Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars As always a great read.
I haven't finished this book yet but am finding it compulsive reading which is what I have come to expect from Anne Perry. I love all the Thomas Pitt series.
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best
This book is an interesting mixture of Anne Perry at her best and worst. Her best lies in her ability to give reality to her characters - one cares so much about the maid, Gracie, and her so solid beau, Tellman, who are becoming characters as familiar as the Pitts and Aunt Vespasia. The sensitivity to social nuance and self-consciousness remains as striking as ever, and...
Published on 17 Mar 2004 by Michael Wilkinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best, 17 Mar 2004
By 
Michael Wilkinson (Hove, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seven Dials (Paperback)
This book is an interesting mixture of Anne Perry at her best and worst. Her best lies in her ability to give reality to her characters - one cares so much about the maid, Gracie, and her so solid beau, Tellman, who are becoming characters as familiar as the Pitts and Aunt Vespasia. The sensitivity to social nuance and self-consciousness remains as striking as ever, and there is an interesting diversion when Pitt visits Egypt in search of clues - a journey undertaken both ways with remarkable celerity for the steamboat age. The different aspects of London's rich and poor are sketched with the customary deftness. Unfortunately, the plot offers scope for one of Perry's deadly courtroom denouements. These are always let down (whether by author or editor) with an unEnglish understanding of British courts. Witnesses take the stand, and do not go into the witness box, and legal behaviour is far closer to the contemporary American courts than anything in a Victorian court (here called US-style, 'courtroom'). Pitt even visits a corpse in the 'morgue' (sic.). Research needs as ever to be done on English usage - English people talk to people, not with them. These errors across so many books are a blemish in a writer of high talent. Nevertheless, there is much to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As always a great read., 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Dials (Kindle Edition)
I haven't finished this book yet but am finding it compulsive reading which is what I have come to expect from Anne Perry. I love all the Thomas Pitt series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great writer, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the story but then I haved loved all of them from the Thomas Pitt t series to the William Monk series. Its a pity some of the Thomas Pitt books (in ebook format) are only available in the USA due to copyright issues, totally unfair. I would recommend Anne Perry books to those who love a good whodoneit./
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 7 Oct 2012
This review is from: Seven Dials (Kindle Edition)
As with all Anne Perry books, a great read that takes you into the Victorian era with interest and joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ann perry, 12 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Denise Thirlwell (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Dials (Paperback)
this book will wait to be read as I'm on the Thomas pitt sereies at the moment but no will enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0223d80)

This product

Seven Dials
Seven Dials by Anne Perry (Paperback - 6 Oct 2003)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews