Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant working cookbook
As an inexperience cook I previously approached Indian home cooking with caution. After buying this book and launching myself into the recipes I can say that I have transformed my view! The layout of the recipes I find to be clear and straightfoward, the guide at the front as to the ingredients and cooking utensils is invaluable to a beginner, even if you are fairly...
Published on 22 Jun 2003

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
I expected more from this offering from the man who is supposedly providing Londoners with the definitive South Indian Experience. The recipes were sparse, lacked vital ingredients and the pictures were the most unappetizing I'd seen in a long time.
I definitely wouldn't buy this book. For South Indian vegetarian cuisine you should be looking at Chandra Padmanabhan's...
Published on 30 Sep 2007 by saki


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant working cookbook, 22 Jun 2003
By A Customer
As an inexperience cook I previously approached Indian home cooking with caution. After buying this book and launching myself into the recipes I can say that I have transformed my view! The layout of the recipes I find to be clear and straightfoward, the guide at the front as to the ingredients and cooking utensils is invaluable to a beginner, even if you are fairly accustomed to using some of the spices and vegetables etc. I have rarely been so entranced with the smell of cooking spices as with doing these recipes, I was amazed at how everything blended so well. In particular, the rather bland sounding combination of potato and cauliflower was astounding for the way all the tastes combined to make a delicious and flavoursome curry, and easy to make to boot!
The only serious quibble I find I have is with some of the ingredients and cooking utensils required. To be fair, Mr Sreedharan does give alternatives where possible. However if, like me, you live some distance from any Indian food and grocery shops then items like fresh curry leaves (which are used in the majority of recipes) are impossible to get hold of, although I have found that most dried goods can be ordered via internet stores. The Bar Snacks and Tiffin recipe sections in particular include utensils that I have not been able to find.
That said I still award it five stars, the recipes are bright, vibrant and an absolute pleasure to cook as well as to eat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious vegetarian recipes, 26 Mar 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cookery book is written by the owner of the Rasa restaurants in London. The recipes are mostly from southern India and make quite a lot of use of coconut, as well as southern spices (and rice!). There are some really novel and interesting recipes in here, even one for a gooseberry curry and a garlic curry. I would recommend the book, but I found the constant mention of his restaurants, the chef in his restaurants, the clients of his restaurants and his restaurants to be rather annoying! A good book somewhat spoiled by self promotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 30 Sep 2007
By 
saki "avid reader" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I expected more from this offering from the man who is supposedly providing Londoners with the definitive South Indian Experience. The recipes were sparse, lacked vital ingredients and the pictures were the most unappetizing I'd seen in a long time.
I definitely wouldn't buy this book. For South Indian vegetarian cuisine you should be looking at Chandra Padmanabhan's marvellous book(which never disappoints), and for authentic Kerala cooking (which is a meat and fish eating community anyway,) try Mrs K.M. Mathew's tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Achievable and authentic, 5 Jan 2007
By 
I admit from the outset that I am an avid cook book collector and cook. So,it is no suprise really that this was a 'must have' book for me despite the other dozen or so Indian cook books on my groaning bookshelves!

The recipes are well written and simple to follow, yeilding reliable and most enjoyable results.It makes a wonderful change to the anglocised Inidan cook books out there. This is real Indian food, not your usual take away offering.

Some of the ingrediants and equipemt might be a little tricky if you dont have local ethnic shops, but the hunt is well worth the end result.

My only criticism of this book is that there are not enough pictures! I know its wildly more expensive to publish with lots of pictures, but I would be happy to pay twice the price to have a picture for each recipe. Most of us would not know what the end results would look like, so not only are the pictures attractive and inspiring, but they are also such a good guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great coffe table book, 2 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Tastes of India: Over 100 Vibrant Vegetarian Recipes from Southern India (Hardcover)
A great book with great recipes and beautiful photographs (unfortunately not always of the recipes). If you've eaten in any of the Rasa restaurants then its worth getting to recreate the food at home. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is there isn't enough detail on the background to the recipes and there aren't that many of them. Get it if you already have "The Art of Indian Vegetarian Cooking" by Yamuna Devi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best cookbook around, 26 July 2001
This review is from: The New Tastes of India: Over 100 Vibrant Vegetarian Recipes from Southern India (Hardcover)
Being vegetarian and loving indian food it seems this book was made for me. The recipies are not only simple to follow and delectable once made but the stories behind each recipie add a wonderfully personal touch that complements the style of the book. This is not a book just for vegetarians. Its for all cooks who enjoy good food, simple to follow instructions and a touch of spice. The photos are enough to make you drool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super food, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, Delicious South Indian dishes and all vegetarian! Bought from Brit Books - first package apparently lost but they sent a replacement without dispute and dealt with the problem in a friendly and efficient way. Overall, very happy with both the product and the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars satisfaction guaranteed!!, 28 Nov 2002
By 
DR RICHARD J NEWBOLD (Stoke Newington, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Tastes of India: Over 100 Vibrant Vegetarian Recipes from Southern India (Hardcover)
Having eaten in some of the Rasa restaurants of the author I was a little sceptical that I'd be able to turn out dishes that matched up to the fabulous creations Das Sreedharan and his staff produce. However, the recipes work brilliantly and are very easy to follow and have never failed. Just start at the beginning and a tasty dish comes out at the other end....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New Tastes of India: Over 100 Vibrant Vegetarian Recipes from Southern India
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews