Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Marks for the Walkers
This is one of the very best novels Graham masterton has written. Entertaining, scary, ingenious, tense and very very scary. Masterton has always been the master of weaving legends and myths into his novels and here he incorporates the Pied Piper.
Fantastic and this would make an excellent movie.
Published on 5 Sept. 2007 by Bagpuss

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars pap!
nah, very good reviews, interesting subject matter and he touches on some fascinating areas, but goes into no detail, finished it but under duress. NoT a patch on Herbert (early), Brian Lumley or Barker. I've had more terror and sleeples nights from my 2 year old son!!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME
Published on 19 Nov. 2008 by Mr. Pj Armstrong


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Marks for the Walkers, 5 Sept. 2007
By 
Bagpuss (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Walkers (Paperback)
This is one of the very best novels Graham masterton has written. Entertaining, scary, ingenious, tense and very very scary. Masterton has always been the master of weaving legends and myths into his novels and here he incorporates the Pied Piper.
Fantastic and this would make an excellent movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One not to Miss, 12 Sept. 2002
By 
Ivor Goligher JNR (Belfast, Antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Walkers (Paperback)
Any fan of horror should buy this whether you prefer Stephen King, Dean Koontz, James Herbert, Bentley Little or Stephen Laws. Masterton weaves a nightmare out of thin air and leaves you short of breath with the turn of every page. You will enjoy this book, you will become a fan of Masterton and you will sleep with the light on. I Kid You Not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly original - read it!, 29 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Walkers (Paperback)
The picture on the cover first attracted me to this book, then the synopsis on the back attracted me even more - and it turned out to be excellent. The way the writer builds up tension and feelings of fear when the characters travel through dark corridors is superb, and I found it difficult to stop reading it. If you like horror, this is absolutely ideal; there are some gory bits, and the idea is just so original, it's difficult not to like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterful tale from The Dark Horse of Horror, 6 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: Walkers (Paperback)
There are many big names in horror fiction; King, Koontz, Little, Lumley, Herbert etc. Together, through thousands of pounds worth of marketing, they stand in a bright and arresting lime light.

Lurking in the shadows of these men, hoarding tales which are often darker, and on occasion better, is Graham Masterton.

He writes like no other, and is far scarier than the big names in horror. How he is not more widely recognised is beyond me.

He has written a lot of books (50+), and having read a handful I've noticed he can be a little hit or miss. Tengu and Black Angel were not good at all. But every now and again I find an absolute gem.

Walkers is one of these.

So original, so creepy, so bloody - it out-does anything Herbet and Little have done on an imaginitive scale. After reading the blurb, I expected Walkers to be something akin to The Shinning. Not so. It is a thriller, rather than a slow burning, bump-in-the-night type of story of the Stephen King school. There are some real edge of the seat moments; like when our protagonist is being chased by cursed maniacs that are fused with stone, swimming through the pavement like sharks at hunt.

This is a good place to start if you're new to Masterton. If you regard yourself as a horror fan, then you need to be aware of this man, otherwise your missing out on a writer who has original vision, and a real knack for scaring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First scarey book i have ever written, 7 Jan. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walkers (Paperback)
I'm not a big horror fan tbh the reason behind this is that i just dont get scared that easily. Tried all the big names & no fear even comes to mind.....i was starting to think i was immune.
Then a friend leant me a copy of walkers & two things happened.
1. was i could not put it down
2. I could'nt sleep......and i have to admit even i was drawn into this book.

If you like being scared read this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars pap!, 19 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Walkers (Paperback)
nah, very good reviews, interesting subject matter and he touches on some fascinating areas, but goes into no detail, finished it but under duress. NoT a patch on Herbert (early), Brian Lumley or Barker. I've had more terror and sleeples nights from my 2 year old son!!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horror galore, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walkers (Paperback)
A typical Masterton horror. Completely bonkers, but a good unputdownable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great scares, a brilliant read!, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walkers (Paperback)
A really good scarey book, I was scared to death, when I read this. Well written & fabulously thought out. Loved it. A must for any scarey story type horror fan. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this book, 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walkers (Paperback)
i lent this book off a friend and just had to buy it i couldnt put it down it had mee hooked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walkers
Walkers by Graham Masterton (Paperback - 19 Sept. 1991)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews