Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2015
The whole series provides a snapshot of life in 7th century Ireland but this one was set in her companion's homeland... facinating to see the relationship between Fidelma and Eadamund develop with the backdrop of pagan and new faith. The laws and customs of that period shape the story and was a excellent ending to the mystery!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
As usual Peter Tremayne does not disappoint his readers. It is full of intrigue and mystery and as usual Sister Fidelma is my hero.Highly recommend this book to those who love history and mystery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
I like this series a lot: the plots are clever and, so far, not repetitive.

The historical aspect is fascinating, and I'm sure quite startling to people who are unaware of Irish history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
I really enjoyed this ebook. It held me until the end and I love the fact that although you know that there is another book to come it doesn't leave you thinking that there should be more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
What can | say they are just such good reading. I have told all my friends about Peter Tremayne. Please keep them coming. Great. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
Peter Tremayne is so expert in his field - he is a learning experience for anyone interested in ancient Irish/Roman theology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Peter Tremayne is the fiction pseudonym of a well-known authority on the ancient Celts, who has utilised his knowledge of the Brehon law system and 7th-Century Irish society to create a new concept in detective fiction.

The Sister Fidelma novels are taking on almost cult proportions and are becoming ever more popular with each offering from the author, whose obvious knowledge of the times and subjects he writes about shines out like a beacon on the shore.

As Sister Fidelma and Brother Eadulf are preparing to leave the shores of England and return to Ireland, they receive a mysterious summons from a boyhood friend of Eadulf, Brother Botulf. He has requested their presence at a nearby Abbey. Eadul and Fidelma battle their way through a winter storm to reach the Abbey, but when they arrive they find that Botulf is dead, killed by an unknown person. Staggered by the murder of his boyhood friend Eadulf, with the help of Fidelma search for the truth, but it soon becomes apparent that the death of Botulf is not the only trouble facing the abbey.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
Didn't want to put it down till I had finished reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
great story
really enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
An excellent mystery in the series, madness in Saxon England. I highly recommend that readers start at the beginning of the series with "Absolution by Murder".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.