Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read
I was very surprised how good this book was. A very accurate, unbiased and even humourous account of the times. I was nodding in agreement to so much of it, as so many people who had never attended football games had an attitude towards football fans while the truth was far different. I am not defending bad behaviour, but there was often another side to it. For...
Published on 10 April 2005 by TheGuvnor2

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars expected something better
The first part of this book is really good, it tells it like it was in the old days, it's full of funny stories about the headhunters and their trips everywhere. I must say the second part is a bit boring cause it's all about his prison life, the courts the judges etc. i mean no disrespect here but everyone already knows that courts judges and prisons suck. he should have...
Published 20 months ago by franzluke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 10 April 2005
This review is from: Armed for the Match: The Troubles and Trials of the Chelsea Headhunters (Paperback)
I was very surprised how good this book was. A very accurate, unbiased and even humourous account of the times. I was nodding in agreement to so much of it, as so many people who had never attended football games had an attitude towards football fans while the truth was far different. I am not defending bad behaviour, but there was often another side to it. For example when just acting in self defence (to prevent seroius injury) or using bad language, fans were still labeled hooligans. Yet consider TV out-take shows where celebrities, presenters and politicians use far worse language or agression yet it is considered humourus - similarly behaviour in films such as 4 Weddings & Funeral, Bridget Jones Diary - or rugby players vandalism is seen as comedy. One rule for one.
Only criticisms. Firstly - I felt one of the Tottenham Chants should not have been included, or it should have been made more clear that at the time it was an ignorant harmless joke (although personaly I think there can be no humour over this subject). Secondly - Overplay of innocence. Thirdly not enough about England trips. But big surprise, an excellent book - definetly for anyone to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book, 26 Oct 2009
This review is from: Armed for the Match: The Troubles and Trials of the Chelsea Headhunters (Paperback)
An excellent account of the football hooligan days, unlike most of the hooligan books on the market today this one is honest at times very funny and not made up of a fantasy world that the other authors (martin king & martin knight excluded)Hoolifan: 30 Years of Hurt seem to live in most notably rob silvester cass pennant trevor tanner. I can reccomend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chelsea, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Armed for the Match: The Troubles and Trials of the Chelsea Headhunters (Paperback)
Very biased as I am a Chelsea Fan, this is a great book. Really does show how the police were in the day. The lads, bar one were involved, as always for some reason the Police had to lie and "Plant Evidence" that was to mislead and waste taxpayers money.

What happens ? these guys then make a new life for themselves away from these shores. Good luck to em...Up the Blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liverpool fans do not want to read this - They would milk it for years....., 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So fare so good just started to read it and am enjoying it and putting snippits on my FB status to wind up the sousers lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars were never be mastered, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Armed for the Match: The Troubles and Trials of the Chelsea Headhunters (Paperback)
a well realistic written book which brought back loads of memories of games spent following the chels in the days when we were rubbish but we were brought together felt special as fans of one of the most feared clubs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars expected something better, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Armed for the Match: The Troubles and Trials of the Chelsea Headhunters (Paperback)
The first part of this book is really good, it tells it like it was in the old days, it's full of funny stories about the headhunters and their trips everywhere. I must say the second part is a bit boring cause it's all about his prison life, the courts the judges etc. i mean no disrespect here but everyone already knows that courts judges and prisons suck. he should have kept telling stories about the chelsea boys as i'm sure he could. next book maybe?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for all followers of football in the eighties., 7 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Armed for the Match: The Troubles and Trials of the Chelsea Headhunters (Paperback)
Great combination of humour and anguish, written extremely well. Really gives an open account of the agro and fun of following your club in the mess of the 70's and 80's. Sure there were punch ups at and after a game, but what this book does is explain the difference between that and the behaviour of some of the more dangerous lads who were bad news at anything they attended. The legal aftermath of the pressure politics is scary reading for anybody involved in any group that doesnt confirm to the 'norm'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Sep 2014
This review is from: Armed for the Match: The Troubles and Trials of the Chelsea Headhunters (Paperback)
As describec
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the shed and other places, 6 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Armed for the Match: The Troubles and Trials of the Chelsea Headhunters (Paperback)
This book supposedly gives accounts from the days when hoolagnism at Chelsea was a regular occurance and tells the stories of the men behind it. Except, it is so poorly written and lacking excitement you wonder why anyone would want to be a part of it in the first place. Each incident seems the same as the last and there is nothing to keep you wanting to turn the pages. I purchased the book to gain an insight into what went on back then and maybe find out what drove the people to do it. From this account I can only deduce that it wasn't passion as the book holds none and I cannot see any excitment or at least none that is successfully portrayed in this book. Unfortunately I couldn't recommend this book to anyone, it's just too dull and repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Armed for the Match: The Troubles and Trials of the Chelsea Headhunters
Used & New from: £19.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews