Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cookery Book Ever?
This book has changed the way that I cook (as a food lover) for the following reasons;
1. The recipes are fast,and easy to follow - and most importantly they work. If you are making dinner 90% of these recipes can be done a few hours before, thus giving you time to socialise with your guests rather than being a slave to your kitchen, then simply finish them off...
Published on 27 July 2002 by S. A. Hutchinson

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book okay but not the advertised quality.
Purchased a 'very good quality' copy, turned out to be smeared with cooking muck. In fairness they did refund both the book and all postage costs. - the one star is for the customer service.
Published 9 months ago by Mrs H R Beckett

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cookery Book Ever?, 27 July 2002
By 
S. A. Hutchinson "shiveringgoat" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blanc Vite: Fast Fresh Food from Raymond Blanc (Paperback)
This book has changed the way that I cook (as a food lover) for the following reasons;
1. The recipes are fast,and easy to follow - and most importantly they work. If you are making dinner 90% of these recipes can be done a few hours before, thus giving you time to socialise with your guests rather than being a slave to your kitchen, then simply finish them off before serving. This is why this book is so practical.
2.The standard of the end results are better than most restaurant food.The recipes take you to another level of cookery with interesting/radical combinations of ingredients and how beautiful the dishes taste/look on the plate.
3.As Raymond Blanc never trained under a rigid master chef, in my opinion, he was allowed to indulge his curiosity far more than his competitors, therefore creating dishes of real imagination, this in my opinion makes him stand above the rest of his competition.
4.There are many Vegetarian dishes in here and I admire Raymond for devoting time to this as it is sadly neglected by most other contemporary chefs.(roasted ceps with Jerusalem artichokes- WOW!)
5.There are suggestions for breakfasts (scrambled egg and pesto), tips on how to make the perfect poached eggs, sandwich suggestions, and of course mains, with superb deserts (grilled figs with raspberries and port-amazing!, and the one that all my friends adore - confit of plums in red wine and vanilla).
Hope you find this review helpful,and share my enthusiasm - you won't be disappointed..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, healthy, delightful recipes and low GI too!, 13 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Blanc Vite: Fast Fresh Food from Raymond Blanc (Paperback)
I've bought a lot of cookbooks over the years, but the one I still love best is Blanc Vite which I've had as a treasured possession since about 2000. I'm no chef, so these fast and easy recipes are a delight. They also adhere fairly well to a low GI diet, even though he doesn't make a huge deal out of it. I'd recommend it to anyone considering that dietary approach or who just wants great quality food fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In My Top 5, 15 Feb. 2009
By 
S. Lumley (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I love good food and enjoy cooking so my shelves heave with cookery books. Even so, Blanc Vite is a firm favourite. A lovely writing style, recipes that are easy to follow, ingredients you can buy easily, gorgeous photos and the knowledge that on the whole these recipes do you good. What more could you want?

Other favourites I actually use: Prue Leith Cookery Bible, Bill's Food, 1080 Recipes, The Conran Cookbook, Rick Steins French Odyssey, Floyd on Italy and Just Like Mother Used to Make. All the others just sit there !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just want to rush into the kitchen and start cooking!, 11 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blanc Vite: Fast Fresh Food from Raymond Blanc (Paperback)
This was a totally unexpected Christmas present from my daughter, who recently stayed at Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons. She knows how much I love to cook and try out new recipes. Raymond Blanc has it all in this book, originality and freshness, the ingredients speak for themselves. His knowledge of all health aspects is impressive and it is a wonderful guide for anyone with little time to spare and loves really really good food. Thankyou Monsieur Blanc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blanc Vite, 9 Jan. 2012
By 
Y. L. Best "vonnie" (Staffordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blanc Vite: Fast Fresh Food from Raymond Blanc (Paperback)
This book provides me with a large range of alternative and good options as it is presented in such a way that is easy to understand. The writer explains why and how to produce excellent meals quickly and creatively using healthy ingredients. Raymond Blanc is a perfectionist this shows throughout this book with the way the dishes are presented and prepared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a find, 15 Nov. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Raymond deserves respect for taking an enlightened approach to both diet and vegetarian cookery. The introduction has a really interesting discussion of diet that probably contains more useful information than most diet books - e.g. why are french people thinner despite eating more fat? Answer: All the 'fat' nations consume a lot of sugar. Sounds like 'low-GI' before the term was popularised. The recipes are all simple with a real clarity of flavour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cookery book, 19 Aug. 2013
By 
Cathy Kimber (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great recipes, easy to follow and very quick to make. Healthy and colourful and very original. Highly recommended. A must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He loves cooking and says this is the best., 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a present for my Grandson who is in digs. He loves cooking and says this is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sup condition for a super price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
S. Newby "Sooz" (Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blanc Vite: Fast Fresh Food from Raymond Blanc (Paperback)
What a great little book this is. Bought second hand and its in brilliant condition. Raymond Blanc needs no introductions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
     HelloFresh™ Food Boxes opens new browser window
  www.hellofresh.com/   -   Fresh Ingredients Delivered To You. Starts as low as $9.05/meal!

This product

Blanc Vite: Fast Fresh Food from Raymond Blanc
Blanc Vite: Fast Fresh Food from Raymond Blanc by Raymond Blanc (Paperback - 29 Jun. 2000)
Used & New from: £9.78
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Kitchen Secrets
Kitchen Secrets by Raymond Blanc (Paperback - 11 Oct. 2012)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (148)   
Buy new£8.49
In stock

Kew on a Plate with Raymond Blanc (Kew Gardens)
Kew on a Plate with Raymond Blanc (Kew Gardens) by Royal Botanic Gardens Kew (Hardcover - 5 Mar. 2015)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (55)   
Buy new£12.00
In stock

My Kitchen Table: 100 Recipes for Entertaining
My Kitchen Table: 100 Recipes for Entertaining by Raymond Blanc (Paperback - 5 Jan. 2012)
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (37)   
Buy new£6.39
In stock