Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant sequel!!
This mystery is full of twists and turns keeping you turning the pages. It is very well written with a rich tapestry of characters. Jecks has obviosly put a lot of effort into researching this period creating a great historical novel. Although it can become slow in parts, overall I found it to be a very good read.
Published on 16 April 2006 by jenaveve

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An improvement on the first
The second investigation involving the Simon Puttock / Sir Baldwin Furnshill partnership is an improvement on the first but still doesn't match the best that the genre can offer. The plot is somewhat mundane and doesn't live up to the promise of the resume on the cover, whilst the characters again seem rather shallow and underdeveloped. The relationship between Puttock...
Published on 15 Jun 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant sequel!!, 16 April 2006
By 
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (A Medieval West Country Mystery) (Paperback)
This mystery is full of twists and turns keeping you turning the pages. It is very well written with a rich tapestry of characters. Jecks has obviosly put a lot of effort into researching this period creating a great historical novel. Although it can become slow in parts, overall I found it to be a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second Book in the Series, 28 Aug 2006
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (A Medieval West Country Mystery) (Paperback)
I am writing this review after reading this book for the second time. In fact I am re-reading all the Knights Templar Mysteries written by Michael Jecks. I enjoyed them thoroughly the first time around and I am still finding them enjoyable now. This one is the second in the series.

Sir Baldwin de Furnshill, ex Knight Templar has now become established at his Manor he received on the death of his brother and has become one of Devon's leading law officers, Keeper of the King's Peace, no less. He soon find that the county of Devon is no sleepy backwater where nothing happens from one day to the next.

In the village of Wefford the midwife and healer Agatha Kyteler is widely regarded by the superstitious villagers as a witch, but she seems to have plenty of callers. When her badly mutilated body is found in a hedge there is little or no evidence to point to who might have killed her.

Sir Simon is called in and the villagers soon find that although the knight is an honourable and fair minded man. He is determined to leave no stone unturned until he brings the killer[s] to justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An improvement on the first, 15 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (A Medieval West Country Mystery) (Paperback)
The second investigation involving the Simon Puttock / Sir Baldwin Furnshill partnership is an improvement on the first but still doesn't match the best that the genre can offer. The plot is somewhat mundane and doesn't live up to the promise of the resume on the cover, whilst the characters again seem rather shallow and underdeveloped. The relationship between Puttock and Furnshill is particularly suspect - the two men have met only recently, live far apart yet seem devoted to each other - all in all the whole thing seems a little bit contrived and doesn't ring true as a result. On the plus side, Jecks writing style is tight and flowing and he obviously knows his stuff...all we need now is a dash of intrigue and a little more humour !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 27 July 2013
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (A Medieval West Country Mystery) (Paperback)
The second in this series finds Bailiff Simon Puttock and former Templar knight Sir Balwdin Furnshill again embroiled in murder in not so sleepy Devon. Agatha Kyteler, a local midwife and healer, regarded with superstition by the local villagers, is found with her throat slit. The two are called to find the guilty party and as they search, suspicion falls on a local lad who eventually confesses. Sir Baldwin and Simon are not convinced of his guilt and during their further investigations suspicions switch from their original suspect to many others, all who seem to have had motive and opportunity to commit the murder.

Really enjoyed this one. Found myself up late continuing to read as the mystery deepened. The characters are well written. Michael Jeck's descriptions of the landscape and his knowledge of medieval life, bring the stories to life. The plot is excellent. Just when you think you've got it sussed, there are new twists and turns. The ending too is unexpected. Just what a good murder mystery should deliver. Excellent read and recommended for all fans of Medieval murder mysteries.
The Merchant's Partner (A Medieval West Country Mystery)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Jecks hits the spot again, 10 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (A Medieval West Country Mystery) (Paperback)
Another tale about Devon, Simon Puttock and Sir Baldwin Furnshill which hits everyone of my requirements for a good read. A decent story, rounded characters, a plot with twists, historical content, a book I don't want to put down, decent artwork on the cover and part of a series, so I can get my "fix" when I want to. Michael has brought this section of history to life and his vivid descriptions of everyday life, their discomforts and the hardship makes me grateful I'm alive in this time with central heating and all the comforts of a decent home. If you like medieval history then this is one for you to read; even if it's not your thing, then I still recommend it. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Speedy delivery, 16 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was with mw within a few days and i was able to take it on holiday with me and enjoyed reading it. Finished it in 3 weeks as it was such a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Unexpected Murderer, 14 Aug 2010
Michael Jeck's second novel was a very enthralling book. The murder was one of seer brutaliaty, and it also was committed by the most unexpected party-as you will find if you read the book. I could hardly put the book down, and I myself found it very intriging. The book is set in the dead of winter in 1317, and that adds, at least for me, another layer to the story, since it is hard to solve murders that take place in the snow.

This was very enjoyable, and I've found it to be the most enjoyable of Jeck's books I have yet read. So it is worth the time. I would certainly purchase it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jecks Writes It, I Read It, 23 July 2009
By 
Bookaholic "prussblue" (St. Louis area, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Merchant's Partner (A Medieval West Country Mystery) (Paperback)
I don't often try to get an authors complete works. Jecks is an exception to the rule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Merchant's Partner (A Medieval West Country Mystery)
The Merchant's Partner (A Medieval West Country Mystery) by Michael Jecks (Paperback - 13 Jun 1996)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews