Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another top read by Brimmo.
After all the negative hype surrounding this book, I expected it to be a bit duff but it turned out to be a great read. Two long and brilliantly researched chapters about the history of the scene dominate the first half and the remainder is taken up with usual opinionated but accurate attacks on the police, the media and the game.
It's inevitable that some people...
Published on 14 Feb 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit dated now.
I really enjoyed 'The Crew' AND 'Top Dog', great 'page turning' reads but this was a bit behind the times I found. It deals with stuff up to 2003 on the whole and I got a bit bored. But note that I am not nor have ever been a football fan in any size shape or form.
Published 17 months ago by Mr spageti


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another top read by Brimmo., 14 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Barmy Army: The Changing Face of Football Violence (Paperback)
After all the negative hype surrounding this book, I expected it to be a bit duff but it turned out to be a great read. Two long and brilliantly researched chapters about the history of the scene dominate the first half and the remainder is taken up with usual opinionated but accurate attacks on the police, the media and the game.
It's inevitable that some people will dismiss this book as a rehash (and in truth there is a lot that's been covered before but the book is actually better for that) but there's actually a lot that hasn't been covered before and which brought back a lot of memories (remember taxing?). And for those who know the scene, a glance at the credits shows some interesting names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A storming read, 6 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Barmy Army: The Changing Face of Football Violence (Paperback)
Another brilliant read from the Brimson stable. If you want to know about football hooliganism but don't want any of the "I woz there" type stuff, this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit dated now., 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed 'The Crew' AND 'Top Dog', great 'page turning' reads but this was a bit behind the times I found. It deals with stuff up to 2003 on the whole and I got a bit bored. But note that I am not nor have ever been a football fan in any size shape or form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blinding read, 13 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Barmy Army: The Changing Face of Football Violence (Paperback)
With more hooligan books hitting the shelves than ever, it's always good to see a new Brimson book. Because unlike most of the others, they take a critical overview of the situation rather than go down the 'we did them and never got done' route.
This one is probably the strongest they have written so far and certainly, by the end, it even had me questioning my own role in the spread of hooliganism. And I'm no lad, just a normal football fan. But one does wonder why the authorites don't take heed to his warnings. After all, he's been proven right almost every single time.
A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT KEEP 'EM COMING...., 28 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Barmy Army: The Changing Face of Football Violence (Paperback)
Having read all the Brimson books about this well documented subject,It was as good as the others. How about one on the Midland firms as you've done one on the London boys,you must have loads more stories to tell.What with some of the top firms being from the midlands,B'ham City & Stoke City to name a few..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker from the guv'nor, 25 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Barmy Army: The Changing Face of Football Violence (Paperback)
Once again, the Brimsons have answered their critics and provided another brilliant expose of the hooligan menace. Barmy Army actually brings the whole debate bang up to date and examines everything from the hostroy of the scene to the influences of everything from the mobile phone to the internet.
Forget everything else on your hoolie book shopping list, this one is the 'must read'. More please lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Just like being there all over again, 31 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Barmy Army: The Changing Face of Football Violence (Paperback)
If you were a football supporter in the 80's the book brings back all the memories in a truthfull account of what is was like and points out the ways in which the troubles have started all over again(did they ever go away).A must read for anyone ever involved in football violence or with an interest in the subject(ie: THE GOVERMENT)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barmy Army: The Changing Face of Football Violence
Barmy Army: The Changing Face of Football Violence by Dougie Brimson (Paperback - 17 Feb 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews