Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars13
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2001
Cindy Decker is a rookie cop who seems to be riding on her father's reputation as a long serving lieutenant.When scary things start happening to Cindy she doesn't want to report them for fear of looking like a wimp in front of her fellow cops. In deciding to go it alone she inadvertantly puts herself and her family in danger. It doesn't take long for her father to figure that there is something wrong and he sets about finding out exactly what is going on. it turns into a race against the clock for her father to save both Cindy and his family. This was the first Faye Kellerman book I read and I was gripped from start to finish, and what an absolutely blinding finish it was! The best book I have read for a long time, I'd definately recommend it
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2001
This was my first, and certainly not my last book, that I will read by this Author!!
Although, at times, things got a little confusing with the two main characters being known as Decker the book was very good. However much you think you know who the 'baddie' is you can never be too sure and it just means that you will just spend your whole weekend reading and not doing much else.
Roll on the next one!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
This has certainly not got the intricate story line of some of Faye Kellerman's Decker/Lazarus novels.
But it is still a well-written and entertaining read.
Cindy can be impetuous and brattish, but she also has some good qualities, for example note
The love she has for her younger half-sister, Hannah.
Cindy has a lot of growing up to do!
I like the way she skillfully weaves the religious family life of Peter and Rina's family into the
novels.
In this one we see how observation of Shabbos (the Jewish Sabbath) is a beautiful and welcome respite from
the chaotic and amoral world outside.
Overall, entertaining , and flows easily.
There are however some loose ends left undone , for example we never find out who it was that was behind the attack on Rina in the park.
It is also better to begin the Decker/Lazarus series with one of Faye Kellerman's earlier novels.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
This is the twelfth in the Decker series. Great series imho.

Back Cover Blurb:
It began with a policewoman's sixth sense. Someone is watching her. Then, after the break-in and the midnight car pursuit, she knows. Someone wants to frighten her. Someone wants to hurt her.
But why?
As an inexperienced policewoman, daughter of one of the force's veterans, admitting what's happening feels like a confession of weakness. There seems no option for Cindy Decker but to go it alone, keeping her colleagues and family in the dark. And in a world in which someone is trying to kill you, alone is a very frightening place.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2004
This is a really good book and there is a lot of suspense as almost everyone the main character knows is regarded as a possible suspect. Cindy Decker, a policewoman has some strange things happening to her and rather then involve her father, a detective, she tries to go it alone and solve the mystery herself! The only negative thing about this book is that it is quite confusing at the beginning because there are too many characters which are all somehow supposed to relate to the case. However, perserverence makes it all clearer towards the end and the way it all ties together is really clever!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2001
I initially read all the Jonathan Kellerman books and thought they were good. I was reading some reviews on Amazon and someone wrote that they thought Faye Kellerman was a superior writer to her husband, after reading that I had to read them! I ordered all of her books and was not disappointed in the least and have to agree that she is a far superior writer, her books are page turners and this one was not an exception. You feel like you know the characters and have grown up with them and it was nice to find out more about Cindy. I hope there will be many more to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2000
I had read some negative things about this book but as I have always liked Faye Kellerman's Peter Decker stories I gave it a chance and found it interesting on both the mystery and the parent/daughter relationship front...Cindy and Vega and Hannah. Cindy has lots of potential t be a good, regular and young character as the others all hit middle age. The other interesting thing about this book is that it finally gave Scott Oliver a personality besides just a womaniser. All in all, a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2000
I have read all "Detective Decker" books by Faye Kellerman and was thrilled to get my hands on this new one. As a thriller is certainly stands out and is well written as any of Faye Kellerman's books. I missed however the connections to the orthodox Jewish religion which was present in all previous books. Other than that I can only say that it was a very good book, easily to read as all her books. See for yourself!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Overlong - very little happens until later pages. Threequarter page descriptions of someone's kitchen (totally irrelevant) is something I can do without. Cops WOULD NOT behave as stupidly as this "heroine" does - unbelievable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2011
Really enjoyed this book and would def advise getting it if you are a Kellerman fan.......would also advise getting it if you are not already a fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse