Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing and fascinating
I picked up this book at the airport in a rush ahving read some good reviews of it. It's a difficult book to catergorise: part-travelogue, part memoir, part politico-sociological study, but altogether more than that. It offers a fascinating insight into one of the world's largest, most vibrant and most chaotic cities. The author is an Indian who spend his early years...
Published on 25 Oct 2005 by Avidreader

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a better title for the book would be "Bombay - The other side of the story"
I bought this book because the title intrigued me and it was a Pulitzer finalist and so I was expecting something perhaps special and comprehensive. I was expecting an insight into the essence of the city and what keeps it ticking. But, halfway through this book, I realised that the city and its spirit were lost, never to be found again in the rest of the book...
Published on 4 Jun 2008 by Ash


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent travelogue, offers a glimpse into the real Bombay, 5 May 2006
By 
N. Makwana "Neil" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found (Paperback)
This book is excellent in that it offers an insight into a city that many people will visit but will get nothing more then a superficial familiarity with the city,the shopping malls and Taj Hotel,Malabar Hills and a few relgious sites.

I think it is essential to know about the all-pervading influence of the gangs, which are varied in religion and origin but all have Bombay in their blood. The police action was occasionally gruesome to read about but fascinating nevertheless. Those who dont have an interest in the Hindu-Muslim relations and the seedy underworld (which is really the overworld in Bombay) wont find it as interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Fascinating, 29 May 2013
By 
traveller (stirling, scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found (Paperback)
I so enjoyed this book - it is well written, and ranges wide and far across the city, highlighting the sheer diversity of people, and recounting in detail a wide range of situations and experiences. This book is one of the few I've read which conjures up in words a portrait so vivid you can actually 'see' the city. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A surprising disappointment, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found (Paperback)
With a cover illustration similar to the view from the nearby retiring rooms I am very familiar with, I did anticipate a more down to earth account of the complex life in this amazing city. However, after a promising start it becomes a somewhat tedious account of the author's life rather than that of the city. Try instead Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Catherine Boo for a far more revealing account of Bombay even though, in my opinion, this too is flawed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read. I recommend it., 11 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found (Paperback)
The city inside out, examined by a writer with an insider and outsider viewpoint. I found it riveting. A must for anyone visiting the City
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and insightful account, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found (Paperback)
A visitor to India sees the energy, the beauty and the magnificent variety of this vibrant country. This book gives a measure of the sinuous undercurrents and political threads that underly the foundation and fragmentation of the community.
A startling and necessary account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opening and Exciting, 12 Dec 2005
By 
RFC (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found (Paperback)
This is a fascinating read. The characters, although easy to loose in all the action at times, are intriguing and Mehta has made them very real to the reader. The book has thrown a completely new light on Bombay for me and underscored that it is a city that thrives on gender, power and money. My only criticism is that the grammar needs an overhaul - it really should have been proof read better. It's not brilliant from a literary standpoint but can be appreciated for its journalistic qualities. A must read for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Snapshot, 9 Sep 2009
By 
R. Mehta "Rhaynukaa Soni" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found (Paperback)
Am trying how best to review this book and the one word that keeps coming to mind is 'snapshot' Mehta provides a vivid snapshot of Mumbai during the 2 years he spends there as an NRI (Non Resident Indian). Many of those familiar with India and specifically Mumbai will find themselves agreeing with Mehta's commentary and even thinking about their own experiences.

The disappointment for me though was the lack of anything new. Though the images he creates and stories he tells are captivating, if you know Mumbai, they are not new. It's almost like he has taken all the key things that people know about Mumbai and created a book out of it.

In conclusion, I would say it is definitely worth a read, if not to find out about Mumbai then to revisit it on paper at least. A very well written book with wonderful characters and such a range of genres that it will definitely make the train journey that much more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Self-indulgent and far too long, 3 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found (Paperback)
I have struggled but in the end had to just skip out dozens of pages. I'm not really sure what the point of this book is. The author seemed interested in returning to his roots, but doesn't make it at all clear why anyone else but himself should want to know about it all. I find it very self-indulgent and just goes on much too long. In a way it's about the human landscape, but only a limited number of people, and at the end I couldn't name a single geographical or urban feature or recognise a single one if I were droped down in the middle. I don't feel I know the place at all, even after nearly 600 pages of print; just about one man's past and his reactions to the present, without being engaged about either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Maximu City Bombay lost and found, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found (Paperback)
Fairly readable. A shorter version would have achieved better result. Only Indians could understand the way it was narrated. The author could have explained some of the Indian words used - giving their meanings in brackets - they were not familiar to readers in the West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 9 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. J. M. Balfour (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found (Paperback)
This book evokes Bombay even better than Shantaram. Short of being there you won't get a closer experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found
Maximum City: Bombay Lost and Found by Suketu Mehta (Paperback - 5 Sep 2005)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews