Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars6
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2005
Choosers of the Slain starts off James H. Cobb's technothriller series on the 21st-century US Navy (comprising 4 books so far). It features beautiful Commander Amanda Garrett, the captain of the US Navy's first stealth destroyer, the USS Cunningham. You'll be mesmerized by the amazing naval and military technology that's just on the horizon. You'll be thrilled by the dangerous and exotic locale of the Antarctic seas. You'll be intrigued by the new heterosexual culture of the modern navy, as well as the ballet-dancing Amanda and her Valley Girl-like intelligence officer, Christine Rendino. You'll be perked up by the seeming backstep into the 1970s Falklands era as Argentine soldier-politicians try to enact another coup de main, this time in the Antarctic continent. As a marine biology graduate, I loved the excellent description of the Roaring Forties ocean. The tension and the suspense builds up as the Cunningham wages a deadly solitary blockade of the strident Argentine Navy and Air Force. By the time you finish the book, you'll know you'll be hungering for more of Amanda Garrett and her nearly invisible warship. Be sure not to miss the other books in the series: Sea Strike, Sea Fighter, and Target Lock. In the tradition of C.S. Forester's Horatio Hornblower and David Weber's Honor Harrington, Amanda Garrett is admirable, realistic, impressive, and way cool!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The first of a great series, currently of four books (the second one has appeared under two titles, to confuse us: Storm Dragon in the UK, and Sea Strike in the USA). Here we first meet Captain Amanda Garrett, commanding a stealth destroyer, USS Cunningham. When a foreign power occupies parts of the Antarctic, the Cunningham is the only ship in the area, and is tasked with a tough mission in a hostile environment (both political and climate).

A cracker of a story, good imagination linked to knowledge of the hardware, from RAM to RAM (Radar absorbent material to Rolling airframe missile, that is) and much besides. Good personalities, with interesting interactions, keep the interest flowing, and tension peaks at intervals. I'm not sure how accurate Cobb's readings of the female mind are, but I like his using feisty and capable female protagonists, in charge and doing well. A dose of humour, too; I like these the best of all recent Navy stories, beating Larry Bond, Poyer et al. hollow
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2009
This is the 1st of 2 books by the author (so far)

It describes the action of a US Navy destroyer in the near future, commanded by a lady captain in a war situation.

It describes the political decisions, the problems of command and the details of war action.

It is an un-put-down-able cracking read that details war, sex and policital action in truely believiable text.

Highly recomended as a war action book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 1999
Yet another in a long line of techno-war stories...but with a twist in the pleasing form of Commander Amanda Lee Garrett. This is a well paced story that reads easily, and unlike many others finishes when it ends. I will be on the lookout for other of Mr. Cobb's creations as soon as possible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Perfect page turner - glossary at the back very helpful if you don't have a military background - thank you Mr Cobb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse