Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trouble for Brother Eadulf
Peter Tremayne is the fiction pseudonym of a well-known authority on the ancient Celts, who has utilised his knowledge of the Brehon law system and 7th-Century Irish society to create a new concept in detective fiction.

The Sister Fidelma novels are taking on almost cult proportions and are becoming ever more popular with each offering from the author, whose...
Published on 3 Feb. 2007 by J. Chippindale

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a quite good medieval whodunnit!
Since Ellis Peters' superb Brother-Cadfael-novels the writing of medieval whodunnits booms - but few (if any) reach Peters' talent to create real living characters and at the same time a thrilling plot. Tremayne's newest book is no exception; while you sense on every page the authors knowledge of medieval Ireland, his characters and the situations lack in vigour, live and...
Published on 5 April 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trouble for Brother Eadulf, 3 Feb. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Our Lady of Darkness (Sister Fidelma) (Paperback)
Peter Tremayne is the fiction pseudonym of a well-known authority on the ancient Celts, who has utilised his knowledge of the Brehon law system and 7th-Century Irish society to create a new concept in detective fiction.

The Sister Fidelma novels are taking on almost cult proportions and are becoming ever more popular with each offering from the author, whose obvious knowledge of the times and subjects he writes about shines out like a beacon on the shore.

As Sister Fidelma and Brother Eadulf are preparing to leave the shores of England and return to Ireland, they receive a mysterious summons from a boyhood friend of Eadulf, Brother Botulf. He has requested their presence at a nearby Abbey. Eadul and Fidelma battle their way through a winter storm to reach the Abbey, but when they arrive they find that Botulf is dead, killed by an unknown person. Staggered by the murder of his boyhood friend Eadulf, with the help of Fidelma search for the truth, but it soon becomes apparent that the death of Botulf is not the only trouble facing the abbey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a quite good medieval whodunnit!, 5 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Our Lady of Darkness (Hardcover)
Since Ellis Peters' superb Brother-Cadfael-novels the writing of medieval whodunnits booms - but few (if any) reach Peters' talent to create real living characters and at the same time a thrilling plot. Tremayne's newest book is no exception; while you sense on every page the authors knowledge of medieval Ireland, his characters and the situations lack in vigour, live and authenticity; everything seems to me a bit artificial; nevertheless this book makes good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trouble for Brother Eadulf, 14 Jun. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Our Lady of Darkness (Hardcover)
Peter Tremayne is the fiction pseudonym of a well-known authority on the ancient Celts, who has utilised his knowledge of the Brehon law system and 7th-Century Irish society to create a new concept in detective fiction.

The Sister Fidelma novels are taking on almost cult proportions and are becoming ever more popular with each offering from the author, whose obvious knowledge of the times and subjects he writes about shines out like a beacon on the shore.

As Sister Fidelma and Brother Eadulf are preparing to leave the shores of England and return to Ireland, they receive a mysterious summons from a boyhood friend of Eadulf, Brother Botulf. He has requested their presence at a nearby Abbey. Eadul and Fidelma battle their way through a winter storm to reach the Abbey, but when they arrive they find that Botulf is dead, killed by an unknown person. Staggered by the murder of his boyhood friend Eadulf, with the help of Fidelma search for the truth, but it soon becomes apparent that the death of Botulf is not the only trouble facing the abbey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another thrilling book by this writer, 3 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Our Lady of Darkness (Sister Fidelma) (Paperback)
Having read several of the other books in the series I looked forward to reading this one, I was not disappointed. As usual the plot is well thought out and the period detail is excellent with explanations when necessary. The only reason I haven't given it five stars is because at one point the next step is predictable but the book quickly recovers to a climatic ending. If you enjoy this type of mystery then I would thoroughly recommend this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Our Lady of Darkness (Sister Fidelma Mysteries 09), 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I miss this one before. Could not put it down. Absolutely brilliant from start to finish, Thank you so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one novel in a long series. It is delightful (female detective, medieval Ireland). Main polemic is to show how well developed the Irish legal system was at the time. Unfortunately, a lot of material is repeated throughout the series, so I stopped reading them after the third or fourth novel. Nevertheless, they made good holiday reading and introduced me to an Irish perspective at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Our Lady of Darkness (Sister Fidelma Mysteries 09) Kindle edition, 3 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another brilliant and scary novel in the series. I would recommend these books to anyone who is a fan of historical who done its such as S Gregory's Matthew Bartholomew or C J Sansom's Shardlake series. Like these 2 other excellent series, The Sister Fidelma novels provide the reader with an excellent mystery and also inform you about the society contemporary to the protaganist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was on tender-hooks and could not go to bed ..., 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Lady of Darkness (Sister Fidelma) (Paperback)
I was on tender-hooks and could not go to bed until I finished it,(I assure you that in high praise!). even though I had read the next book so knew the long-term end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good story which held my interest to the end, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good story which held my interest to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Our Lady of Darkness (Sister Fidelma)
Our Lady of Darkness (Sister Fidelma) by Peter Tremayne (Paperback - 3 May 2001)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews