrated and well written, but it took me two minutes to read. I wish I had borrowed it from the library. It's a funny size and shape and doesn't fit on the shelf properly. If you're a collector of Gorey's work, it's wellworth having from the novelty value however, I would have preferred a larger book, as with...
Published 4 months ago by OU student


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demented, horrific and I loved every page of it., 19 July 2000
By 
Bret M. Herholz (Worcester, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gashlycrumb Tinies (Hardcover)
Edward Gorey's take on the alphabet is truely twisted as children who's name begins with each letter dies in some horrible way. Even though it's probably not a book that will be appearing in the classroom anytime soon, it's still great fun to read. I think my favourite is "T" is for Titus who flew into bits, where you see this young well dressed boy holding a package one can only imagine is some sort of letter bomb. Gorey's one of my favourite artist's. His style is original, clever and creepy. Something I could definently see Tim Burton using in a film. There are three books I can recommend to those who are just getting into Edward Gorey's work, "The Epileptic Bicycle", "The Doubtful Guest" and this one. My advice is to start off with this one and get the other ones next. Lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best..., 8 Mar 2006
This review is from: The Gashlycrumb Tinies (Hardcover)
Some of Edward Gorey's work is quite nonsensical, almost like dream diaries (see "The Epileptic Bicycle" and quite a few others), but "The Gashlycrumb Tinies" is absolutely perfect. The drawing is in obsessively minute detail, giving it all a strange clarity, as if the macabre accidents that befall the A-Z of small children are a matter of melancholic inevitability. In several of the pictures there almost seems to be actual movement, as if it would all come to life if you looked at it from the corner of your eye. The blacker-than-black humour to be found here is certainly reminiscent of the late great Roald Dahl, as other reviewers have noted, and this book is clear evidence of the huge influence on Tim Burton.
Like Tim Burton's "Melancholy Death Of Oyster Boy", this is a grim little gem that you will surely come back to on many a rainy afternoon indoors. ("The Doubtful Guest" is also excellent.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An A-Z of children dying..., 13 Jan 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gashlycrumb Tinies (Hardcover)
A rhyming A-Z of children dying ("A is for Amy who fell down the stairs/B is for Basil assaulted by Bears"), with brilliantly detailed, sometimes gruesome, often funny pen and ink drawings accompanying each letter/death. Clearly not the book to be given to the young, the uptight, or the mentally stable, but I loved it. With the same macabre sense of humour as The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy -- Tim Burton, this book is endlessly entertaining. It's pretty expensive at £5.99 for such a small book, but it is hard-cover and it will honestly last you for life, getting plenty of use whenever like-minded friends come round. The drawings look like olden days etchings which adds to the strange atmosphere and morbidity. It's fascinating to look at all the detail of the pictures, and the look of melancholy resignation in most of the children's faces. Also good as a psychological insight into an author who was clearly not normal in mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kookily Creepy....Everyone should own a copy., 21 Mar 2001
By 
Mr. M. A. Denton "Professor Yaffle" (Belper, Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gashlycrumb Tinies (Hardcover)
Well, well, well. What can I say? The Gashlycrumb Tinies is a remarkable book. The combination of humour and horror that these little one liners induce is a joy to behold. "Out-Dahling" Dahl at every turn, Gorey manages to compel the reader to laugh at some of the most grotesque deaths ever to befall a child. His skill as an artist is almost matched by his words, but it is the delicate nature of his sketches that is most satisfying. One of lifes great joys is to watch an unsuspecting reader pick up this book and see their eyes widen by the second page. A true delight and one that realises that children love the horrific more than the twee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C is for Creepy and thats what this is.........., 18 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Gashlycrumb Tinies (Hardcover)
This book is so bizarre but absolutely brilliant. I first heard of this book when I found A-L in a magazine and cut them out, I thought it was so strange that I had to read the book so I did and it was even better, creepy but fun! I recommend this book to anyone with a good sense of humour and a love of good illustrations....enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful take-off of a classical idea, 9 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Gashlycrumb Tinies (Hardcover)
After having "A is for Amy who fell down the stairs, B is for Basil assaulted by Bears" as my desktop wallpaper for a while, I felt compelled to read the rest, and I am glad I did.
This book is beautiful, a truly original and funny work. It only contains 26 sentences but every one had me giggling like a kid again.
It won't take you long to read, but you'll come back to it again and again... a very fine book indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow..., 24 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: The Gashlycrumb Tinies (Hardcover)
I bought this on a recommendation and at first I was a little sceptical about it, but I was completely wrong. This is something I know off by heart (literally) and something that makes me laugh at smile, it’s getting to be in quite a state which is a compliment for any loved book. The pictures are great, but on there own they wouldn't be anything too special, but nor would the words so it's fair to say they compliment each other perfectly and for any fan of Roman Dirge, Tim Burton, Vasquez Gorey's work is pretty much ensured to amuse and fascinate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Gorey, 1 April 2008
By 
S. Pearson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gashlycrumb Tinies (Hardcover)
This is my favourite of all the Gorey I've read, and was also the first I purchased. It is, esentially, an A-Z of children dying, so it may not be to everyone's taste, however, the style and wit with which it is executed is unbeatable. Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melancholy, macabre, marvelous., 10 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Gashlycrumb Tinies (Hardcover)
Simply put, this is an A-Z of children's names with the mode of death for each, one to a page. The accompanying illustrations are classic Gorey, with the child, seemingly dwarfed to near-insignificance by their surroundings, meeting their tragic end. The accompanying rhyme scheme of each pair of pages, coupled with the simple, single sentences, adds an eerie dissonance; a corrupted nursery rhyme, the specter of death lying across childhood innocence.
It's a marvelous work, not gory (other than poor Kate, perhaps), but all Gorey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My kinda' book, 22 April 2011
This review is from: The Gashlycrumb Tinies (Hardcover)
Although a little on the small side THE GASHLYCRUMB TINIES, with it's openly dark illustrations is the perfect addition to any Grotesquely sophisticated book shelf. It tells the tales of unfortunate and somewhat obscure deaths of 26 children running through the alphabet linking 2 letters together in a rhyme..."A is for Amy who fell down the Stairs, B is for Basil assaulted by Bears"...Absolutely Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gashlycrumb Tinies
The Gashlycrumb Tinies by Edward Gorey (Hardcover - 5 Nov 1998)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews