Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grimes again in top form in latest Jury find!
"'Just bring me a pot of poison,' said the elegant man, replacing the Woodbine Tearoom menu carefully between the salt cellar and the sugar bowl." And with a Martha Grimes novel, who can doubt that it is Melrose Plant, her gentrified man about, who is usually on hand to assist his good friend Superintendent Richard Jury in solving the next Grimes murder...
Published on 26 May 2000

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'Write what you know'
Mystery novels in particular benefit from a strong sense of place. Almost any book by P.D.James would be a good example. Lamorna Cove is a real place in Cornwall, and the Wink is a real pub where I've gratefully dried my hiking clothes in front of the fire. So I approached this book with great anticipation. Very soon though I was doubting whether the author had ever...
Published on 26 Jun 2006 by John Tamar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grimes again in top form in latest Jury find!, 26 May 2000
By A Customer
"'Just bring me a pot of poison,' said the elegant man, replacing the Woodbine Tearoom menu carefully between the salt cellar and the sugar bowl." And with a Martha Grimes novel, who can doubt that it is Melrose Plant, her gentrified man about, who is usually on hand to assist his good friend Superintendent Richard Jury in solving the next Grimes murder mystery!
In "The Lamorna Wink," Grimes re-introduces us to the gaggle of characters who have appeared in and out of some fifteen Richard Jury mysteries, characters to those readers who have followed this series through the years and the episodes who are like family members: Aunt Agatha, Sergeant Wiggins, Marshall Trueblood, Diane Demorney, Vivian Rivington, Carole-anne Palutski, Superintendent Racer, Cyril the cat, et al.
This time, Jury has been sent to investigate a situation in Northern Ireland and Grimes lets Melrose Plant have the spotlight. For his legal assistance, he calls in Brian Macalvie, whom we'd met before, and the two of them proceed with the case at hand. A local woman has gone missing, a body is found, and other questions are raised as the author takes her setting out of London to the Devon and Cornwall areas. Of course, by the time all is settled, Jury has returned to tie everything up quite nicely, thank you.
Grimes' Jury novels are all named for actual pubs and this is no exception. It is an adventure in itself tracking them down, incidentally. And in "The Lamorna Wink" she is back to doing what she does best, permitting her unforgettable characters make the world a better place for all of us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Lamorna Wink' is more than a nudge!, 5 Dec 2004
By 
Billy J. Hobbs "Bill Hobbs" (Tyler, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lamorna Wink (A Richard Jury novel) (Paperback)
"'Just bring me a pot of poison,' said the elegant man, replacing the Woodbine Tearoom menu carefully between the salt cellar and the sugar bowl."
And with a Martha Grimes novel, who can doubt that it is Melrose Plant, her gentrified man about, who is usually on hand to assist his good friend Superintendent Richard Jury in solving the next Grimes murder mystery!
In "The Lamorna Wink," Grimes re-introduces us to the gaggle of characters who have appeared in and out of some fifteen Richard Jury mysteries, characters to those readers who have followed this series through the years and the episodes who are like family members: Aunt Agatha, Sergeant Wiggins, Marshall Trueblood, Diane Demorney, Vivian Rivington, Carole-anne Palutski, Superintendent Racer, Cyril the cat, et al.
This time, Jury has been sent to investigate a situation in Northern Ireland and Grimes lets Melrose Plant have the spotlight. For his legal assistance, he calls in Brian Macalvie, whom we'd met before, and the two of them proceed with the case at hand. A local woman has gone missing, a body is found, and other questions are raised as the author takes her setting out of London to the Devon and Cornwall areas. Of course, by the time all is settled, Jury has returned to tie everything up quite nicely, thank you.
Grimes' Jury novels are all named for actual pubs and this is no exception.
It is an adventure in itself tracking them down, incidentally. And in "The Lamorna Wink" she is back to doing what she does best, permitting her unforgettable characters make the world a better place for all of us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one stars Plant not Jury but is still special, 19 Aug 1999
By A Customer
Scotland Yard Superintendent Richard Jury is in Northern Ireland on a case. His friend Melrose Plant remains behind totally bored. The wealthy Plant skims a copy of Country Magazine where he notices an estate that intrigues him. He takes the rail to Cornwell to see the property, which he rents for three months. However, to his utter horror, his aunt arrives at Bletchley Village to stay at a nearby bed and breakfast.

Plant realizes his temporary home was the sight of a tragedy. The two Bletchley children were found dead at the bottom of the cliff. The police never uncovered the identity of their killer. Four years after the double murder, another killing occurs in the nearby town of Lamorna. Sada Colthorp, a loose hedonist is the victim. At the same time another person vanishes. Another murder occurs at the local hospice. Commander Brian Macalive feels that a link between the killing of four years ago and the current spree exists. Plant assists Macalive just as he always helped Jury.

Although Jury is a secondary character in THE LAMORNA WINK, readers will not miss him as Plant takes center stage, leading to a fascinating and refreshing tale. The taut, intricate who-done-it entertains as much as Martha Grimes, previous works in the series. The jury is in with the verdict that Ms. Grimes has written an enjoyable novel that showcases her ability to focus on a different character than usual, keeping reader interest at a very high level.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'Write what you know', 26 Jun 2006
Mystery novels in particular benefit from a strong sense of place. Almost any book by P.D.James would be a good example. Lamorna Cove is a real place in Cornwall, and the Wink is a real pub where I've gratefully dried my hiking clothes in front of the fire. So I approached this book with great anticipation. Very soon though I was doubting whether the author had ever visited Cornwall. Then whether she'd ever visited England! A sumptuous 'Cornish cream tea' with double cream not clotted? A man routinely offering a £50 banknote? There's nothing wrong with an imaginary story in an imaginary place, but one set in a real location owes it to its readers at least to be plausible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Melrose Plant special, 1 Jun 2011
What John Tamar said in his review, complaining about inaccuracy of local description, is correct. M. Grimes does get a bit sloppy sometimes in such details- or by forgetting important facts about her main characters over the years. (This is book 16 of so far 22 Jury novels). She has indeed travelled through England extensively, but one gets the impression she doesn't always take the time or the effort to do proper research or remember her own previous writing, which can be a little irritating sometimes.
Yet- does this really spoil the whole book or tell much about the story? I don't think so. The Lamorna Wink was written esp. for Martha Grimes's Jury/Plant series fans who have (re-)read the whole line of books and who wished for a special one featuring Melrose Plant, otherwise Jury's sidekick.
The internet is full of confessing Plant addicts, who have fallen in love with one of the most amiable fictious characters ever created by an author. For them, (or should I say: us), The Lamorna Wink is a - if not the - favourite Jury/Plant novel, revealing all the secrets of Melrose's past, which we ever wondered about, and having him in all his glory on almost every page of a fascinating mystery story of - in my opinion - great athmosphere and suspense.
I strongly recommend to start reading the Jury/Plant novels in the order of appearance. If you do so, you'll find out soon if they are your taste or not. If they are, you'll have become a Plant addict long before you reach #16 and will be happy and gratefull for this one, regardless of any inaccuracy of local details! ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing in every way., 1 Dec 2001
This review is from: The Lamorna Wink (A Richard Jury novel) (Paperback)
I bought this book hoping to have a 'flavour' of Corwall, which it didn't have. I perservered with the book to the end but never found any saving aspect to it. The characters were cardboard cutouts, none of whom you cared what happened to them. I tried hard to like it but was very disappointed in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lamorna Wink (A Richard Jury novel)
The Lamorna Wink (A Richard Jury novel) by Martha Grimes (Paperback - 7 Sep 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews