Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Good!
I should start by saying that I am not a fan of the Austen spin-offs that seem to be flooding the market at the moment; I haven't read one so far that didn't seem like a lifeless cardboard cutout of the original style of Jane Austen. So I was extremely sceptical about this series, featuring Jane as sleuth. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. The book is written in...
Published on 24 Oct 2009 by Mrs. Trudie A. Bamford

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For unpleasantness read double murder
Stephanie Barron has created a very enjoyable and readable murder mystery. The novel is narrated by the author, Jane Austen. Anyone who enjoys Austen's (the real one) style and characterisation will love this book. Likewise readers of crime fiction. Barron has put the two genres together admirably. Jane is spending a few days over Christmas with her friend Isobel, the...
Published on 12 Oct 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Good!, 24 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I should start by saying that I am not a fan of the Austen spin-offs that seem to be flooding the market at the moment; I haven't read one so far that didn't seem like a lifeless cardboard cutout of the original style of Jane Austen. So I was extremely sceptical about this series, featuring Jane as sleuth. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. The book is written in the first person 'by' Jane, which is quite a task to attempt, but the author pulls it off beautifully. The writing is believable and even the editorial footnotes are done with a light touch. The mystery is gripping and doesn't stretch the credulity too far. I found myself devouring the book and looking forward to the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For unpleasantness read double murder, 12 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Stephanie Barron has created a very enjoyable and readable murder mystery. The novel is narrated by the author, Jane Austen. Anyone who enjoys Austen's (the real one) style and characterisation will love this book. Likewise readers of crime fiction. Barron has put the two genres together admirably. Jane is spending a few days over Christmas with her friend Isobel, the Countess of Scargrave when her husband dies in circumstances that look like murder. We are led a merry dance with Jane trying to detect the murderer. Isobel seems to belong to a family of possible suspects. I read nineteenth century classics as well as thrillers so enjoyed this no end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JANE AUSTEN AS A BRILLIANT AMATEUR SLEUTH, 11 Aug 2012
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is the first book in the Jane Austen Mystery Series by Stephanie Barron.

In a newly discovered secret journal, Jane Austen documents her adventures as an amateur sleuth. In 1802, twenty-seven year old Jane visits her good friend, Isobel Payne, Countess of Scargrave, in Hertfordshire. Scargrave Manor seems the perfect place for Jane to recover after the embarrassment of accepting and then rejecting the marriage proposal of Mr. Bigg-Wither, and to celebrate the Christmas season with young and beautiful Isobel and her husband of three months, the elderly Earl of Scargrave. However, when the Earl suddenly dies from a mysterious illness and Isobel becomes the main suspect, Jane cannot refuse her friend's plea for help and uses her wit and her brilliant abilities of perception to solve the mystery and clear Isobel's name.

I love mysteries and historical novels, almost as much as I love Jane Austen, but I was afraid that the idea to cast Jane Austen as a detective would be too far-fetched and the book would be like so many disappointing and irritating sequels and rewritings of my favorite authoress. Luckily I couldn't be more wrong, as Stephanie Barron has created a gripping mystery plot, brilliantly set in Austen's time, with a very convincing Jane as its heroine. As the story is narrated by Austen in her journal and her letters to her sister Cassandra, the language is very similar to her existing letters and so realistic that reading it, I would often forget that it is indeed a work of fiction. The atmosphere of both rural Hertfordshire and London is excellent, drawn with beautiful imagery and historical detail. The well developed characters are based on the types of characters created by Austen herself, and thus are very convincing and typical of their time.

In addition, the book includes excellent and very useful footnotes by Stephanie Barron, explaining some references to Austen's life and some social, political and legal customs of the time, in the form of "editor's notes".

I loved everything about this mystery; it is well written, gripping, and to my amazement, it is actually plausible, especially considering how little we really know about Austen's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen fans will either love this or hate it, 24 July 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Into the growing sub-genre of mysteries involving real people as fictional detectives Stephanie Barron adds Jane Austen. "Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor," being the first in this series, finds the yet to be famous authoress away from home after having accepted and then rejected the marriage proposal of Harris Bigg-Wither. Jane is visiting the Hertfordshire estate of her friend Isobel Payne, Countess of Scargrave. However, after Jane's arrival the elderly Earl suddenly suffers a most horrible death due to a mysterious illness, leaving Isobel a widow after only three months of marriage. When a letter arrives accusing Isobel and the Earl's nephew of adultery and murder, Jane becomes involved in the investigation. The suspects are the late Earl's guests, a collection of characters who could easily have been lifted from one of Austen's novels--but then that is exactly the point here.
Barron is not only trying to write in the style of Jane Austen, a daunting enough task to be sure, she is also interested in shedding light on the writer's life and work. After all, the idea that Austen's heroines always found the love in life that was denied their creator is rather depressing. Barron has fun suggesting that the characters in this novel might have served as the model for those in Austen's novels: e.g., that Lord Pitzroy Payne, who catches Jane's eye, is the model for Mr. Darcy in "Pride and Prejudice." Obviously Barron is interested in trying to create the great secret love of Austen's life, although our fascination with such an idea is tempered by the fact that Jane would die a spinster.
The irony here is that the more you know about the life and writings of Jane Austen, the more likely you are to either enjoy Barron's creative speculations or to be somewhat appalled at her presumption. Barron is obviously a devout fan of Austen and her writing so your enjoyment of this book is going to be predicated entirely upon your ability and/or willingness to go along for the ride. I found the writing style to lack the refined restraint and measured wit of the real Austen, who has a much better sense of picking the moment for her barbs and insights. Of course, Barron is handicapped by the requirements of the mystery genre, which necessarily requires extended questioning and heated exchanges.
Actually, the best imitation of Austen's style I have read to date is found, rather surprisingly, in the opening chapters of Patrick O'Brian's Aubrey-Mauritan novel "Desolation Island," which finds the boys trying to live the high life on shore. Then again, they did not have a mysterious murder to solve. Barron certainly makes a good faith effort that pays attention to the life and times of Jane Austen and seeks to bring her to life in a way her books and letters can only suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy to have it, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book some years ago and lent to someone who didn't return it so wanted it for my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very authentic, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Difficult at first because I am not a native English speaker and it is written in an authentic Jane Austen style.
But I soon started to like the character and of course I wanted to know who had done it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will She or Won't She?, 17 Feb 2011
By 
G. A. D. Revill-taylor "hyperswot" (Tunbridge Wells UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having tried most of them, I steer clear of Jane Austen follow ons. A few chapters then the bin. So I approached this series with trepidation. I have since become enchanted. Miss Austen, a resourceful clergyman's daughter, and not brought up shielded from the realities of life, emerges from these pages as a fascinating woman - fascinating enough to capture the admiration of one who can be looked up to as among the finest in the land. And it's not for her fine eyes but for her fine mind.
Will there be dalliance? I e-mailed the author begging to know, but she won't tell me. So I read on in hope and expectation waiting for the next twist.
When the full set is on Kindle I can carry them with me always next to the original. It's always good to have something sensational to read on a train.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even after 15 years in print and 10 novels in the series, this first effort shines, 14 Jan 2011
Imagine being present when Jane Austen's unknown personal journals are discovered in an outbuilding on an ancient Maryland estate, Dunready Manor. Your friends the Westmoreland's are distantly related to the authoress, and after restoration they place the manuscripts in your care before they are donated to a major library. They recount years of Jane Austen's life and personal experiences that we know little of, the lost years after 1801 when she, her sister Cassandra and her parents move from their lifelong home at Steventon rectory in Hampshire to Bath. Filling in gaps in life events, missing letters thought destroyed by her sister after her death, and mysteries that she encountered and solved in her lifetime, you are mesmerized. You are allowed to study, edit and transcribe the journals. What unfolds is an intimate and highly intelligent account, blending Jane's personal life and criminal observations as an amateur detective.

In 1802, fleeing a broken engagement with Harris Bigg-Wither of Manydown Park, Jane seeks to forget her troubles in a `whirlwind of frivolity' accepting an invitation to visit her newly married friend Isobel Payne, Countess of Scargrave. Isobel has recently returned from her wedding trip to the Continent with her husband Frederick, Earl of Scargrave, a gentleman of mature years. To celebrate their recent nuptials the Earl is throwing a bridal Ball in his wife's honor at their estate in Hertfordshire. In attendance is the Earl's nephew and heir Fitzroy, Viscount Payne, the only son of his younger brother. Jane observes, `As a single man in possession of a good fortune, he must be want of a wife.' Decidedly handsome, but proud and aloof, she instead spends a good deal of the evening dancing with a young cavalry officer, Lieutenant Thomas Hearst, the second son of the Earl's deceased sister. Jane learns from a young lady, Miss Fanny Delahoussaye, that Hearst has a bit of reputation having recently killed a man in a duel of honor. She also reveals that Hearst is also a rake, prompting Jane to proceed cautiously. `My wordless confession made him hesitate to utter a syllable; and thus laboured in profound stupidity, for fully half a dance's span. But all things detestable, I most detest a silent partner - and thrusting aside my horror of pistols at dawn, I took refuge in a lady's light banter. "I have profited from your absence, Lieutenant, to inquire of your character,"' and so begins and tÍte à tÍte between the Lieutenant that must have inspired Jane in her later writing. ;-)

Even though this is a festive and joyful event, trouble is brewing. Jane is concerned for her friend when Isobel is alarmed by the uninvited arrival of Lord Harold Trowbridge who is pressing her to purchase Crosswinds, her father's troubled estate in Barbados. She also overhears an argument involving George Hearst, Thomas' elder brother, and the Earl over a woman. Within minutes after the heated discussion, the Earl toasts his bride to his guests, downs his drink and doubles over in acute pain. He would never recover. Isobel is a now widow. A cruel twist of fate for a young bride, however, bereavement is the least of her worries after she receives cryptic missives accusing her and the Earl's heir, Viscount Payne, of adultery and murder. Terrified of scandal Isobel entreats her dear friend Jane for help. Top on Jane's list of suspects are the many guests in attendance at the Ball, a collection of characters that all seem to benefit from the Earl's death. Like any good detective, Jane follows the clues which lead to Isobel's former maid, Marguerite. Soon, she too is dead, her neck cut in one of the outbuildings on the Scargrave estate. With a second death, most definitely a murder, the authorities are also involved and Isobel is facing murder charges. The investigation will call upon all of Jane's perceptive acumen leading her to the House of Lords and Newgate Prison, a place fit for no clergyman's daughter, unless it is in pursuit of the real murderer to free her dear friend.

It has been fifteen years since I first was introduced to Jane Austen detective when this novel took me quite unawares in 1996. The notion of "my" Jane as a sleuth is still surprising, even after reading ten novels in the series, but it only takes a page or two before I am smiling and in total awe of Barron's skill at channeling my favorite author. And channel she does. I know of no other that can rival her skill at early nineteenth-century language and humor. Blending events from Jane Austen's actual life with fictional narrative, this detective story is in itself a mystery as I hunt for clues to known facts from Jane's life and allusions to her future characters in her novels. Anyone with a passing knowledge of Austen's famous romantic icon Mr. Darcy will recognize Barron's gentle nod to him in Viscount Fitzroy Payne. Possessed of aloof pride and haughty silence, `Everyone wants to know him, but few truly like him.' Barron has Jane play her future heroine Elizabeth Bennet by taunting her Darcy-like character. "I detect a similarity in the turn of our minds, Viscount Payne," I persisted, in some exasperation. "We are both of a taciturn, ungenerous nature and would rather be silent until we may say what is certain to astonish all the world." There are several passages of dialogue that will send a spark of recognition with other characters too, but the story is entirely Barron's own darling child. This is after all, an homage, a pastiche to Austen, her life and her works. In total respect and with perfect pitch, Barron blends our Jane with a cleverly crafted mystery, infused with historical detail and cutting wit. Jane Austen may have only written six major novels in her short life, but Barron can certainly be credited as the next best thing to perfection.

Laurel Ann, Austenprose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor (A Jane Austen mystery)
Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor (A Jane Austen mystery) by Stephanie Barron (Paperback - 3 April 1997)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews