Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you
great book thanks. really enjoyed it was excellent reading and very enjoyable,would recommend it to anyone who has an interest in the military.
Published 5 months ago by Mr. Mark M. Munro

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save Your Money...
I went through basic with Chris Jennings in ORANGE with the 1er REC ,his tale is full of inaccuracies about the people he did basic training with (he even uses their real names for some odd reason and others did not even exist) , people he said deserted during basic did not , his own achievements are highly over exaggerated and so on ,although his account of treatment of...
Published on 13 Dec 2006 by Rotor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save Your Money..., 13 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Mouthful of Rocks: Through Africa and Corsica in the French Foreign Legion (Jennings) (Paperback)
I went through basic with Chris Jennings in ORANGE with the 1er REC ,his tale is full of inaccuracies about the people he did basic training with (he even uses their real names for some odd reason and others did not even exist) , people he said deserted during basic did not , his own achievements are highly over exaggerated and so on ,although his account of treatment of recruits was fairly accurate , basic was done in Orange which was very unusual and I think the 1er Rec were determined to turn the recruits out better than Castel...at any cost, I doubt Jennings could ever visit France or Legion reunions without repercussions. .....save your money ,"Marching With The Devil" by David Mason is more accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How much can the man complain, 18 Jan 2005
This review is from: Mouthful of Rocks: Through Africa and Corsica in the French Foreign Legion (Jennings) (Paperback)
I have read several books in relation to La Legion Entragere, and my own father served with the Artillery for the French Regulars in 1960 and I have never heard one man complain so much in my life as Mr Jennings in this book!!! Hats off to Mr Jennings on joining the Legion in the 1st place, but the man must have known what he was in for before he went in! Personally, my advice is read either Simon Murray's book or Bill Paris'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 30 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Mark M. Munro "sherpamark" (Scotland U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mouthful of Rocks: Through Africa and Corsica in the French Foreign Legion (Jennings) (Paperback)
great book thanks. really enjoyed it was excellent reading and very enjoyable,would recommend it to anyone who has an interest in the military.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Memoirs of a deserter, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Very negative account of one man's experience in the French Foreign Legion in the 1980s.
It does not (as the synopsis claims) dispel myths and truths, it is one man's view, a 200 page complaint which seems (at times) to mix fact with fiction.
Every soldier I've ever met has liked a moan, but Mr Jennings takes it to a whole new level while not wanting to accept any responsibility for the situations he finds himself in - so in the end he deserts.

Save your money, there are numerous first hand accounts of life in the French Foreign Legion and every one (that I have read) gives a more balanced, insightful, mature and honest(?) depiction of the experience.

If you are looking for a fascinating and well written chronicle then try 'Legionnaire' by Simon Murray, it may have been published in 1978 (and recounts his participation in the 1960s), but it is still (probably) the best FFL memoir in print.
For those of you who want something more up to date, I would recommend the following authors: Tony Sloane, Gareth Cairns, Alex Lochrie and Evan McGorman. 'Diary of a Legionnaire' (Cairns) and 'The Naked Soldier' (Sloane) are fairly recent accounts of young men joining the parachute regiment; 'Fighting for the French Foreign Legion' (Lochrie) is fairly unique in that it gives the perspective of a man who joined in his late thirties, it is also (regrettably) very short. Finally, `Life in the French Foreign Legion' (McGorman) serves more as a detailed guide on how to join and what life is like if you do. I have also read 'The Making of a Legionnaire' by Bill Parris, it is OK, way better than Jennings (or Salazar), but is nowhere near as complete or informative as the tomes I have recommended.
For the record: I have not read 'Marching With the Devil' or 'Legionnaire MacKenzie'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed review, 2 July 2012
This review is from: Mouthful of Rocks: Through Africa and Corsica in the French Foreign Legion (Jennings) (Paperback)
I have mixed feelings on this book. If your interested in the French Foreign Legion then yes it tells you what he did and how he did it BUT and its a very big BUT. This guy can moan for England and he does, he does things that are down right degrading and I have to say I'm not sure how much to believe is real and what is his interpretation of what went on.

Its an OK read and I did kind of enjoy it but he lets the UK down with his antics and attitude, just another moaning Brit I hear them saying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mouthful of Rocks...., 4 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I joined the 'Legion at the same time as Christian. I first met him at Aubagne, Marseille, during initial selection. We met again later, when I'd been posted to the 13eme DBLE in Djibouti, and he arrived with the 2nd REP for a tour of duty.

Several years after returning to the UK I visited Cristian at his home in North London, and had the pleasure of meeting his sister, Perpetua, as mentioned in his book.

Many books have been published about the 'Legion, but most have fallen into the trap of seeking in some way to glorify what is in essence a legitimate mercenary army. "Mouthful of Rocks - Through Africa and Corsica in The Fench Foreign Legion" is an honest and frank account of what 'Legion life was realy like in the 80's, what he describes is what really went on.

If you're thinking of joining then read this book. When I read it it reminded me of life in the 'Legion, my own experiences were as varied as his - some bad - many good, but all unforgetable. Ten-out-of-ten for telling it how it really was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating and highly readable insight, 1 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mouthful of Rocks: Through Africa and Corsica in the French Foreign Legion (Jennings) (Paperback)
Christian Jennings' account of life in one of the elite parachute regiments of the French Foreign Legion is absolutely compelling. Jennings, an ex-Para in the Territorial Army, gives the reader a remarkable insight into the day to day lives of the most legendary soldiers in the world. His story is one of senseless brutality and violence, high adrenalin excitement and danger, fear, boredom, desertion, alcoholism and camaraderie. His anecdotes are hilarious, particularly those of his friend from the Royal Marines. Definitely not for the faint of heart, "A Mouthfull of Rocks" is a brutal, relentless but honest confession from a man who knows how to tell a cracking story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripping Yarn, in your face stories..., 7 April 2007
This review is from: Mouthful of Rocks: Through Africa and Corsica in the French Foreign Legion (Jennings) (Paperback)
Excellently written account of a young English Public Schoolboy's time in the French Foreign Legion. Even if only a handful of the stories are true (and he admits to lying in some of his stories to others and the endnote says he was done for umpteen counts of deception and fraud)- who cares? They are by turns gripping, horrific and often times hilarious. Nothing spared. Particularly liked the one about the baboons and the pigs...

Read and be prepared for the worst (and the best.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - BUY THIS BOOK! (but.................), 6 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mouthful of Rocks: Through Africa and Corsica in the French Foreign Legion (Jennings) (Paperback)
A well written and exciting book about one Englishman's experiences in the French Foreign Legion. This brings to life the modern Legion, updating for English readers what they may have first read about in Simon Murray's Legionnaire. If I had one complaint it would be that Mr Jennings didn't complete the five years and deserted. But who am I to judge? He's got more guts than I'll ever have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 7 Feb 2007
This review is from: Mouthful of Rocks: Through Africa and Corsica in the French Foreign Legion (Jennings) (Paperback)
This is the best book I have ever read. I have lost count of the number of copies I have had to buy after lending out my copy to friends, and them being unwilling to part with it later on!

Excellent read....boys own stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mouthful of Rocks: Through Africa and Corsica in the French Foreign Legion (Jennings)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews