Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2000
After all the negative hype surrounding this book, I expected it to be a bit duff but it turned out to be a great read. Two long and brilliantly researched chapters about the history of the scene dominate the first half and the remainder is taken up with usual opinionated but accurate attacks on the police, the media and the game.
It's inevitable that some people will dismiss this book as a rehash (and in truth there is a lot that's been covered before but the book is actually better for that) but there's actually a lot that hasn't been covered before and which brought back a lot of memories (remember taxing?). And for those who know the scene, a glance at the credits shows some interesting names.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2000
Another brilliant read from the Brimson stable. If you want to know about football hooliganism but don't want any of the "I woz there" type stuff, this book is a must.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
I really enjoyed 'The Crew' AND 'Top Dog', great 'page turning' reads but this was a bit behind the times I found. It deals with stuff up to 2003 on the whole and I got a bit bored. But note that I am not nor have ever been a football fan in any size shape or form.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2000
With more hooligan books hitting the shelves than ever, it's always good to see a new Brimson book. Because unlike most of the others, they take a critical overview of the situation rather than go down the 'we did them and never got done' route.
This one is probably the strongest they have written so far and certainly, by the end, it even had me questioning my own role in the spread of hooliganism. And I'm no lad, just a normal football fan. But one does wonder why the authorites don't take heed to his warnings. After all, he's been proven right almost every single time.
A must read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2000
Having read all the Brimson books about this well documented subject,It was as good as the others. How about one on the Midland firms as you've done one on the London boys,you must have loads more stories to tell.What with some of the top firms being from the midlands,B'ham City & Stoke City to name a few..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2000
Once again, the Brimsons have answered their critics and provided another brilliant expose of the hooligan menace. Barmy Army actually brings the whole debate bang up to date and examines everything from the hostroy of the scene to the influences of everything from the mobile phone to the internet.
Forget everything else on your hoolie book shopping list, this one is the 'must read'. More please lads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2000
If you were a football supporter in the 80's the book brings back all the memories in a truthfull account of what is was like and points out the ways in which the troubles have started all over again(did they ever go away).A must read for anyone ever involved in football violence or with an interest in the subject(ie: THE GOVERMENT)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)