Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars13
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2016
Brilliant series. Read whole rues many many years ago and has always stayed with me. Excellent easy writing, cleaver plots and story lines and wonderful insight no feline behaviour. Would highly recommend to all cat lovers as well as anyone wanting easy mystery reads without all the swearing, sleeve and dirty sex scenes of more commercial authors. Love the whole series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Book nine of this charming series of books by Lilian Jackson Braun, continuing the story of a journalist who is the owner of two Siamese cats, who just seem to be able to push the reporter in the right direction in solving mysteries, this is continues the tradition and is a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
if you like detective fiction with a difference you would love the books by this author. I like them for when I want something quick and light to read. Try them if you read on the train or waiting for an appointment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2002
If you love cats and enjoy a good crime story, this book (and the others in Lilian Jackson Braun's series) are the right choice for you.
Meet Jim Qwilleran, former city crime reporter, now living of an inheritance in the country side, working as columnist. More importantly, meet Koko and Yum Yum, his Siamese cats and the real stars of Braun's stories. Very enjoyable, very different from most crime stories and very gripping!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
I love these books. Fairly short and they bowl along nicely. They finish with answers too and leave you ready for the next book, and ther's plenty more to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
A gentle whodunit. A relaxing weekend page turner. Characters are well known to readers of this series of books they are so familiar and interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
I purchased this book after reading Homer's Odessey (the factual book about the adventures of a blind cat), I fancied the detective story with cats involved. The only disappointment (which turned out to be a reward,) was that it was written not from the cats point of view but the man. This did not retract from the story but was more normal, with the cats doing their usual antics as if they were your own. Any feline owner will have a giggle here and there, or get anxious for their plight as the story unfolds.

The book is about the felines owner going to stay in a beach cabin with the two cats in tow, but people begin to disappear so it's up to the threesome to find out why. It is centered around a small lakeside village so everyone from a small community will automatically feel at home and recognize the comparisons with characters involved and real life.

This is the first book I have read from this series, and it will be firmly affixed to my bookshelves, soon to be joined by the first three. I would highly recommend it, and don't be surprised if they becomes somewhat addictive. It was an easy read with only one word I will have to look up, I hate authors who spout dictionaries and forget the flow of energy needed for the reader to follow their prose. There is little violence, no swearing that I can remember, so ideal for teenagers and the like but I would still recommend parents read it first just in case they wont to keep it for themselves. :)

I read the book in 3 days but that was because I had other commitments and limit myself to a few chapters a day so I prolonged the enjoyment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Great series of reasonably light bedtime reading. Detectives AND cats - what's not to like? LOL
Every book is a page turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
I love the cat who series very entertaining and so easy to read. They have everything except smutt, beautifully written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
another good story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse