Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, I was unable to put the book down
This story follows the life of a working class family in world war 2. It follows their ups and downs, sad to say their are more downs and it follows their births and deaths, their loves and hates. It makes you realise the full extent of what growing up in those times meant. We so often listen to stories from our grandparents about those olden times but I didn't really...
Published on 31 May 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liverpool Lamplight
Having read the majority of Lyn Andrews' books which I usually thoroughly enjoy, this must be the gloomiest book she has ever written. I know it is set during World War 2 but this has more deaths in one family and to my mind, is unrealistic. I always think of Lyn Andrews' work being like Catherine Cookson - doom and gloom then happiness. I must admit I had to read it...
Published on 17 Feb. 2012 by Margaret from Macclesfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, I was unable to put the book down, 31 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Liverpool Lamplight (Paperback)
This story follows the life of a working class family in world war 2. It follows their ups and downs, sad to say their are more downs and it follows their births and deaths, their loves and hates. It makes you realise the full extent of what growing up in those times meant. We so often listen to stories from our grandparents about those olden times but I didn't really understand and appreciate it until I had read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, riveting, passionate and thought provoking, 15 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Liverpool Lamplight (Paperback)
The story is set in war torn Liverpool, and is the story of one families struggle both against the enemy and each other. Lyn Andrews guides you through the lives of the Deegan family and their close friends, enabling you to feel their joy and sadness. Any reader will find this book impossible to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars S Pugh Cardiff, 9 May 2008
By 
Susan Pugh "Sue Pugh" (Cardiff South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liverpool Lamplight (Paperback)
I have only just started reading Lyn Andrews books and this is the third one I have read, just brilliant, I could not put the book down and I am now collecting all her books and can't wait to read the rest of them. Would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liverpool Lamplight, 17 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the majority of Lyn Andrews' books which I usually thoroughly enjoy, this must be the gloomiest book she has ever written. I know it is set during World War 2 but this has more deaths in one family and to my mind, is unrealistic. I always think of Lyn Andrews' work being like Catherine Cookson - doom and gloom then happiness. I must admit I had to read it to the end but as each chapter unfolded, I thought to myself "it must get better in the next chapter" but no, another death comes along. Overall, not one of her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 29 Dec. 2013
I really enjoyed this book, Lynn Andrews is a great author and I had difficulty in putting this one down. I would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liverpool Lamplight, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Liverpool Lamplight love this author would recomend this one to a freind ..great fast delivery through wispernet . nice price as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liverpool Lamplight (Hardcover)
Fantastic gripping story couldn't put it down well worth a read and fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars almost at the end and I have enjoyed it immensely, 22 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Still reading this book, almost at the end and I have enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Lyn Andrews, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liverpool Lamplight (Paperback)
Can't wait to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another book for mum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liverpool Lamplight
Liverpool Lamplight by Lyn Andrews (Paperback - 6 Feb. 1997)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews