Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent return for Detective Pete Decker!
Detecitve Pete Decker is back. Once again Faye Kellerman intertwines his family and proffessional life superbly. The vandalism of Pete and his wife Rina's synagogue allows the author to explore the outrage and hurt felt by the whole family. But there is a puzzle to be solved, a baddy to be hunted down and Pete Decker is on the case. There are numerous tiwsts and yet even...
Published on 16 Aug 2001

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Familiar and satisfying
Reading Faye Kellerman is like catching up with an old friend: one of the most engaging aspects of her writing is the development of the key characters from one novel to the next. This is no exception, and it is both pleasing and satisfying to re-encounter the Decker family and Peter's police colleagues.
The plot of The Forgotten is tightly drawn and, as always,...
Published on 13 Aug 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Familiar and satisfying, 13 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Forgotten (Paperback)
Reading Faye Kellerman is like catching up with an old friend: one of the most engaging aspects of her writing is the development of the key characters from one novel to the next. This is no exception, and it is both pleasing and satisfying to re-encounter the Decker family and Peter's police colleagues.
The plot of The Forgotten is tightly drawn and, as always, neatly tied up at the end. Fans of Kellerman certainly won't be disappointed. I'd recommend, however, that new readers start a little earlier in the series to avoid frustration and confusion resulting from allusions to previously constructed scenarios and characters. On the whole, this is a worthwhile read - not in the ranks of the best of Jonathan Kellerman or Patricia Cornwell, but rewarding nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent return for Detective Pete Decker!, 16 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Forgotten (Paperback)
Detecitve Pete Decker is back. Once again Faye Kellerman intertwines his family and proffessional life superbly. The vandalism of Pete and his wife Rina's synagogue allows the author to explore the outrage and hurt felt by the whole family. But there is a puzzle to be solved, a baddy to be hunted down and Pete Decker is on the case. There are numerous tiwsts and yet even when all seems to be revealed there is still a race aginst the clock. How many lives wll be damaged? This book is an exploration of the evil acts that a human can perpatrate aginst another - never excusing, yet offering some insight into how a damaged child can become a hateful adult. Pete's limitations as a husband and father are highlighted as he races to solve the crime and tries to protect his youngest step-son from the perils of growing up. Whilst Pete's family are an important part of the plot, this is also an excellent police procedural and all the old faces are there! Don't worry if you haven't read Faye Kellermans other novels - this will ensure you'll read the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up with the best of them, 5 July 2014
By 
This review is from: The Forgotten (Paperback)
Faye Kellerman is definitely the No 1-crime fiction writer of today, and ranks up there with the best novelists of police and crime thrillers.
She has not in any way lost any of her talent for keeping the reader glued to the book, and opening up a world of intrigue and mystery.
This book proves Kellerman's skill at moving skillfully from the homely to the horrific, from warmth to horror, from heroic to diabolical.
In an age where the hideous anti-Semitism is on the rise again, in measure never seen since the fall of Nazi Germany, the story begins with the hideous desecration of Peter and Rina's local synagogue, through the world of shady White Supremacist type groups, teenagers corrupted into insanity by their parents, whose own 60's radicalism, in my opinion, was the root of all the evil, drugs, bizarre sex rituals and murder.
Of course Peter and his teams determination and Rina's sanity and compassion helps restore truth and balance. Rina's rebellious son Jacob plays a big role in bringing this one to being solved.
On the downside I would have liked to see some more of Cindy , and Marge's stepdaughter Vega.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and educational journey, 10 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. S. R. Harper (Sidmouth, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Forgotten (Paperback)
The first thing that attracted me to 'The Forgotten' was it's cover (on occasion, and without God's help, we can all feel lost). Set on a sea front: it's like an isolation play from the dark hills of Brownsville; or, a fourth quarter 'quick-play' from the machine that was the Utah Jazz's 'pick-and-roll' offense. This slow moving, but steady-pounding, and, relentlessly grinding and meandering 'slow-mo' novel WILL, in due time, wear you down. With the long-standing folmula of the classic 'who-dun-it'; which at worst, will leave you wanting more; and, near it's best, will leave you weak at the knees, it remains a job well done. Make no mistakes about Kellerman's professionalism; this is a gritty 'drag-it-out; whatever' thriller. It left me thinking - 'There is always ONE nutter out there that has the brain to mess it up for the rest of us'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets from the Past Haunt the Present, 28 Dec 2007
By 
Faith Donovan (New Orleans) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Forgotten (Paperback)
When Rina Decker's Orthodox synagogue is obscenely and viciously vandalised, complete with Nazi graffiti and pictures of Holocaust victims, she calls in her husband, L.A. Police Lieutenant Pete Decker.

Decker investigates and unmasks the chief suspect, the son of wealthy parents, Ernesto Golding, at a local school, who strangely enough happens to be Jewish. Decker decides Ernesto is truly sorry and manages to keep his record clean. However the boy has to undergo counselling at the hands of a pair psychologists, Doctors Merv and Dee Baldwin.

Then Ernesto and the Baldwins are murdered and Decker remembers that Ernesto had told him that he suspected his grandfather wasn't really Jewish, that he was really a Nazi and that he only posed as a Jew to escape to South America after they war. Decker wonders if this might somehow be the key to the murders. This fuels his hunt for more suspects like local hate groups, computer hackers and dangerously misguided teens with a perverse affection for Nazism.

There is a fairly high body count and a fair share of violent thrills in this fast-paced thriller that is guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat. Add that to Ms. Kellerman's reflections on religion and the Holocaust and you wind up with a book you'll be thinking about for quite a while after you finish reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More from Alex Cross, 18 May 2014
By 
Viv "Viv" (Sutton Bridge) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forgotten (Hardcover)
I started to read about Alex Cross by chance, I find the story line and twists very much to my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 5 Oct 2011
By 
Mrs. Margaret A. Jones (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forgotten (Audio CD)
I find all Faye Kellerman,s books an excellent read, this is no exception. I love the plot, the characters and the flow of the book the ending was not quite what I was expecting but that is fiction after all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable but slightly disappointing ending!, 18 Aug 2001
This review is from: The Forgotten (Paperback)
I really enjoyed the story for the most part. Decker's relationship with his step-son develops well, but I would like to have seen his daughter Cindy somehow involved in the plot.
The characters were pretty well defined, particularly Ernesto Golding's parents.
My one real reservation on the book was the ending by which the perpetrator was "bought to justice". It was unsatisfactory, contrived and a trifle unclear to me, as if Ms. Kellerman couldn't come up with a better conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Forgotten
The Forgotten by Faye Kellerman BA in Dentistry UCLA (Paperback - 4 Feb 2002)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews