Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give a copy of this book to ALL your friends
Anyone who begins a chapter with the words, 'I like salad, eaten in moderation like bacon or chocolate, about twice a week' ought to be compulsory reading, for Steingarten's insouciant wit makes every chapter in this delightful book an indulgent pleasure. Cheer up your library with this work; give it to friends in hospital who care about real food - Steingarten does, e.g...
Published on 17 Feb 2004 by Peter J Howes

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Failed to match up to the hype
I actually though this was quite a good piece of writing. However I didn't think the critiques on the cover were talking about the same book! Much as I appreciated the research and hard work that the author had undertaken I felt little passion and found it only mildly amusing [eg the chapter on bread making] The world of food is a paradox;at once both rooted in the...
Published on 23 July 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give a copy of this book to ALL your friends, 17 Feb 2004
By 
Peter J Howes (Surbiton, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Anyone who begins a chapter with the words, 'I like salad, eaten in moderation like bacon or chocolate, about twice a week' ought to be compulsory reading, for Steingarten's insouciant wit makes every chapter in this delightful book an indulgent pleasure. Cheer up your library with this work; give it to friends in hospital who care about real food - Steingarten does, e.g. in Primal Bread he writes: 'The world is divided into two camps: those who can live happily on bread alone and those who also need vegetables, meat, and dairy products. Isaiah and I fall into the first category....' A joy to enjoy, and it's calorie-free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man Who Can, 12 Jan 2011
By 
Janice Rothwell (Bolton. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutely wonderful. A food critic that would go to the ends of the earth to try something new, devour it and describe every mouthful so well that you feel full after reading.
I learnt more about food from this guy than a lot of the chef's out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food writing at its best, 27 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Man Who Ate Everything: Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Food, But Were Afraid to Ask (Paperback)
Steingarten's style is like none other I've come across, and this is a good thing. I'm a huge fan of Bourdain, Ruhlman et al but Jeffrey Steingaarten is a step above them all. His attention to detail is unequalled and his thorough knowledge is mind blowing, especially to someone like myself who though they knew a reasonable amount about food. Read this and I guarantee you will be entertained and learn a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one book...., 4 Jan 2007
Never read this book in bed... you will get hungry and start cooking!

This it seems is a collection of foodie articles of the highest quality writing on a variety of foodie subjects.Its not a recipe book, rather the thoughts and actions of a man who loves 'food' and all its aspects. It should appeal to many people not just foodies.

Steingarten's style is intelligent but not academic. Similar to Heston Blumenthal I think.

All the chapter subjects appealed to me. This is a book one could read and reread.

The BBQ chapter makes me want to get on a plane, hire a car and spend 2 weeks driving across the South eating at every place he mentions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will make you hungry, 4 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Man Who Ate Everything: Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Food, But Were Afraid to Ask (Paperback)
Or if it doesn't make you hungry, it will certainly change the way you think about food. Funny and informative, this collection of essays is a treat for foodies everywhere. The author looks at food myths and cultures, shares recipes and ideas but most of all shares his love for food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must read" book, 22 Oct 2013
By 
R. J. Hibbs "Richard Hibbs "DicksBooks"" (Bristol, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very amusing, & written by an intelligent scribe. Highly recommended, if you enjoy food & want to read something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Succulent, firm and nourishing., 27 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This is a glorious book. A quest for pleasure and perfection. A desperate attempt to harvest the ultimate sensations from the corners of this shrinking and ever sanitised world. An assault on our kitchens and the repetitive mediocrity of our supermarket diet.
Jeffrey Steingarten is maternally tender with his staples. Bread, mashed potato and french fries live steaming and moist on the page. His earthy passion for seafood is indulgent. Truffles and sushi are the objects of quasi-religious reverence and awe. Vegetarians are put to flight and in the name of objectivity Steingarten excises the rank flesh from the pseudo-science of food, dietetics and nutrition that pervades western culture. His assessment of scientific data is cool, rational and learned and it is a joy to see the myths unclothed and debunked.
I finished each chapter laughing, mouth watering and twitching for the smell of yeasy bread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This made me hungry!, 24 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Man Who Ate Everything: Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Food, But Were Afraid to Ask (Paperback)
A great book. One must remember that it's actually a collection of separate magazine articles, so it's somewhat unfair to try and review it as a single cohesive critique of food and the industries around it.
However, I have to agree with the reviewer who commented on the 'olestra' thing - this is completely out of keeping with the writing in the other sections. At the end of it he writes 'If fat is poison....', even though in a previous section he describes the same view of fat described by another author as 'dangerous nonsense'. I'd be interested to know how he justifies his views on Olestra.
However, this doesn't detract from the book itself. The recipes are marvellous (especially the Choucroute Alsacienne), the humour is just right, and most of his points are spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book about food, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Ate Everything: Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Food, But Were Afraid to Ask (Paperback)
Present well received. Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Literature about food ..., 4 Feb 2014
By 
John (Leicester , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Man Who Ate Everything: Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Food, But Were Afraid to Ask (Paperback)
For once a very well written and 'classically literate' book by an American author ; this is really a book of creative and amusing writing on the subject of food . It is a collection of the author's articles which were originally written for Vogue magazine , and includes a lot of interesting information about the food of the world ,presented mainly in an anecdotal style and also includes some valuable hints on food preparation . Jeffery Steingarten used to occasionally appear as a judge on Iron Chef America ; he seems to be one of a dying breed of 'cultured' Americans . These articles complied make a great book that's virtually essential reading for the 'food and cookery enthusiast' .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man Who Ate Everything: Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Food, But Were Afraid to Ask
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews