Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best piece of investigative journalism I've read
As with many other reviews I read this book to gain a better understanding of the conflict that has raged for so many years, both on and off our shores. After watching the documentary of the same name, I purchased the book and found it to be informative, unbiased and exceptionally well written. You can truly appreciate the ammount of research and work that Peter Taylor...
Published on 16 July 2010 by lukewatson

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not that good
I thought this was a very good descriptive account of the 'troubles'. However it was a little too journalistic for me. I was looking to gain a better understanding of the political ideology of the Provos, their analysis of the Northern Ireland situation and their attitude to Unionism/Protestantism. A good book, but not that good.
Published on 5 Jun 2010 by Mr. R. J. Baker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best piece of investigative journalism I've read, 16 July 2010
This review is from: The Provos: The IRA and Sinn Fein (Paperback)
As with many other reviews I read this book to gain a better understanding of the conflict that has raged for so many years, both on and off our shores. After watching the documentary of the same name, I purchased the book and found it to be informative, unbiased and exceptionally well written. You can truly appreciate the ammount of research and work that Peter Taylor has put into this book and I feel that the style in which he interjects the narrative with interviews and accounts from eye witnesses, IRA Volunteers, Republican and Loyalist politicians as well as accounts from British Intelligence agencies at the time. A brilliant study and I look forward to reading the additional two books in support of this one, 'Brits' and 'Loyalists'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating and authoritative study, 15 Dec 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provos: The IRA and Sinn Fein (Paperback)
I bought this book because I wanted to understand how the conflict in N.Ireland could have continued for so long. Peter Taylor is an excellent researcher, broadcaster and writer and his experience of the conflict is second to none. His book is not just another plain factual and political account of the conflict, but about real people. To me, the most disturbing thing about the book is that for the first time I really understood just how easy it was for people, who would otherwise have led normal lives, to become engaged in activities that they would never have contemplated in normal circumstances. This book is an absolute must for anyone wanting really to understand why there has been such conflict and why it has continued for so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive History Of The IRA, 21 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Provos: The IRA and Sinn Fein (Paperback)
Peter Taylor's TV series were highly impressive and his books even better. He's a courageous reporter who has managed to track down many of the leading provos and, most importantly, got them to relate their history in as revealing and provocative a way as possible. Taylor is always quick to detect subtexts within his history and his detachment and determination to uncover the truth are admirable. There are, of course, countless partisan accounts of the Troubles but this manages to sound balanced without ever becoming bland. He is to be congratulated for one of the best books yet written on this difficult subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provos: The IRA and Sinn Fein (Paperback)
Excellent description of an extremly difficult subject. The author clearly has a vast understanding of the conflict and imparts this is an unbiased way (clearly expressing when it is his opinion or when its proven fact). A great introductory read into the complex world of northern Ireland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contains a unique inside dimension to the account of events, 15 May 2009
By 
Pablo (Co. Down/ Navarra) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provos: The IRA and Sinn Fein (Paperback)
The strength of this book is the author's extensive interviews with IRA members, who give their feelings and opinions on a wide range of issues at numerous key points between the 1960s and 1998. Near the start of the book we have republicans talking openly and honestly about their background and why they joined the movement. Thus follows a history of the provisionals in which the players are real human beings rather than demonised psychopaths, and we thus gain insights into their doubts, fears, regrets, motivation and morale. Interesting inside accounts range from an IRA man targeted for recruitment by British Intelligence to the republican experience of the Milltown cemetery attack. Coverage of the hunger strikes is detailed and thorough and accounts of the negotiations between the British government and the IRA include hitherto unpublished IRA minutes of secret meetings. Taylor is not afraid to ask the IRA about their attitude to killing, and bombings such as Bloody Friday in Belfast. Their responses are here, so you can judge for yourself. The principal weak point of the book is the account of the split in the IRA which gave birth to the provisionals. This important development is incompletely and unclearly treated and, significantly, there are no Official IRA voices to provide a balance of views on the split.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent history of the modern IRA., 9 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Provos: The IRA and Sinn Fein (Paperback)
Many journalists parachute into an issue, write their byline, and disappear when the next round of flack begins. Not so Peter Taylor, who in staying with Northern Ireland for almost a generation is a reporter who gives journalism a good name. He has not only produced substantial television series on both the IRA and Loyalist terroristism, but is aware that despite the evident advantage of using television to explain life's complexities many of the subtleties may need to be further developed in prose. This is not however a book of the television series, but stands on its own right as a deeply researched analysis of not just the history of the IRA but of the political mindview within which they work. Taken in conjunction with his equivalent and more recent book on Loyalist terrorists Peter Taylor has ensured that no one in Britain (or Ireland) can now excuse their lack of understanding by maintaining that no-one has seen fit to provide a suitably accessible study of the protagonists. If you want to know why the political extremists have come in from the cold and seem now engaged in political rather than military campaigns you can do no better than read Peter Taylor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking good read, 25 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provos: The IRA and Sinn Fein (Paperback)
Well for years i must admit the irish troubles were something that was constantly on the news and i had only one view a british one of course,and i could not understand why people would want to join the IRA and become a terrorist,well after reading this book i do now,and wether or not you agree with the provo movement or not you must read this book at least to understand how and why people did join the movement,remarkably the british army were recieved in NI as saviours by the catholic community but eventually were seen as oppressors of them,so i recommend this book highly and try to read it with out prejudice but with understanding,peter tayor has done a fantastic job here i am currently reading Loyalist by the same author and then on to the Brits hopefully they will prove every bit as good as this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and compelling, 16 Feb 2005
This review is from: The Provos: The IRA and Sinn Fein (Paperback)
A comprehensive history of the IRA from the days of Patrick Pearse in 1916 right through to the Good Friday Agreement of 1998. For someone like myself that had little prior knowledge of the Republican Movement in Ireland this book offered a straightforward account of the Provisional IRA and Sinn Fein's actions, policies, and philosophy, during the troubles in Northern Ireland. An excellent starting point for anyone wanting to understand the turbulent nature of Ulster politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written, 20 Jun 2014
By 
M. D. Watts "Mike" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Provos: The IRA and Sinn Fein (Paperback)
This is a well written and researched book. I learned a great deal about the troubles in Ireland and found that I could not put this book down..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... as we may think the Irish situation can be tiresome, this book certainly gives it a certain, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As much as we may think the Irish situation can be tiresome, this book certainly gives it a certain readabilty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Provos: The IRA and Sinn Fein
The Provos: The IRA and Sinn Fein by Peter Taylor (Paperback - 24 Sep 1998)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews