Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2002
Nadel just gets better and better. I have read her three previous novels with great enjoyment, but Deep Waters takes her onto a new level. This is a fiendishly plotted thriller, brilliantly written and wholly enthralling.
As in her other three Inspector Ikmen novels, the reader is plunged headlong into the subculture of Istambul, but - brilliant though her evocation of the city and its disparate communities is - nothing here is added for mere local colour. As you move deeper into the book, the realisation dawns that everything that you are reading is closely relevant to her tightly-interwoven plotlines. Nothing is wasted, and the cumulative effect is superb.
Against a background of an ancient Albanian blood-fued, Nadel weaves a complex story of murder, hatred, madness and redemption.
Her characters seem more rounded than before, real people caught up in an ever more horrifying web of circumstance. Her understanding of their psychology shines through, investing even the most extreme with a profound sense of reality. More than anything else, her evocation of the psychology of madness is chilling.
Nadel also pulls off the difficult trick of making the whodunnit aspect of the book only one of many points of interest. Yes, you try to second-guess the plot; but even where [you think that] you've suceeded, there is always something else about which you are keen to know more. The result is that this is a serious page-turner, and genuinely very difficult to put down.
Always fascinating, frequently chilling and ultimately unexpectedly moving, this is the work of a mature author at the height of her powers.
Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
A little reminiscent of Donna Leon's Venice/Brunetti series but set in Turkey. She certainly knows her location and the continuing family saga which threads through the novels is fascinating. Worth starting at the beginning of the series but not essential as she gives mini-updates on the lives of the main characters as the story progresses. I'm hooked.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2009
Barbara Nadel's Ikmen series of books are modern crime novels set in Modern day Turkey - Istanbul Such an insight - gripping stories that educate too. Whole series fabulous.Once you start you won't put it down.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
I found the storyline and the characters confusing. Mainly because the names are Turkish or Slav, and grouped into families or clans, so they sound very similar and I found this very distracting. So it was not easy to remember who was who etc...and new characters are introduced during the narrative which does not help. On the plus side, the story line is strong, but there is too much jumping from scene to scene, place to place. The traditions and characters involved in the blood feuds are very believable, others appear less so. Not a book I got easily involved in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Excellent evocation of Istanbul and the intricate family relationships of Inspector Ikmen and his deputy, Mehmet Sulleyman, who is about to get married. Inspector Ikmen is confronted with his lack of knowledge about the tragic death of his mother when he was a young boy and forced to investigate something he would rather avoid. The murder of a young man at the beginning of this book releases a chain of circumstances which leads to a confrontation with madness masquerading as magic, something Ikmen himself has personal knowledge of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
I am delighted to have discovered this author. Her books are erudite,exciting,colourful ,show deep insight and they very well written. Its a breath of fresh air to find such intelligent writing.The characters are alive and we suffer or triumph with them.
The book was in great condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
Another brilliant dig into the underbelly of Istanbul life. More people should know about this excellent author. And what a brilliant film could be made from one of her books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Following Barbara's books. This is book 4. Thoroughly enjoyed all her Ikmen investigation's, as the characters and crimes, are well thought out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
Another brilliant story,well written and devised. Would certainly recommend this series for a thoroughly good read. Keep them coming please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2002
having read all her previous novels i looked forward to this one with baited breath, another great read, all my favourite characters, great plot, and once again guessing until the end.
These books take me to Istanbul, you can taste it, smell it, you feel as though you are there, and as well as being great stories its amazing how much one can learn about the area and retain it. I think my next holiday will definitely be in Istanbul!!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.