Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


144 of 150 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book could save my relationship
I read this book first time years ago and thought it to be one of the must books to have in ones book shelf to get back to time and time again. Now I am in a situation where my long term relationship is in great difficulties. For some reason I started reading this book and it was shocking to see how typical our situation is. It is a real eye opener of how people get...
Published on 18 Jan 2006

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Over rated
This book is very good at emphasising how important emotional intelligence is, and after hearing all the evidence the author gives, it is hard to disagree. However there is absolutely no information on how we can improve our eq at all. I consider myself to be someone in need of a higher eq. listening to this just made me think yeah I wish I had some of that, but I don't...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. C. J. O'hanlon


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not so great, 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emotional Intelligence: Why it Can Matter More Than IQ (Mass Market Paperback)
Not a great book, Dont go for it , cozz you might feel tired reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best introduction available to Emotional Intelligence, 25 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Emotional Intelligence: Why it Can Matter More Than IQ (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the book which put EQ on the map. It makes a good case for what Emotional Intelligence is, why it's important, and some of the brain science backing it up (along with scientific support for NLP concepts like rapport). No clues given as to how to develop it though!
I found the book readable and fascinating (though as I teach EQ development courses I have a professional interest). It's a good summary of much of the research in this area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emotional Intelligence: Why it Can Matter More Than IQ (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm sure its excellent but I haven't finished it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars balance, 3 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emotional Intelligence: Why it Can Matter More Than IQ (Mass Market Paperback)
Emotional intelligence, what exactly does that mean? Read the book and find out just how important it is to know about your emotions, their effect uppon you and others. You probably have not registered just how emotionally driven we are. Advertising companies know exactly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everyone needs to read this book, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating insight into today's society and where we're heading.

Interesting theories and insights on how we can improve ourselves and our working and emotional relationships and what we can teach our kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book, everyone should read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lifechanging, 8 Dec 2008
This review is from: Emotional Intelligence: Why it Can Matter More Than IQ (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a wonderful book that will open your mind to a new way of thinking. Enjoy the lovely stories and think about what is truely important in your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Drier than the Atacama desert, 23 Oct 2011
By 
K. White (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Emotional Intelligence: Why it Can Matter More Than IQ (Mass Market Paperback)
Goleman rambles on for page after page, adding endless unnecessary detail, jumping at every conceivable opportunity to reference academics and researchers and psychiatrists and social psychophysiologists, and just about anyone who has ever said anything vaguely related to his current topic of discourse. In a way this is to be commended - Goleman leaves no stone unturned and I can hardly fault him for his research. Unfortunately, it all too often feels like wading through a pit of gravel, rigorously inspecting every small stone and particle of sand. This book could not be written in a less engaging way if it were done so by a machine - which is ironic given that its theme is human emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emotional Intelligence: Why it Can Matter More Than IQ (Mass Market Paperback)
Enjoyable and a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Important the IQ!, 24 Aug 2008
This review is from: Emotional Intelligence: Why it Can Matter More Than IQ (Mass Market Paperback)
This book explores how Emotional Intelligence is a key factor in determining personal as well as professional success. Goleman explains how individuals who are able to tap into self-awareness, self-discipline and empathy are usually happier, healthier and more successful with personal and professional relationships than individuals who are unwilling or unable to learn what motivates people.

Goleman argues that Emotional Intelligence can be learned at any age and is well worth the effort. This book is well written and has useful and powerful tools to interact with others and to understand oneself better.

The Re-Discovery of Common Sense: A Guide To: The Lost Art of Critical Thinking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Emotional Intelligence: Why it Can Matter More Than IQ
Emotional Intelligence: Why it Can Matter More Than IQ by Daniel Goleman (Mass Market Paperback - 12 Sep 1996)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews