Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference source, be aware there are some pictures of naked people
A great book for reference. To be honest I only bought it because it was the book Jack Vetriano used to paint The Singing Butler! There are some pictures of nudity, I have had to put it out of reach of the children which is a shame because it is a helpful guide.
Published 14 months ago by Holker Asefi

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, but some really strange poses
This is the book that Vettriano is reputed to have used for his early works, when he couldn't afford to pay people to model for him. What I like about this book is that there is a scale bar on each page, which enables parts from different poses to be scaled up to match others so that more poses can be created from combining others. I've not tried it, and it does involve...
Published on 19 July 2011 by joani m


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, but some really strange poses, 19 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrator's Figure Reference Manual (Hardcover)
This is the book that Vettriano is reputed to have used for his early works, when he couldn't afford to pay people to model for him. What I like about this book is that there is a scale bar on each page, which enables parts from different poses to be scaled up to match others so that more poses can be created from combining others. I've not tried it, and it does involve scanning images in and then scaling them up or down on your computer, so I don't know how easy it is to do, but I like the idea.

The book is not the latest edition, but even so, there are some poses which are, quite frankly, odd. For example, there's a page of golfing poses - the golfer is wearing plus fours! Some of the poses and expressions are so extreme as to be laughable. There is a section in the back of what are meant to be 'sexy' poses - the whole section is entitled 'Cheesecake' - and is all female! Draw your own conclusions.

Anyway, not quite such a useful book as I had hoped. Spoilt mainly by innapropriate costume and extreme postures and expressions. I would say possibly a third of this book has any real use for an artist or illustrator today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrator's Figure Reference Manual (Hardcover)
I got this after finding that Vettriano used it for the Singing Butler painting, much criticised at the time for using it as a major reference, as he said, "It's what it's for". Fair play to him, it's useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mixed bag, 2 Mar 2014
By 
J. Hayes "widescreen fan" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrator's Figure Reference Manual (Hardcover)
There are many poses here that are frankly useless, as are some of the camera angles. Also, many of the potentially helpful poses are rendered less so because the model is wearing dark or black clothing, making the folds and creases in the cloth next to invisible - which is my main complaint, actually. Where the pose is sensible and the clothing clearly defined, this book is invaluable. Didn't find the nude stuff particularly helpful, though, as the male model has no muscle definition at all, and both him and the female model are posed and photographed in too many pointless ways. Ignore the book's Jack Vetriano connection and don't pay more than twenty quid for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference source, be aware there are some pictures of naked people, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrator's Figure Reference Manual (Hardcover)
A great book for reference. To be honest I only bought it because it was the book Jack Vetriano used to paint The Singing Butler! There are some pictures of nudity, I have had to put it out of reach of the children which is a shame because it is a helpful guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrator's Figure Reference Manual (Hardcover)
some good ideas on first 2 pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Figure Reference, 23 May 2011
By 
C. S. Bentham (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Illustrator's Figure Reference Manual (Hardcover)
I had another edition of this which is vastly reduced. I've been looking for it for quite a while. Its so hard to get now i've seen it going for over 90. so I did manage to get a bargain. I'm not selling though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Illustrator's Figure Reference Manual
The Illustrator's Figure Reference Manual by Michelle Stamp (Hardcover - 27 Aug 1987)
Used & New from: 14.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews