Customer Reviews


219 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read - utterly gripping from the first page.
Mr. Scarrow's first book in this new series is inspired. It is a gripping, enjoyable read that provides a thrilling sense of what it must have been like in the heart of a Roman legion as it fights its way through the barbarian hordes. The barracks life also feels very authentic. The characters are very life-like and likeable and I want to see how the Cato/Macro...
Published on 15 Feb. 2001

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rip-roaring Escapism...
“Under the Eagle” is quite simply a rollicking read. And for a first novel is an adept piece of escapism. My reading of “Under the Eagle” undoubtedly suffered slightly from my reading of Steven Pressfield’s awesome “Gates of Fire” just prior. However I enjoyed the book’s quick pace, likeable characters, bouts of furious...
Published on 13 April 2003 by Smithy


‹ Previous | 15 6 722 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to the two main characters., 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read and moves along at a reasonable pace. Well written and descriptive with a history lesson thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 10 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. Andrew P. Preston (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like them all really enjoyed this book and look forward to the others, very good start to finish lots of action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under the Eagle, 13 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Eagle (Paperback)
A good read, well writen and full of historical trivia about the Roman Army that makes the story so believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Riveting from start to finish I look forward to reading the rest of the series and more by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under the eagle, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read and this is only the first in the series looking forward to reading the rest of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Cornwell, 25 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Under the Eagle (Paperback)
Being a big Bernard Cornwell fan and having collected and read most of his books, I was looking for something similar. Simon Scarrow has not dissapointed. Just like Cornwell, his characters are easy to identify with and larger than life and the story grabs your attention from the very beginning and never lets go. I can't wait to collect the others in the series. For those that love Cornwell or good historical fiction, you could do a lot worse than give Simon Scarrow a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant new series, 22 Oct. 2008
By 
chuckles "barnie884" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Under the Eagle (Paperback)
I am an avid historical fiction fan, and in my search for a new author (as I have finished all the Cornwell, Iggulden and Manfredi books) I found Simon Scarrow. This is the first in an excellent series of novels about 2 unlikely friends thrown together in the heat of battle in the Roman army. These books are well researched, well written and extremely easy to read. These are like a cross between Cornwell's Sharpe and the Rome TV series. An excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did I miss this author?, 20 Jun. 2007
By 
John Haslett (Portishead, North Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A colleague passed this book to me knowing my fondness for Mediaeval mysteries and the Conn Iggulden Caesar Trilogy with the comment, "try this you'll like it." Spot on. It's well plotted, historically accurate, atmoshperic and utterly compelling in its writing. So good in fact that I've just bought the next 6 in the series. I'm not surprised Bernard Cornwell said, "I don't need competition like this!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars under the eagle, 19 Jun. 2010
By 
Luke Thrower (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under the Eagle (Paperback)
Having nether read a book of this genre (romans , historical , military etc.), i couldn't wait to get stuck in and see wether it was a good purchase , man was i right.

===Story===
The story revolves around young cato , a young man from the palaces of rome , thrust in to the army after the death of his father and although the men around him dont beleive he will last long , cato has a huge amount of determination. Cato is put into the second legion of the roman army, the best of the best. Add to this the fact that upon his arrival he is appointed as a optio , making him second in command to the centurion ,macro. The men discover that their next conquest is to fight the toughest and most feared tribes of the time , the britons. However all is not as it seems , cato and macro are deep in a conspiracy that threatens the entire leadership of rome and the emperor.

So a pretty exciting story and one that is difficult to put down as you become immersed in the lifes and skirmishes of the legion.

===Writing===
Unfortunatley i cant compare this to the likes of bernard cromwell as i have never read his books , he seems to be the main competitor to simon scarrow.
The writing is detailed and gives you lots of insight into the fighting and workings of the legion. The characters are difficult to remember as the story twists as they have roman names , whilst the likes of cato and macro i could remember , it was the political characters and the higher ranks which left me going back to remember who was who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Under the Eagle., 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find Simon Scarrow an imaginative and colourful author, his books dealing with the Roman Legions, show war at its best in what it brings out in people and at its worst with the mud and gore, its a very good read for anyone who likes a good yarn and colourful prose, it has also alot of true history references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 722 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under the Eagle
Under the Eagle by Simon Scarrow (Paperback - 5 April 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews