Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating facts and beautiful illustrations
This is a lovely book that makes a perfect present for anyone who is interested in history, or plants or art. Some of the illustrations are quite exquisite.
Each century from the 11th to the 20th has its own chapter with significant dates listed at the beginning. The history of England is then intertwined with the history of plants and the stories of the people who...
Published on 15 Nov 2001

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Struggles to get beyond being a list of facts and dates
Such an interesting subject and I have laboured on with this book because the facts are fascinating. However, it has taken me over a month (forever in terms of how quickly I read) and I typically can only read short chunks here and there because the fascinating subject has been rendered pretty dull by the writing style.

What it lacks is fluid, colourful...
Published on 27 May 2009 by V. Brock


Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating facts and beautiful illustrations, 15 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Origin of Plants: The People and Plants That Have Shaped Britain's Garden History Since the Year 1000 (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book that makes a perfect present for anyone who is interested in history, or plants or art. Some of the illustrations are quite exquisite.
Each century from the 11th to the 20th has its own chapter with significant dates listed at the beginning. The history of England is then intertwined with the history of plants and the stories of the people who discovered them. In the chapter on the Normans, for instance, Maggie Campbell-Culver tells us that the Wild Carnation or Clove Pink is thought to have been brought over from France after the Norman Conquest with the building stone brought from Caen for the construction of William's castles.
The illustrations range from engravings, through beautifully reproduced illuminated manuscripts to exquisite pen and inks and watercolours.
I have already bought two copies for friends and now intend to buy one for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must of an English gardeners library, 18 Nov 2003
By 
Valerie Adolph "Coast Journal" (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is an extensively researched and well-written book that investigates how garden plants arrived in England. The writer, a respected garden historian and fellow of the Linnean Society, has chosen to divide her material into centuries. She sets the scene with a look at Roman and Anglo-Saxon approaches to gardening and plants, then gets into more detail about plant immigrants, starting with the first century of the second millennium.
To put the reader more clearly in the picture the writer starts each chapter (century) with a list of significant dates so we can see how historical events influenced the arrival of plants. In the twelfth century, for example, plant introductions were influenced by the Crusades as plants were brought to Britain from the eastern Mediterranean region.
But this is not just a book about plants; it’s also about the people associated with them. Sir Thomas More, for example, who in his book Utopia envisaged a town where everyone had a garden around their home.
New plants are still arriving in England from around the world. A “living fossil” tree was discovered in Australia in 1994. Its Latin name is Wollemia nobilis (it was found by David Noble) and it is known as the Dinosaur pine. Plants have been arriving from every continent for centuries and shared back and forth especially to Europe and the US. Just as many new plants went from the New World to brighten English gardens, so seeds and plants were taken to North America by English settlers to create gardens in their new homeland.
If you enjoy reading about the background and history of plants, who found them and how they came to us, you will enjoy this book. It has a very decent bibliography and deserves a place in every plantsman’s (and woman’s) library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The origin of Plants, 2 Mar 2010
By 
S. K. Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Origin of Plants: The People and Plants That Have Shaped Britain's Garden History Since the Year 1000 (Hardcover)
An informative and interesting book which makes a delightful gift for anyone interested in gardening.
It is probably not a book to read through in one go but is an ideal 'coffee table' book or for bedtime reading.
It has been well researched and the format makes reading easy. Overall first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Struggles to get beyond being a list of facts and dates, 27 May 2009
By 
V. Brock (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Such an interesting subject and I have laboured on with this book because the facts are fascinating. However, it has taken me over a month (forever in terms of how quickly I read) and I typically can only read short chunks here and there because the fascinating subject has been rendered pretty dull by the writing style.

What it lacks is fluid, colourful writing that weaves the facts into a compelling narrative, and where anecdote is introduced it feels very jarred - like the author isn't comfortable moving away from the facts in their driest sense.

I think it is more successful as a factual reference book than as an entertaining light read - you have to be pretty into the subject to keep turning the pages of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 28 Sep 2009
By 
GREAT BOOK . GOOD CONDITION
LOVED IT AM DIPPING INTO IT ALL THE TIME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Origin of Plants: The People and Plants That Have Shaped Britain's Garden History Since the Year 1000 (Hardcover)
This is a good read, if you are interested in how plants came into this country. However I it didn't use British references often enough for me, but you will find out when known in Italy [for example] or elsewhere and will probably get hooked on it like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting book, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Origin of Plants: The People and Plants That Have Shaped Britain's Garden History Since the Year 1000 (Hardcover)
I already own this book and bought this one for a friend. We are both keen gardeners and trained botanists and we found this very interesting. The book is superbly researched, well written and very well organised. It proceeds by century, and at the end of each chapter is a list of events and introductions of plants to Britain in that century.

Fascinating to learn of the trials and tribulations of early plant collectors to bring the Britain plants we now take for granted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly entertaining and comprehensive, 12 May 2010
By 
F. Adkins "Fred Adkins" (Brittany, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Origin of Plants: The People and Plants That Have Shaped Britain's Garden History Since the Year 1000 (Hardcover)
Maggie Campbell -Culver has achieved a balance between an extremely sound knowledge and understanding of plants, history and approachable writing style. Britain's garden history is a work of high scholarship and expertise combined with a style that is entertaining and very readable. Very very interesting... go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad8214c8)

This product

The Origin of Plants: The People and Plants That Have Shaped Britain's Garden History Since the Year 1000
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews